We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was very nice in main part of the hotel, just past reception. Room was nice, but we didn't appreciate the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night (considering we were only there for one night). Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice for Western tastes.

Very central location and good base for wine tours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    645
    187
    63
    38
See reviews for
450
503
15
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My grandson got sick while we stayed at the Hotel and the staff were just wonderful. When I was up in the lobby at 3am with him the staff came over to see if they assist with anything. During the day we asked for just a plain cheese sandwich for him and within a short while the sandwhich arrived (looking more like a gourmet meal). Nothing was too much trouble and we very much appreciated this. Thank you to all the staff (especially the ones setting up for the conference on the Sunday morning at 3am) who went out of their way to try to assist.
Rooms were very clean and very comfortable and the grounds well maintained. Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the garden and each has their own balcony. Any room would be a pleasure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 275DianneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I was finally able to afford to take a long awaited break due to both our health and visit the Hunter Valley for the first time.
On arriving Great Hotel & position.
As for prices of the rooms on off seasons is very expensive.
We ended up with a room that has an air conditioner pipe in the wall at the head of you bed that kept us wake.
On reporting it we were moved to another the next day, but no refund for the lost sleep.
As for the restaurant the first night the food was rather expensive.The selection of food for people who are allergic to sea food and do not eat meat was very limited.
The next evening as I was not well my daughter called room service 4 times with no answer, the 5 time she called reception to be told they would put us through to the restaurant only to have no one answer the phone.
After 40 mins my daughter rang again to find they had taken the phone off the hook.
We rang reception again to complain the sent someone to the restaurant to tell them to ring our room.
They rang and said they would ring back to rake our order, they didn't we had to ring them again.
Finally at 10.15pm we received our dinner , after nearly 3 hours of phoning and waiting.
For a 2 day stay that cost us a fortune and a long awaited break we were offered no compensation or complimentary vouchers for all the inconvenience they we endured.
We came back more stressed and disappointed , to what was to be a relaxing two day break.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betterdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

just attended a conference there and was very impressed with the resort and especially the banquet staff.
We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was very spacious with two bathrooms and a large lounge meals area. They can be a fair way from the main building and often after the trek to the room we found our key cards did not work, which was the only drama, they do have buggies that will take you to the room 24/7.
I did view a guest room in the main complex and they were as expected, not the biggest, but had either a king bed or two doubles. The resort is built on a gold course so a lovely setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a weekend in a 3 bedroom apartment at The Crown Plaza Resort in September and had a blast. My family celebrated Mum's 70th birthday so there were mum and dad, sis and hubby and me and my hubby and the two teenagers and we had a fabulous time. We never left the resort actually. We played tennis, a half day of golf and hired golf buggies to get around. There are several restaurants and a bar and also in the apartment we had our own kitchen so could make our own as well. We spent half a day by the pool (big pool) and in the spa (outdoor) and also played table tennis near to the pool. Lunch by the pool was really nice food and good menu to choose from. Loved it there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a golf weekend away,I booked a table in the restaurant for my faimly lunch. We had a lovely food, the service from the young staff is very good, they really done a great job. We really appreciated the complimentary bottle of bubbles left in our room. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, the egg counter has a great system going so you don’t have to stand and wait. Not many breakfast buffets are serving espresso coffee and refills, especially not with the speed and professionalism the young staff demonstrated. We ate in the bar one evening, again great food and service.the Crowne is very impressive and beautiful, it's a large complex, surrounded by the golf course and very centrally located.we highly recommend it .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Address: 430 Wine Country Drive, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque vineyards and golf course greens and framed by the rugged Brokenback Ranges, Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley epitomises the best in award winning hospitality and deluxe accommodation. Just two hours drive north of Sydney and ideally located on Wine Country Drive, the hotel offers easy access to wineries and attractions and is the perfect place for a carefree break or stimulating meeting. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley offers deluxe king or twin rooms, spa suites and two and three bedroom self-contained villas, allowing plenty of room for you to relax. To complement your stay, why not enjoy our extensive range of on-site facilities? Rejuvenate your body at our Tea Tree Spa, reward your palate at one of our restaurants or bars, enjoy a round of golf on the 18 hole golf course, or relax in the 25 metre outdoor heated pool. You can enjoy the full range of our on-site facilities while the kids are entertained by a selection of supervised kid-friendly activities in the on-site Water Dragons Club. Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley's premier location and dedication to outstanding personal service has secured its reputation as the hotel of choice in the Hunter Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lovedale
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing