We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but their standard rooms are overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but their standard rooms are overpriced”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a standard room on a flexible rate, the charge of this was 400.00 $!! As it was for a wedding,the Crowne Plaza was the most convenient hotel for us. Fortunately we were upgraded to a huge 2BR, 2BTH villa, so at the end this justified the price. The villa was clean, beds good and bathrooms spacious. It had a nice kitchen and was equipped with everything you needed. Breakfast was good with a separate egg/omelette ordering station. Dinner in the pub downstairs was excellent and reasonably priced. Feedback from other guests was that the restaurant on the lobby level was overpriced and by far not as good as the pub downstairs. Quite a few staff member we encountered were either unfriendly or had no idea what their were doing. One female staffer in the breakfast room was the only exception. We appreciated her friendly and professional manner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodfoodfanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    685
    201
    68
    39
See reviews for
470
537
15
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed 1 night at Crowne as we were attending a wedding in the Hunter. We got an early Check in which was quick and efficient. The receptionist upgraded us to a lovely suite with lounge/dining area, lovely bedroom with TV and wonderful bathroom with spa and a powder room. Also had a balcony overlooking the tennis area. We enjoyed a swim in the enormous pool, which is heated and a quick dip in the outdoor spa. Did not have time this visit to eat in the restaurants, so can not comment on the food. Many thanks again for a very pleasant stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiterrigal2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October. The hotel was amazing with large spacious rooms and balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The hotel is in a central location with many wineries and restaurants within close proximity. We dined at the hotels restaurant Red Salt on one evening and the servcie was great, the food was delicious.

Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to the Hunter!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley is a great place to meet up with friends. easy to locate across from the Tourism Centre. Great bar and easy dining over the weekends. Lovely morning walks around the golf course.

Room Tip: We booked a 2 bedroom apartment but was allocated a 3 bedroom. Well located and appointed.Upstairs b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for a FBA Conference in Aug 12. In a 2 bed Villa apartment. Was very large, clean and well set out. Staff were very nice. Restaurants were great, food fantastic and ofcourse lots of nice wine. Food was a little slow to get to us, (Hotel very busy) but the wine kept us happy.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Suburb
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here recently to attend a conference and decided to stay an extra night when we booked and so glad we did. Got a great package deal for a spa suite that included breakfast. Room was lovely and clean. The resort was very quiet and relaxing even though it was very busy. All the staff were very helpful and always smiling and pleasant to talk to. The buffet breakfast was very impressive with loads of variety and plenty of gluten free options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotcate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Reception and service was excellent. We had hired a villa for 6, with 3 couples staying and disappointed that the lounge space had seating for four, we brought a chair and pouffe down from upstairs but would have been nice to have 6 seats. Also everything indicated a full kitchen and again disappointed there was no dishwasher or oven, we had planned to eat in so didn't have to worry about who drove and then had to washup!

Golf course was nice and lots of facilities if you just wanted to resort it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing