We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveler rating
695
792
240
83
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
695
792
240
83
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa kids club golf course hunter valley red salt redsalt restaurant large pool table tennis school holidays the main hotel three bedroom buffet breakfast egg station eggs benedict tennis courts great resort great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,274 - 1,279 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is easy to find and surrounded by a golf course. It is a big corporate hotel and when we stayed, it was full to the brim! The room was good and clean and the bed very comfortable etc. Again the Internet was, I think, rediculously expensive and in fact I went into the business centre and it was that fast! It is free in the business centre by the way but there is no wifi there,you have to use their computers. We headed out in the evening to find somewhere to eat and sadly November is a bit early and we drove around for an hour and the best we could come up with was Dominos or Pizza Hut in Lovedale! So we went back to the hotel to eat thinking it might be rammed as the there were so many guests staying, but they found us a table and we had a really good meal! We didn't have. Real fast as it looked incredibly busy, and headed out into town. All in all a great place to lay your head but don't expect much character! Don't bother to head out to eat either! Stay in and try their steak!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review MrsH0lt

Disappointing to see that you were unable to find an appropriate dining venue in your drive around Lovedale but great that you came back to Redsalt and enjoyed a lovely steak for dinner.

Also, thank you for your great scores on cleanliness, service, sleep quality, value, rooms and location. You did stay when we were busy but it looks like you still enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thanks for your review and we hope that you stay with us again if you are visiting from the UK again.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights in a room in the main hotel (rather than one of the villas) and wouldn't recommend it at all. Here is what we thought;

The good points,
1) The beds are very comfortable
2) The food at the Redsalt restaurant was lovely.

The bad points,
1) The rooms appear tired and in need of renovation, there are lots of little things like stains on the carpets, tears in the net curtains and water marks and scratches on the desks. Also, whilst superficially cleaned we noticed dust and dirt on the bedside phone and lamp and mould in the grouting at the bottom of the shower.
2) The pool looks very inviting but is full of dead and dying insects.
3) Whilst we were there they were doing renovations to the dining area, this was not only noisy so sitting around the pool area was far from peaceful. It also meant dining options were limited. I checked prior to booking whether to go for a bed and breakfast rate or just book a room, because when looking at the website it advertised alternative options for breakfast at one of cafés in the hotel, which we thought we would go for, as we don't always want a large buffet breakfast. However, on the first morning we were told that due to the renovations the only option for breakfast was the full buffet at AUD 38 pp. This was not mentioned prior to our arrival at all.
4) Also, we were informed via a note through our door on the afternoon of the second day that there was a large conference staying who would be having dinner at the hotel which would finish at 12am. The music was so loud you could feel it and was almost constant from 9pm until 12am! We rang reception at about 10.45pm as there was no way you could sleep with the noise and were offered that we could we move rooms. There was no mention of music or loud noise in the note they sent, when we told the receptionist that we would have moved rooms earlier had we known about the noise they could only say that 'the conference will be gone tomorrow.' As the hotel was not very full, we only checked in the day before and they knew this party was happening, there was no explanation as to why we were put in this room and not one further away.

If it was not for the refurbishments and the conference I would at a push give this 3 stars. Overall this is in no way what we would expect from a four star hotel, having stayed in other Crowne Plazas before, this was well below their normal standard and very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katrob2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi Katrob2511

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Unfortunately due to the recent abnormally wet weather this has attributed to an influx of bugs in and around the resort. As the pool is one of our signature features we have increased our vigilance around this area in the short term to ensure that the bugs are kept to a minimum and out of the pool as much as possible.

My sincere apologies for the miss communication about our available breakfast options during the upgrade of the Grapevine Bar and Restaurant.

I apologise that your evening sleep was affected by the noise and music from an inhouse conference. This is definitely our shortcoming and I have addressed this with our team re the importance of providing clear communication about the occasional outdoor events we host at the resort.

Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel in the twin deluxe room, the room was clean but dated also the walls weren't sound proof,1 bed the springs were gone & not to mention there was a slant on the right side of the bed so sleep was not be had. as for service please don't expect a great deal of service, my friends I all found it lacking with lots of huffs & tuts as if it was all to hard to crack a smile or be friendly .I ordered a trundle bed & never received it for our stay Oh & if there is 3 adults staying in the 1 room only 2 breakfasts came with the stay not 3 the breakfast cost $38 per day yes there was a large rang to choose from but we felt it wasn't worth $38 high way robbery if you ask me $38 for what bacon & eggs toast, juice, tea,coffee fruit, yoghurt, Danish, eggs cooked anyway you like & cereals. And 1 more thing if you do book a deluxe room don't expect a bar fridge there is only a cooler box in the room so nothing will keep cold.& beware of the hidden costs as well for you will end up with a surprise at the end of your stay believe me.
what was good was the location to the winery's the company I was with.
and yes the pool and gym areas were out standing and if you have a young family this is the place for you for they do cater quite a lot for that market.
for the $800 odd that we paid for our 2 day stay we do expect a lot better.
they need to pick up on their customer service for it is lacking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mellissa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi Melissa d

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us.

Firstly I apologise that your room fell below your expectations. We are in the process of ensuring that all beds and mattessses are to the standard you would expect from a resort of this type. The hotel is going through a maintenance program where walls, public areas and rooms are being repainted.

I want to assure you that Crowne Plaza Huner Valley is very proud of its level of service and cleanliness and take guest comments very seriously and thank you for brining this to our attention
I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next visit.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Booked a weekend away in Hunter Valley and were delighted to stay at the Crown Plaza. The facilities, room and service were absolutely fabulous. The staff have gone out of their way to help with us with any questions and recommendations for food, vineyards to visit and the breakfast was outstanding. Special thanks go to Tegan and Diane for looking after us in the restaurant, you have made our stay here even more enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you again when we come back this way.

Room Tip: Stayed in 209 with twin double beds...was excellent!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review wsmith1

Always pleasing to hear that our guests are delighted with the room, service and facilities.

I will ensure that I pass on your kind words to our staff Tegan and Diane.

Once again, many thanks for tgaking the time to cmment.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were travelling with another couple so opted for a 2 bedroom unit which was very nice. The rooms were spacious, well laid out and very clean. A full kitchen, 2 bathrooms and large lounge was great. The unit had doors opening onto a small terrace are at the back with views of a small lake and golf course. Unfortunately there was only one outdoor chair and no table, so having pre-dinner drinks (or an other snack or meal) wasn't going to be easy.
We had read in the promotional brochure that BBQ's were available, however after paying $480 for the room we didn't expect to be asked to pay a further $50 to hire a BBQ - I though this was a little bit too much.
The resort has alot of facilities and the swimming pool area was especially great with lots of chairs, umbrellas and poolside towels available.
When checking out there was only one (very short tempered) clerk on the desk and a huge queue.. not ideal...

Room Tip: get it at a discounted price...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your review HoneyNZ

Great to hear that yo uwere happy with the layout and spaciousness of your 2 bedroom villa, although I apologise that some of the ourdoor furniture was missing. This is sometimes the case of other guests utilising other villas furniture and we are putting procces in placd to rectify this.

Also, thank you for your feedback on your check out experience as this will be raised with the team. We take all feedback both positive and negative very seriuosly and appreciate you have taken the time to comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Hunter Valley.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews