We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 bedroom villa. The 24 hour service is fantastic and the staff are only too happy to help. Location to vineyards are also brilliant. Rooms were comfortable with full air conditioning throughout however the only downfall for our stay was the lack of sun beds by the pool. Most of the guests staying complaining about this as we felt there were not enough for the number of guests. All beds were taken up by lots of parents/kids by 8am and none free all day. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    645
    187
    63
    39
See reviews for
450
503
15
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our time with beautiful views of the golf course and friendly helpful staff. Coming from the U.K. We did find everything quite expensive at 1.4 dollars to the pound but this proved to be the case throughout our stay in Australia and on reflection Crowne Plaza was no different to everywhere else price wise, Lovedale and its wineries was excellent. The hotel beds were probably the most comfortable that we came across.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freemasonsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights in November. We hadn’t booked in advance, so took the rate they offered us at reception @ AUD270 per night, inc breakfast. We found it easily because it is opposite the Tourist Info Centre. The room was large and clean, with the usual tea/coffee facilities. The swimming pool is large but very shallow, all over. We assumed it was for the safety of children, but they did have a separate pool. Plenty of sun loungers and easy access to the bar and snack restaurant. They have a beauty salon, but we didn’t get time to use it. The restaurant upstairs is very large, modern and open plan. The food is good, especially the breakfast with a good choice, and the optional freshly cooked breakfast. The prices were high, but that may be because of our exchange rates against the UK£ being only 1.49.
Reception booked us a wine touring excursion for the day, AUD50pp. Well worth the money for first timers. The Hunter Valley is a lovely area. Loads of places to eat and obviously drink, also lots of little boutique type shops to spend your money in. Worth visiting the Mercure Hotel for dinner, not very far away from the Crowne Plaza. Wished we had more time there.

Room Tip: Request a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in a large villa which was well appointed and overlooked the golf course - a very quiet location. Parking was a little busy but not really a problem. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Ate at the Grapevine Restaurant which was reasonable priced with generous portions! Excellent location for exploring the Hunter Valley, then relaxing in the huge swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0des10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great grounds set in one of the few golf course in the hunter. Really reasonably priced with excellent facilities including a number of restaurants, tennis courts, huge pool area and even a giant chess set. The bed was insanely comfortable and the room service menu looked simple, delicious and well-priced. Lovedale is a great part of the Hunter close to many wineries, cheese tasting and also the horse riding centre. The guests seemed to be a mix of families, couples and groups of friends on holidays together and Crowne Plaza catered for them all.

Room Tip: I would suggest trying one of the villas or a room with a view as ours faced across to other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Meets Crowne Plaza expectations. Large, spacious property with is good for families or business conferences.

Advantages: Plenty to keep you entertained onsite big pool (for a Hunter Valley hotel), Tennis, basketball, dayspa, gym, golf, bars, kids club - and most importantly close to the wineries.

Disadvantages: cues at breakfast

I would say that this is a good family or business hotel. If you want couple time, then I am not sure you would like it.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom villa's are large and a very comfortable room for groups or families. Ask for a villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFabFour_fromSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 (2 kids aged 4 and 6) enjoyed a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom villa late December 2013. There were a number of positives and very few negatives. We were advised by friends to ask for a villa near the pool which was good advice as some villas are quite a distance away.

The service was outstanding. It was obvious the staff had been trained in customer service. The vast majority of staff were very obliging, helpful and delivered service with a smile which was quite refreshing.

The 2 bedroom villa was new, clean, modern and well equipped. There is a small kitchenette with most utensils needed to self cater. Beds were very comfortable. 2 bathrooms, one with bath and shower and the other with shower only. Accommodation was excellent.

The swimming pool is practical and functional for all ages. There is a section for toddlers with water up to their knees as well. The resort makes available pool noodles and pool towels for guests. Seating around the pool can be limited during busy times so get there early to get a seat.

The food at Redsalt restaurant was excellent. The breakfast buffet had everything we expected and food was delicious and fresh. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner at Redsalt. We had the fillet steak and the spatchcock chicken and some deserts. All were very good.

Food at the Grapevine, which caters for the pool area during the day was a little less exciting. Food was ok and drinks on the expensive side.

We sent our kids to the kids club on one day and were left a little disappointed. The facilities were good however we felt the care was not fantastic. We felt that it was an inconvenience for the carers that our kids were there. Or children did not want to go back a second time. We passed on this feedback to the hotel so hopefully this will improve.

There are many activities such as touch footy, table tennis and volleyball organised daily by the leisure centre which is located on the ground floor near the pool. There are a number of things to do both inside and outside the resort.

Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Majitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing