We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge(Lovedale)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebush Estate(Lovedale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,819)
Filter reviews
1,819 results
Traveler rating
681
778
237
78
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
778
237
78
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villakids clubgolf coursehunter valleyred saltredsalt restaurantbuffet breakfastschool holidayslarge pooleggs benedictthree bedroomegg stationtable tennistennis courtsthe main hotelgreat resortgreat for families
Filter
Updating list...
1,245 - 1,250 of 1,819 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We came as a family for the weekend. When we entered the lobby I thought it was rather clinical and the few stools to sit down on for check in were rather uncomfortable. We also paid a premium for staying over the weekend.

There were rooms to stay in the main precinct with balconies. We had a house/villa with 3 rooms and we had to drive away from the lobby area to get to this. Parking was rather congested especially near the main entrance. The house was stayed in was nice and large with 3 beds and a good size kitchen and living room area. The kitchen came with a lot of supplies too.

The swimming pool was big but as Saturday afternoon came around several people had been drinking a lot and were rather rowdy. I also found the rooms near the main entrance area to be noisy on the Saturday night we were here with people drinking and making noise again.

We were lucky to have our residence away from all the action. Breakfast was really nice and the buffet had ample choice. There was also a lot of seating even for this busy weekend. There was a good play area for children near the pool too. Good for golfers too around the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoWithoutBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your review Go WithoutBorders

Great to hear you enojoyed the pool with that you were happy with your villa and all its extras.

It is unfortunate that the roudy people distrubed your poolside relaxing and we apologise for this.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice this year, and both times I was so impressed with my stay from beginning to end! The staff are so friendly, helpful and genuinely lovely. The food at redsalt was amazing, and the rooms are oh so comfortable. Can not fault them - I've already booked in another couple of visits for the near future!

Room Tip: I stayed in their standard room, but also the villas. Both were great - but obviously the villas offer something special!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdog3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi kdog3008

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Plaza for 6 nights. The first 4 nights were for a work conference, and the last two were to relax.

It was a pleasant stay, but it was obvious that they were struggling service wise to deal with 400 people in-house. Service did suffer at peak times.

It was a nice clean hotel, the pool was nice and spacious. I found the menu to be quite limited, but then we were there for 6 nights, and there is only one restaurant.

I used the gym everyday which was adequate, and the Day Spa was only ok. Thought that the staff could have been more keen to try and book us in, but did not ask for alternative times when they couldnt fit us in?

Very handy to the local wineries. Parking is at an optimum, and at times we had to drive around alot looking for a park.

Overall it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: If there is only two of you, I would suggest staying in the hotel and not walking distances to the little guest houses.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anissaLoades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi anissaLoades

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

Great to hear you had a mix of work and leisure and were able to stay on a further 2 days and relax.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Whether for couples, families, friends or business, the Crowne Plaza is a great place to stay. Lovely rooms of varying sizes and configurations, plus an enormous pool and spa to keep the kids happy. Really close to Peterson's Champagne House and Hungerford Hill (inc Muse Restaurant) so the location is fantastic. Wouldn't necessarily dine here, but would definitely stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Jane A

Thank you for your review of our resort.

You have covered many aspects of your stay and and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about the pool and spa.

We hope to welcome you back for yet another enjyable stay when you are next in the Hunter Valley.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom villa with another couple for two nights during September. The villa was situated with an outlook over the lake and golf course in a small block with three other villas. The villa was well set out with two bedrooms and two bathrooms which were very well appointed and maintained. The furniture was of a good quality and the villa was spotless. We used the golf course and also the spa which were wonderful.

We ate in the restaurants and the food was of a good quality. If you don't like steaks you may be in trouble. The hotel is located opposite Cessnock airport and close to the wineries. Staff are friendly and helpful. The cost of the villa was quite reasonable between two couples. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi Darghan

Thank you for your review.

We strive to ensure that guests have a great experience and it is pleasing to read that you certainly enjyoed your stay with us.

Great to hear that you were happy with the villa layout and also the quality of the furniture.

We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another enjoyable stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards
David Bark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews