We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney NSW
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good, but can be better”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Six of us stayed here for the week-end. Rooms were clean, and comfortable. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Drawbacks were only 5 people could sit in the loungeroom suite, and there were not enough sugar and milk packs for all of us for tea/coffe, which we only drank for breakfast. Also, could do with paper towels for cleaning, as 2 Chucks and 2 tea towels are not enough, and also dishwasher tablets. $50 for the b bcue hire and extra for the meat pack is a bit of a rip-off!

Room Tip: Probably a room near any of the ponds is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Margw5

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. I have noted your comments and will review our in villa tea & coffee options as well as cleaning materials with our executive housekeeper. The dish washing machines are a new addition to many of our villas and we are placing dishwasher tablets in the villas, additional tablets are available from housekeeping.

kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    684
    201
    68
    39
See reviews for
469
537
15
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed for one night only in our short trip to Hunter Valley, as a weekend getaway. Located just by the main road, this resort has such a big property and can offer you everything you need, from nice rooms, villas, swimming pool and golf course as well. We went there without any specific plan, but all the hotel's facilities and neighboring vineyards plus wine tasting places kept us occupied the whole time, which is lovely! We had the full buffet breakfast included in our package, so we went there in the morning and it was quite packed. The service is quite efficient, and despite the lack of attention to details from the servers, we still enjoyed it. Staffs are friendly, and we are happy to recommend this hotel to our friends visiting Hunter Valley!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi TW168

Thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the future.

kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just spent a night at the Crowne Plaza over the Lovedale Long Lunch weekend. We stayed here 2 years ago and had a similar experience so thought this year we'd write a review. The hotel is lovely - nice setting, tidy grounds, massive pool and comfortable rooms. The only issue I have with the hotel, and I suspect it's specific to this weekend, is the service. The hotel is full for the Long Lunch but this is hardly a surprise. It's full every year for the Long Lunch! Why then can't the hotel organize enough staff to serve you in a timely manner. We waited over an hour for a Caesar Salad and a steak on Saturday night and small things like a cup of coffee took ages. Apart from that, and I suspect at any other time, it would be lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Dellick

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay last weekend for Lovedale Long Lunch. It certainly is a fun event and one the team and resort enjoy being part of.
I do apologise for the slow service you received in our Grapevine Bar. We are aware that we have some deficiencies with service in this outlet but this is more from a kitchen that is too small to serve the volume of meals that are ordered in a short space of time. A good thing for the resort but it does slow service, something I am very aware of.
I am extremely pleased to announce that on Monday 17th June we commence our renovations to Grapevine Bar which includes a brand new start of the art kitchen. The new improved Grapevine will open in late September and I know will be a great improvement on the current version.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again for Lovedale Long Lunch next year or hopefully sooner

David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Hunter for 4 days for a conference and was thoroughly impressed with the friendly attitude of every individual staff member i spoke to. It's a beautiful property and I particularly enjoyed heading out for a morning jog in the neighboring vineyards. . . Being a current New Yorker it was pretty exhilarating to have kangaroos as jogging partners on the regular!

I had a prepaid rate and they were even nice enough to honor the same rate when I decided to extend my stay by an additional night.

I stayed in a Spa Suite room which was massive to be in on my own, but it certainly impressed on the entertainment end.

Didn't have the chance to hit the links, but the course was well maintained and quite pretty.

Breakfast in the buffet was a bit expensive at $38 as I'm on a health kick, but you can also sneak downstairs to the less formal cafe for a cheaper and still tasty bite.

*Disregard my spa rating I didnt visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Brian
Thank you so much for your review of our resort
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that our resident Kangaroos made an appearance, they are amazing animal.
Thank you for your kind comments on our team, we are blessed to have some of the best people working at the resort who love to come to work.
Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon

Sincerely
David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great resort. Stay here each time we visit the Hunter Valley. This time we stayed with our wedding guests as it was just around the corner from our wedding venue.
Villa's are great for families and for couples to share. Lounge room a great size for having people drop by for a glass of wine and if you ask for a bottom floor villa you can sit around in the sun on the grass outside your villa.
Over the past year the resort has increased the amount of activities for guests with beach volley ball, soccer nets, games rooms, table tennis tables and more being added. Golf course is enjoyable and has the right combination of challenge and reward for the average golfer. The service in the spa was great.
Only negative was the wait for food when the resort is busy. Some of our guests waited almost 2 hours for pizza's in the bar restaurant downstairs others a similar time for room service.
Overall a great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom floor villa by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmac_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Bigmac_1974

Thank you so much for your review of the resort.

It is pleasing to here that you enjoyed our resort additions this is something that we are working on each day to create a truly great resort experience. We will be adding more activities over the coming months.

Our Villas are certainly a treat and we are also slowly enhancing this product with the addition of dishwashers in every unit and a new 46 inch LCD TV in the lounge rooms.

I apologise for the wait on food in Grapevine and Room Service This is an issue that I am aware of and I am very pleased to say we have a solution. From the 17th June Grapevine Bar and Kitchen are being fully renovated and that our new kitchen will be state of the art and allow our chefs to cook food much more quickly so that we can deliver your meal in an acceptable time.

Once again thank you for your kind comments,we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

David Bark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is not the place to go for a special occasion or celebration. The occasion was a 40th Birthday celebration with 12 invitees. We wanted to make it a special event so contacted the hotel staff to organise a small gift for the birthday girl. Just a card and maybe a bottle of wine. That seemed pretty basic seeing as we were staying in the Hunter Valley. The staff (with attitude) absolutely refused to acknowledge the occasion! Not even agreeing to provide a card! And we were spending over $2000 on accommodation, meals, drinks, pampers etc. After several more attempts to organise a small gift the General Manager was contacted. He wasn’t the least bit interested. I made it clear that it is very common for hotels to acknowledge special events. The response from the hotel was that “ we don’t acknowledge birthdays here” and “it is not our policy to provide gifts”. Unbelievable!

Next we tried to book a table for breakfast only to be told “we don’t take bookings here” and “you just need to turn up and wait for a table”. We tried to explain that we were a group of 12 who wanted to sit together. Still no agreement from the staff for a booking. After a number of further calls we managed to gain agreement to have a table reserved however we “had to be at breakfast by 845 or miss out”. So rude!

We were very disappointed with the lack of interest from the hotel but unfortunately it was too late to change the booking. The weekend away then got worse. There was no recognition of the 40th birthday at check in. There was no gift for the birthday girl.

When we arrived for breakfast we were told tables can’t be reserved! This was getting frustrating. A discussion followed with more attitude being shown by the staff. Then another argument over whether breakfast had been paid for! In this case the supervisor with her voice raised followed us to the front desk where we were served up with more attitude from the duty manager. In the end we were proved to be correct. No apologies from the supervisor or duty manager.

To top it off when we tried to celebrate the birthday with cupcakes late one evening we were told off again with attitude that we were not allowed to eat cup cakes in the bar!

All in all a very very disappointing and stressful experience. This planned special event was completely spoiled by such rude staff, showing contempt of guests, bad attitude, dreadful customer service and all apparently supported by their General Manager who made no attempt whatsoever to create an atmosphere for a celebration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the resort. I am extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations for your celebration weekend away.

Our team have been in touch to discuss this with you directly, but I also wanted to add that in June we will commence a renovation of our Grapevine Bar & kitchen. This means we will have a larger outlet that will allow us to provide another venue whereby we will be able to provide a more relaxed cafe style breakfast where tables can be booked.

Once again, my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations this time and we hope to have another chance for the team to welcome you to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed in a double bedroom chalet which was pretty good value, decent amount of room one ensuite and one other bathroom. Good sized kitchen/dining area and opened out onto the golf course/lake. Rooms and hotel unremarkeable but clean and functional and the check in and out staff were friendly. Great location for the wineries in Pokolbin, just off Broke road.

Room Tip: If you are right on the golf course the golfers start early and the service carts whizz around..so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi DriverDanSydney

Thank you for your kind feedback and fantastic that you are sharing that we are in a great location for visiting the wineries.
Hope to get you back here soon.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing