We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, good food, and friendly - will go back”

Morpeth Woodfire Pizza & Indian Delicacies
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic, good food, and friendly - will go back”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Indian food and Pizza are both favourites of mine, but together seemed a little strange.
Traditional pizza toppings are also available, but my wife and I tried a Tandoori Chicken and a Paneer pizza. I think the children went for Pepperoni and Margarita. While I won't say they were the best pizzas I've ever had, they were generous, tasty & with quality ingredients throughout. (There were no left overs!)
The new owners appear hardworking, courteous and they seem intent on making a go of things.
The only drawback is the "indoor" seating which is somewhat "rustic" is a little exposed to the elements (it was cold!). We were just about OK, but were lucky enough to be close to the oven. Would recommend a coat or sweater for cold days.

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves, and will go back next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MJG31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    67
    13
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Really tasty fresh pizza”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I ate in here recently on a Friday night and really enjoyed two beautiful fresh pizzas. Staff were friendly, but atmosphere was lacking and we wouldn't eat in again. We will definitely be back for takeaway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank APar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot n Spicy - Yummy, Yummy in wet cold winter”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ordered for take-away Tandoori chicken and Lamb curry pizza. we liked both, lamb was very tender. Perfection in spices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Pizza's”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent meal!Pleased to say that Morpeth Wood Fired Pizza is just perfect and causes us absolutely no issues. The owner is truely lovely person.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Over rated pizza not worth eating”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First visit to Morpeth. Tempted by promise of wood fired pizza was better in theory than the reality of when we opened up our take away Sicilian pizza ($22) from their gourmet range which was dripping in oily cheese (had not even browned or melted) and looked more like what I might find in frozen section of local supermarket quickly heated in oven. First impressions was less than favourable and first (and last) bite confirmed this. We ended up throwing the uneaten pizza on the bin. Recommend Pizza Hut as consistent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ntrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morpeth Woodfire Pizza & Indian Delicacies also viewed

Maitland, Greater Newcastle
East Maitland, Maitland
 

Been to Morpeth Woodfire Pizza & Indian Delicacies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing