We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Nearby Hotels
$80
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cessnock Motel(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$212
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Country Motor Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveler rating
654
756
229
74
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
756
229
74
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villakids clubgolf coursehunter valleyred saltredsalt restaurantbuffet breakfastlarge poolschool holidaysthree bedroomegg stationtable tennisthe main hoteltennis courtsgreat resortgreat for familiesgreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,126 - 1,131 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. What a lovely hotel Set in beautiful grounds. Service was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. A great central location to be able to sample the local vineyards, although you do have to think about the drink driving aspect, but there is a vineyard shuttle service if you have specific ones in mind, or the hotel can organize a tour for you.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, get an upgrade in the corner.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiobhanEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you back enjoying the Hunter and our facilities again.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Firstly, I have stayed here a number of times since it opened and the visit (a couple of years ago) prior to the one I had last week was less than inspiring.
So we thought we would give the hotel another go. WE ARE REALLY GLAD WE DID! The changes that have been made to the restaurant area downstairs on pool level are fantastic and the food was quick and tasted great! Recommend the pulled pork sandwich!
The breakfast area with the new cafe style coffee area was also great. In the grand scheme of things it's not a huge deal but I think to a guest it is a nice to have that service available. I really enjoyed it.
I have to say that you could tell as soon as you arrived that the hotel had changed in many ways but most of all each and every staff member that we talked to, walked past, ordered food from, housekeeping staff was extremely friendly. Even the guy loading things in the van out the front of the hotel shot us a smile and a hello. It is things like that that make or break a holiday. It's important to feel special at a hotel and we did feel that.
Due to the weather we did not spend a lot of time in the pool but must agree with other reviewers that it looked VERY busy towards the end of the day and can imagine the noise and screams and splashing of the numerous kids wouldn't have been pleasant for people there staying as a couple like we were. An area or pool for adults only certainly would be appealing to us. However, we did come home and tell many of our friends with kids that the hotel has certainly become more kid friendly with loads of activities for them to keep themselves occupied throughout the day.
Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay and we will come back. Even if it is just for the pulled pork!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi Kel

I am glad you took the risk and thanks for the great review. We have been working hard over the last year or so to develop our product and service so its great to get this feedback and this will be shared with the team here.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had 5 nights in a 2 bed villa in January. Upon arrival room wasnt ready which was very frustrating as it was after 3pm and we had travelled since 8am so were very tired with 2 small kids. Not a great start but we were pleasantly surprised when we got the villa as it was so large. Big rooms, lots of space which was perfect. It is not 5 star and a bit worn in places but it is comfortable, modern, well airconditioned, quiet and we were happy! As were our kids. Also we had a villa right near reception - so much easier walking to restaurants and pool.

Food:

Room service - absolutely fine. I never love room service as it is usually warm when it arrives but this was okay. Kids meals perfect size, platters yummy. Chips ok. Perfect night in after a long day travelling.
Lovedale - not too bad, pizza a bit soggy in the middle, chips yummy, toasted sandwich was inhaled by the kids. Good coffee
Breakfast - had the buffet twice. Great! Especially if you have small kids as they are free so it is good value for everyone to fill up for the day.

Pool - our kids loved it. Spa was hideous and overtaken by giant groups of kids each day. And yes we were there for the poo incident (we called it the turd alert!). I thought it was dealt with well by management and it was a relief to have the thing closed down for a day. Pool is lovely and big and I liked that it was shallow so easy with our kids. Needs to be moer towels bins so people can dispose of their used towels when they leave. It was hard to find a sun lounger as people just left their old towels lying on them. Some more staff to tidy up out there during the day would be good.

Gym - good.

Kids club - fantastic. My daughter loved it and even asked to go back on day 3. The mini train is a good diversion for the kids too. Something extra to fill the day.

Overall we had a great holiday. I wouldnt recommend it for a couple or a quiet holiday. Lots of kids, lots of big gangs of families which wasnt overly peaceful but at least the pool area is large. It was really only the spa I steered clear of. And yes there is definitely a feral element here but easy to ignore.

Room Tip: If you have small kids get a villa close to reception otherwise you would be walking a long way to the pool etc.
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank or_elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thanks for the comprehensive review and I will ensure this is shared across all our departments. I am sorry for your poor check in experience, we do all we can to get rooms back on time for 3:00pm check in so I apologise if this was not done in your case.
I am glad you and the kids had a great ime here and hop to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza and a good stay and could have filled more time. There lots of free activities so it's a great place to come with kids. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly. Totally recommended for families but I'm not sure whether people without kids would enjoy it so much, especially if they're looking for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Dave

Thank you for taking time to post a review, Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do welcome families and during school holidays we get plenty of them, there are other times during the year where less families are on site and a different experience can be had here.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We slept 9 adults and some kids in two 3 bed units - it was easy to book, I booked and paid in advance so I got a discount. The pool was awesome but there were loads of kids! Fun but not relaxing! Maybe out of the school holiday period would be more relaxing, but for the kids in our group it was great as the pool perfect for them, even the toddlers. We did not enjoy eating the bistro restaurant on the ground floor by the pool, the meals took over an hour to come out, and some were even more than an hour and a half - since we made the mistake of ordering separately we had to watch each over eat... we bought it up with the staff who were pretty unapologetic, it seemed it was our fault! Other than this we had a great time and it was a great base for our hunter weekend. Staff were really helpful when we had a couple of kids related issues in the room. Would definitely recommend it if you are travelling in a large group.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thanks for the review. I am glad that your overall experience was great but I apologise for the lack of customer service you experienced in our Lovedale bar. This bar is a new concept for us so we are always seeking to improve. your comments will be shared with the team.

Thank you

Cameron Speedie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews