We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overated I'm afraid” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Overated I'm afraid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked a three bedroom villa recently for a two night stay, and the booking experience to start with wasn't great.

I got transferred from a call centre, to another location and finally after a couple more goes around, to the booking agent at the resort. Then, the rates were pretty steep, but what the heck - we were visiting for a wedding.

When our confirmation was sent it was wrong - wrong cost and dates.

Upon arrival the rates were wrong again - on the second night when returning to the villa we were locked out and had to get reception to send someone to let us in.

The villa itself was ok. Certainly nothing like the amazing photos on the website. When we checked out, the rates were different again! This time in our favour fortunately.

Overall, it ended up being reasonably priced considering we had 5 people staying. The experience in general from booking months in advance to check out was average.

A brilliant weekend in the Hunter, a magnificent wedding but average accommodation. probably wouldn't stay here again for the money it cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Mullos1962

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay.

I apologise for the less then pleasant excperience you had when making your booking. I thank you for bringing this to my attention as I will ensure that this does not occur again.

Great to hear that you were happy with your overall stay and that you enjoyed that wedding.

Once again, I apologise for your less then perfect check in experience.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    645
    187
    63
    39
See reviews for
450
503
15
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Huge property, friendly staff.
The rooms are quiet large ours had a view of the golf course & pool (which looked great but was a little cold when we stayed) with a balcony - lovely to watch the sunset with a glass of wine :)
Breakfast was great they have everything you would want, egg station & coffee station along with the usual buffet - couldn't fault it. Dinner was good too - not hugely expensive in line with Sydney prices.
The hotel is close to if not within short driving distance to all the main wineries so was a great base.
Overall had a great relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Chloe G

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our resort.

It is always pleasing to hear positive comments about our staff. We would like to welcome you back in to try the pool as the weather is now perfect for a swim.

Great to hear that you had a relaxing stay and again thank you for your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is a nice hotel but the extras are pretty expensive. My stay was for attending a wedding. Room was a fairly standard size for a 4 star motel but with a nice (Little) balcony the upkeep of the grounds and the servicing the rooms was excellent.

The pool looked nice even though I didn’t swim in it. I used the gym which was very good and the spa. Issue I had was on check out, my wife did this why I rushed of to work in Newcastle. On review of the bill I was overcharged for my accommodation by $100 and charged for an extra breakfast, rang up and point this out, very hard to contact finance dep (only Mon - Fri when they are there). I stayed in late August and still no refund.

I would stay again if my issue is resolved, just double check your billing before paying/leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elliottkayaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi elliotkayaks

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed the spa and also the gym.

I am pleased to confirm that your overpayment has been settled and apologise for the error that occurred.

We would love to welcome you back again to enjoy all that we have to offer at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful grounds, well located and very pleasant and polite staff. A hotel that caters for tourists or business people. Lots of activities for the active ones during the day, perfect for a visit to all the wineries nearby and then at night a nice dinner at Redsalt, where I had a steak cooked to perfection. The staff was efficient, always smiling and complied with all request. The swimming pool is impressive and very well kept, so are the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi TrotanumdosSydney

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Thank you for your comments on our beautiful grounds and swimming pool as we aim to ensure that they are maintained to a high standard at all times for our guests enjoyment.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff in Redsalt.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you back at the Hunter Valley soon.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This place has many great reviews and a lot of people say its great for family's but my wife and I went for our anniversary and its great for couples. Close to every touristy thing around the Hunter and all staff was amazing! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald108108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi ronald108108

Thank you for your recent review on our resort and Happy Anniversary.

So pleasing also to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley is a well-run hotel that caters for all types of visitors - the golfers, the tennis players, the old, the young. It is big enough so that no one group gets in the way of another. We visit every year and the high standard has been maintained.
The current manager is doing a great job - you can see this by the way the staff are trained and the general overall efficiency and cleanliness.
The breakfasts are excellent with the best Eggs Benedict I have tasted anywhere. There is plenty of choice and here once again, the staff are friendly and efficient - everything works like clockwork.
Our group always stays in a villa so I cannot vouch for the hotel rooms. The villas are modern and spacious with good kitchen facilties. The swimming pool is large and one never feels crowded even when there are many people around.
The location is great being very close to many wineries and restaurants. All in all one of the best places to stay in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi WellTravelledAussie2

Thank you for your review. We strive to make our guests experience great and it makes us happy to read that you were happy with the staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness of our resort.

We receive lots of positive feedback on our beautiful pool and hope to welcome you back in the warmer months so you can take a relaxing swim next time you visit the Hunter Valley.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked a number of 3 and 2 bed villas for a 50th birthday celebration. the hotel ensured all the villa's were adjacent and even upgraded the only single room booking to a double room villa "so the guests could be closer to the rest of the group"! A lot of work has gone into upgrading some of the facilities since my last visit...especially the Gym and other leisure activities.
The villas are modern and clean...overlooking the challenging golf course - with plenty of room to congregate on the grass to enjoy the sunshine and wines purchased on our tour.
One of our group took up the offer to stay over another night at a reduced rate...and ate at the outstanding restaurant....full of compliments about the service and quality of food.
highly recommend for group bookings...especially if you play golf or like chilling out around the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Jenny C

Thank you for your detailed review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. We are always happy to accommodate guests requests for adjacent rooms if possible which makes for a more enjoyable experience if you are closer to the rest of the group that you are travelling with.

I will be sure to pass on your kind wordsabour the outstanding quality of food to chef.

Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Kind regards
David Bark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing