We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Crown was very pleasant and ideal for a relaxing weekend out of Sydney. We did not use the available facilities very much but everything was clean and up to scratch. The staff were very courteous and always willing to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi Stuart

Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you soon on another relaxing weekend out of Sydney

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    684
    201
    68
    39
See reviews for
468
536
15
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visited for a work dinner. The food was really good quality and great portions/value for a large group. But it was so slow! We had to ask the waiter for water a number of times, and our meals took over an hour to arrive. We decided not to order dessert as we thought it could take as long as the mains so thought coffee would be a better option....not so. Coffee took forever to come, I almost completely forgot we even ordered it and left! Value for money on what we received was great, but only if you are prepared to wait a long time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatandTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear EatandTravelalot

I am sorry you experienced slow service in our restaurant. Our staff do take care to stagger bookings so that this does not occur and over an hour wait in Redsalt is not common even with large groups. I apologise that on this occasion your meal experience was not as expected and do hope you get a chance to visit us again in the Hunter Valley.

Kind Regards
Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This might seem a bit pricey but its about the same as the B&Bs etc on the area and that makes this an excellent value as you get a very neat and clean and comfortable hotel with a lot of facilities. Very open, have a beautiful golf course within its grounds, a huge pool, a bar and a couple of restaurants.

Most of all its located very close to some of the best vineyards in the region.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himanshu_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your great comments. We are proud of our facilities and always trying to add to them so that our guests can have fun and relax when they are not enjoying the regions great wineries.

Kind Regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a night on our drive from Sydney to Brisbane to visit some friends while we were exploring Australia and having come all the way from the US, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Great location for sightseeing - several of the wineries we wanted to visit were all within a few minutes from here! The price was very reasonable and having a golf course on sight sold my fiance! He played and I walked and enjoyed the picturesque scenery and views! You can't beat it! One of our favorite stops during our 2 week trip! You won't be disappointed with your stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl_8584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks Travelgirl_8584

Glad you enjoyed your time here. We get a lot of guests that like to stop off here on a road trip from Sydney to Brisbane, enjoy the wineries relax for the night and move on. Hope you continue to enjoy your travels.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A group of us spent the weekend in the Valley. We took 3 of the 3BR villas. They are well appointed , clean, modern and we had a lovely outlook over the golf course. We took a package including breakfast which was a lovely buffet breakfast with very friendly and helpful staff. A car is essential if you are visiting the hunter valley as it is very spread out. This hotel is located about 6 or so minutes from the Hunter Valley Gardens so is very central. We would return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auzzigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi Auzzigirls

Thanks for your comments and glad you had a very pleasant stay with us. Hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy all the Hunter has to offer and of course our resort.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked a room for three nights to attend a conference in the motel. The first night I had room service and for the price of what I got I thought it was expensive. I also thought the breakefast at $35 was a rip because all I wanted was a couple of eggs on toast and a cup of coffee, so for the second and third days I went into a cafe in Cessnock and got the same thing for $13 (and it was relly nice).

The room was fine with a king bed and a good size desk to be able to work although the the room was a bit dark. The room was quite and the bed was good. The shower enclosure leaked under the glass panel so the floor and the shower mat were always wet after a shower.

I did have a buffet dinner as part of the conference in the Grapevine resturant. This was really nice food. It was interesting because we also had a dinner the night before as part of the conference and they served Victorian wines which I thought was unusal considering we were in the NSW Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear jpflying

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback and I am sorry that your experience was not the best. The resort does offer a more limited breakfast service in our Grapevine bar for those that do not want the full buffet, I apologise if this was not made apparent to you and I will look into this for future guests. We are also proud to be part of the Hunter Region and we do offer as wide variety of Hunter Valley local wines on our wine lists but we do carry a selection of non Hunter Valley wines to give customers a wider choice, this also includes our conference wine packages.
I apologise for the leak in the bathroom, we do conduct a regular review of maintenance issues and we shall be addressing this.
I do hope we can welcome you back again as either a leisure or conference guest and I am confident your next visit will be more agreeable.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed one night on Thursday. Reasonable price and good location to start to look around Hunter valley. Swimming pool was large and relaxed. There is one jacuzzi next to the swimmingi. Do not know about their spa or breakfast though. But probably ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stranger_in_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Stranger_in_OZ

Thanks for leaving your feedback. Our Tea Tree Spa gets some fantastic feedback and Heidi one of our spa therapist won the Spa Therapist of the year awards at the Australaisia ASPA conference earlier this year. Our full buffet breakfast including egg station is also well received particularly for those with a big appetite.

Kind regards

Cameron Speedie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing