We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
torfaen
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights here prior heading to Sydney. Check in was quick and easy but had to move room due to the key lock not working. No problem all was dealt with very quickly.

A lovely place to relxa and unwind with plenty of winearies to visit. Lots of activities going on, lovely swimming pool but although heated was still cold.

At the time of our visit it was school half term and there was a large conference which caused mayhem in the morning for breakfast. We were told to best visit after 9am after the conference people which was a bit annoying as we wanted to get out a bit early but found it quite annoying having to wait for a table. Breakfast was great, although like I said too many children for me. We did have an evening meal and that was nice.

The bars closed quite early about 11ish except on one occassion when the large conference group came into the bar about 11 the bar remained open. To me it seemed that they had preferential treatment.

Staff were very helpful and we did have a good time. The rooms were large, clean and had everything that is required.

Room Tip: A room over looking the golf course or the pool would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torfaenwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi torfaenwesty

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your three night stay with us.

Hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza.

Kind regards

Debra Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    687
    207
    67
    39
See reviews for
474
541
15
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A work colleague and I stayed the night prior to a conference yesterday. The welcoming was very pleasant, and the surroundings and room very lovely.
However, there is no free wi-fi, even in the common areas. Having travelled the world extensively, this is most unusual to find this not provided in an Australian hotel.
When it came to breakfast, there was no option of a continental breakfast, only full breakfast was offered. No a-la-carte menu was offered either, only "we'll, what do you want" at the restaurant reception, to which we replied with something very simple, and charged on the spot. ???? Not every guest wants a full breakfast. Most unusual practice.

N

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a pool view, didn't get one, but that didn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenM1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear HelenM1601,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to you were satisfied with our location and accommodations. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the WIFI and breakfast issues. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here as a family birthday surprise for my wife recently to visit a few cellar doors and take the kids (5 & 7) to Snpw in the Gardens.
We stayed in the basic rooms which were a pleasant surprise; clean, modern and spacious, great beds and good showers. The kids had a great time in the pool and making use of all the outdoor activities that were free to use. All the staff were great with the kids especially the team in the restaurant (thanks Jamiee, Sara and co!).
A special mention to Danielle in the Tea Tree Spa for a seriously good remidial massage, worth staying just for that.
All the food we tried was delicious but the extremely expensive dinner menu in the restaurant was a big disappointment; should have paid attention to other reviews on that issue!
Great location and handy for everything in the Hunter, we will definitely return but eat out for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiceville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Spiceville

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in. We will be sure to pass your kind words onto Danielle, Jamiee and Sara.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Debra Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here last week during school holidays from Sunday to Tuesday. My partner and I have both travelled extensively throughout Australia and the world. I had stayed at the Crowne in the Hunter previously and remember loving it; this time I wasn't too impressed. Check in was slow and the receptionist was cold and unhelpful. This wasn't the case for all the staff however, just ours! Our room was lovely, balcony, full size bath and huge comfy bed! Service at the Vista lounge was friendly when staff eventually acknowledged you, but again very slow and nothing too impressive. I went to the bar to ask for a fork and was ignored by all of the staff (4 of them!) for about 5 minutes; clearly filling the water jugs and making a cocktail is far too important to ACKNOWLEDGE the existence of a waiting customer! The seating around the bar is limited, especially considering its the only reasonably priced restaurant/bar in the resort. We ordered room service and the food and service were both great! I thought it interesting that although the hotel is located in the heart of wine country there was no wine in the mini bar or in the room for purchase at all. Don't expect breakfast when you want it; both mornings when we went down for breakfast we had to wait for a table which I have never had to do before. The breakfast selection was excellent however service for eggs was slow; we waited 20 minutes for an omelette! All in all our stay was ok; the resort facilities were nice, the location was excellent and staff were very polite but rather useless. We would certainly stay at a Crown Plaza hotel again but probably not this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonAlyceThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi ShannonAlyceThomas

Firstly I would like to offer a sincere apology for the service you received and I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We take our guests feedback very seriously and always strive to exceed guests expectations but it sounds like we fell below your expectations. While your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Kind regards

Debra Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from a short break to the hunter and chose the Crowne due to the prescence of a Kids Club. We took our 9 week old baby and on booking advised that we required an 11.45am check out due to having to breast feed at 11am. Despite having been assured that they would try to accommodate this request, the manager on arrival (Patrick) advised the reception staff that this would not be honoured. When I asked the reception staff to communicate our circumstances to the manager they did so but advised (rather rudely) that the position had not changed. I then asked for an alternate feeding venue and the reception staff member advised that she would make enquiries and call me back. No one called me back and I ended up feeding my 9 week old in the back of our car. Had we known this position, we would never have booked. I do a lot of business travel and have never experienced such poor customer service - not even to return a phone call. In addition the housekeeping staff knocked on our door at 6pm and requested to clean our room. Given that we were occupying it at that time, we had to decline. All day it was empty yet no housekeeping staff attended to clean. A very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjtjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Cjted

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused whilst trying to feed your baby. Your comments are being reviewed by our team and we will look to make the required changes to our process so to reduce this type of concern in the future.

We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and are happy doing so, and for that reason your comments will certainly be looked at. We take very seriously the comments from our guests and work hard to rectify unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards

Debra Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived after a long drive from Byron Bay (7 hours). We wanted to cancel the reservation once pur plans firmed up but were told it was a prepaid noncancellable reservation. We missed the entrance when we arrived after dark because the sign of the entrance was not lighted coming from the south. Plus the GPS had us arriving 2 miles up the road but maybe that was a GPS issue

So I was already in a bad mood by the time I got to check in which was painless enough but we were told wifi cost $15 a night. Really? In 2013?

Then the restaurant (inflated prices) wanted a reservation even though it was very empty. So we went to the lounge a la carte ordering. There was a friendly guy behind the bar but we waited and waited for our starter and sure enough...it arrived with our 3 entrees. The only problem was there were 4 of us and one entree did not get prepared by the kitchen. The problem was rapidly fixed but not much of an apology.

The room itself, a 2 BR suite was beautiful and nicely appointed in spacious. We got a great night's sleep before moving on...but not with breakfast here, as the only option was a $25 breakfast buffet

So if you are on a generous expense account, it's a great place, if you are a normal travelling family you could fine better options in Hunter Valley

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi RavenManiac

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I understand your concerns with the the signage lighting and we are currently reviewing this.

I apologise that your entrees did not all arrive at the same time and happy this was rectified quickly for you.

Glad you enjoyed a good nights sleep in your villa and I hope you take the opportunity to come back and enjoy our resort.

Kind regards

Debra Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, we stayed in one of the rooms and the highlights were definitely the buffet breakfast and customer service. Every single staff member we came across seemed genuinely friendly and very helpful. I have never experienced a workplace of any kind where everyone seemed so happy. Giant chess board and checkers were also great fun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi sarahausti

I am glad you were happy with your stay. Thanks for your lovely comments about our team as we are very proud to have the best staff working at our resort.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Kind regards

Debra Howard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
861 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing