We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, check-in wasn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2010

despite waiting 2 hours for the night manager to find our booking, the location is great and all other staff were very friendly. One broken toilet seat and non-working outdoor lighting (barbequed in the dark) the stay was a good one! 3 bedroom villas feel like home.,

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ropate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

We don't live too far from the Hunter Valley and normally go there for a day trip, however, this time we stayed two nights and could not have picked a better place. Check in was very smooth and the friendly receptionist was typical of the staff in general, every employee we met greeted us with a smile.

The room was spacious, clean and had good amenities-no real view though but that's OK. The hotel is close to the Tourist Information Centre and the vineyards so it is a great base to explore from. Although not usually pool people Crowne Plaza's pool is so large we had to try it and spent some time there. The golf course was also excellent even for bad golfers like us - very friendly and helpful golf pro too. To cap it off we had a superb meal at restaurant ( Redsalt ) with a great bottle of Hunter Chardonnay recommended by the waitress.

This was a great experience and better than many distant places we have visited in Australia and overseas. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed here for a conference, sharing in the 3 bedroom villas, which made it reasonably priced. The villas are very large and comfy, although minimal in equipment levels - no stereo, no ipod dock, no DVD player, not much cookware (although very good wine glasses), no broom/dustpan and only 2 of the 3 bedrooms had TVs. Good parking arrangements right outside the villas.

The property itself is huge and nicely kept, the golf course is lovely but quite challenging for a hacker, with plenty of water and undergrowth. The pool is a real highlight, enormous, well-serviced and with plenty of sun-lounges. The restaurants are good, especially Redsalt and breakfast there is excellent. The upstairs bar off the lobby has the most stunning selection of malt whisky I have ever seen outside of Scotland!

Unfortunatley the service overall was a bit hit & miss - the check-in, restaurant and bar were mostly really good, but when the key to my villa didn't work I had to spend nearly half an hour waiting in the hot sun for someone to let me and my luggage in and when the guy arrived he thought it was appropriate to make a joke about it, which really wasn't appreciated. Also, when we called housekeeping to clean up a spill in the villa (there are no cleaning materials, brooms etc) we were assured someone was on the way but they never showed up at all. Most of the staff seems to be young people from the local area and while they are friendly and earnest, their training in providing customer service isn't quite up to what you might expect from a Crowne Plaza property.

Only being able to hire a pushbike for either a full or half day was also a bit annoying - by the hour would make more sense, especially given the size of the property.

The conference facilities were excellent and the service/amenities there was terrific, including a coffee machine and daily newspapers.

Overall its pretty good value given that sharing the villas makes it much cheaper than other Hunter Valley accomodation options, so you can put up with its slightly rough edges. For that reason, I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed in a first floor 2 bedroom "villa" (4 apartments in one building - 2 upstairs and 2 downstairs) for 2 nights. Parking was adjacent.
The apartment was extremely spacious and quiet, but the kitchenette had only one small saucepan and one fry pan, so if you intended to self cater, you would need to request additional equipment (or bring it).
The staff at reception, and in Red Salt for breakfast and dinner, were all incredibly warm and welcoming. The food was good value for money, as was the wine. The option of ordering a decent breakfast coffee at no additional cost was terrific.
The large pool (unheated) is great if you are a lap swimmer, but the shallow end is incredibly shallow!!
Overall, this resort provides impeccable service and is excellent value for money, especially if you are a Priority Privilege card holder.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Stayed for one night after visiting friends in the Valley before heading back South. Room was the basic King and was clean with good bathroom.

Room service was average only with the Club Sandwich being one of the more ordinary ever delivered during a hotel stay. However, service was efficient and accurate.

Valet parking was quick with no issues. Was not able to use the pool as weather turned cold so perhaps these amenities might be great but can not comment.

Overall, I'd stay at this hotel again as it is good without being luxurious.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoZep1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Upon arrival we were happy and suprised to see how modern and minimal the Crowne Plaza is. Donna, at front desk, provided a real 5 star check in service, and an uprgrade, a great start. The suite was gorgeous, minimal but luxurious with calming natural colors in the interior, a spacious lounge/dining area and a large bedroom with a lovely spa bathroom and an outlook to the pool with a long verandah. Yummy cookies were dropped off with a handwritten note from the mgr to thank us for staying (we are priority club members) whhich was a nice personal touch, appreciated. We were so happy with the room we immediately booked a second night. Nothig was too much trouble, we informed staff the fridge wasn't cold, and the friendly mainenance guy brought another. The coffee bar in the lobby is a real plus, you can grab a coffee anytime, and bar snacks too. Finally! We would have liked some healthy easy bar options, like edamane beans or an agedashi tofu soup, but we did fine for snacks. Luckily you can get food at the Grapevine restaurant near the pool all day, as after wine tasting till early afternoon, there were no dining places still open for lunch. The staff there were amazing, and so short staffed, only 3 staff for the whole area and the pool, yet service was given with a smile. The pool is great HOWEVER there were screaming kids splashing all over the place. There needs to be a no kids in the spa policy. What are they doing in there? We had drinks next to us that were splattered with spa water when they jumped in and out. Another thing it needs it a deck chair area for adults. Most resorts do this now, it needs to cater for all groups, not just families...We were so happy the resort was so close to the Lovedale vineyards, such a great experience, and we liked how boutique they were, the people at Tatlers and Adina's were so friendly and knowledgeable, we can't wait to go back and try other places in Lovedale. We would recommend it to anyone, and would return. I hope all Crowne Plaza hotels get a bit more modern like this, although free Wifi would be good for all of us Iphone users to check our email etc. paying per day is a bit outdated and cheap for internet these days in good hotels I think. PS The gym was good too, well equipped.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We bookeda great Summer Escape package in November 2009 which included accommodation in a 2 bed villa and full buffet brekkie. The price was great. We were blown away with what a great holiday we had. Service was excellent from every staff member. The facilities were great - pool was the biggest we have seen, towels, sunscreen and water provided. The villa was spacious with 3 air conditioners and 3 TV's. The locaion was great, 5 min to Cessnock and the wineries. Whilst the hotel seemed busy, it was extremely quiet at night. Can't wait to return next Jan.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richosdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range: $135 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing