We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Hunter Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times since it opened a few years ago. The condition of the rooms are as good as when the hotel first opened. I love the simplicity of the decor, the gorgeous bathrooms, and the hotel in general. The service at the hotel is generally good.

This hotel is next to the Hunter Valley Golf and Country Club course so it's perfect for golfers. It has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and a nice cafe downstairs for lunch. Obviously there are plenty of other restaurants to try in Hunter Valley, but it's good to know you don't have to leave the hotel to get food if you don't feel like it!

I will continue coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corky_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

This hotel is comfortable, clean, and relaxing.

Wonderful rooms & excellent pool.

We have stayed here a few times now and won't hesitate to return. The rooms can be expensive, especially if there is a special event on (eg A Day On The Green), but unlike some of the other "5 Star" venues in the Hunter this one is basically worth every cent they charge.

The only charge I thought was excessive was the "delivery fee" for room service. There is no need to charge this, particularly when you look at how much basic meals cost.

The bathrooms in the Villas are excellent and the beds are very comfortable.

Unless you want to stay in a boutique B&B (of which there are many excellent ones in the Hunter), you can't go past the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartiniBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

adequate for work - sizeable desk, ample room , plenty of facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpr2exs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

When we checked in, they didn't have our guarenteed room type. Therefore, they upgraded us to a villa. The villa are stand-along cottages with four apartments per cottage. They are enormous! It was like staying at home. Ours was two bedrooms with two baths, a kitchenette, dining area, and living room. Flat-screen TVs were in each of the rooms.

Lovedale is the heart of the Hunter Valley wine area. As we had travelled to taste wine and relax, this was a perfect location. We also went to the Hunter Valley Zoo which is also in Lovedale. A tad small but a delightful experience with truly dedicated staff.

Breakfast at the hotel was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold foods. Service was very good, the room was made up upon request and when we needed help, the front-desk folks were friendly and provided the help.

As this was a farily inexpensive hotel, we felt we got excellent value for our money. With the location and service, we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location in the Hunter Valley. We spent one night here and expected a good stay based on the reviews on tripadvisor but the hotel exceeded our expectations! Staff were very friendly and professional, room was large nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed. Had lunch in Grapevine Cafe which was excellent and very reasonably priced with great views over the golf course. Buffet breakfast (Redsalt) was one of the best we have had --- well worth the $35 charge. Looking forward to a return trip soon when the weather warms up so we can take advantage of the great looking pool (especially if we can pick up another bargain price using the lastminute.com.au secret hotel deal).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I selected this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Adviser. We have never written any reviews of places we have previously stayed though thought this definitely deserved a mention. The friendliness, professionalism and service from the staff was outstanding. The buffet breaky was just the BEST!!. We can't recommend this hotel enough, we enjoyed our stay immensely and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LachMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and i stayed here for our mini moon just after our wedding, we decided to pay a bit more as it was our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. We got a spa room which was huge with a separate lounge area; the bathroom was also big with a good size spa and large separate shower. There was also a large balcony with deck chairs which was nice to relax on.
The staffs were all great, very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was ok but overpriced for what it was, and being the hunter there were a lot of other nicer places to eat. We had breakfast included in our package and it was a nice buffet spread, the food was nice, fresh and hot, there was an egg station that meant the chef would cook eggs whichever way you like which i loved.
We visited the in-house spa while we were there and got a hot stone massage which was very relaxing, the beauticians knew their stuff.
The location is ok; it is just a short drive to the cellar doors. If you wanted to walk it is too far but it was nice to be out a little from everything.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Dr, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range: $129 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing