We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & extremely overpriced”
Review of Lovedale Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lovedale Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The 2 bedroom cabin was $400 a night. For what we experienced, that was extremely overpriced and we would not return.
The decor was extremely old and tired, the furniture old, dirty and uncomfortable. I could not bring myself to sit on the sofas outside, and the beds were desperately uncomfortable. There is rustic and characterful, and there is simply old and tired. This was the latter,and it is not priced accordingly.
The breakfast hamper included packets of juice, children's cereal and sliced supermarket bread. Not quite the "huge country gourmet hamper" advertised. The coffee in the cupboard appeared so old and the jar so dirty that we did not want to touch it.
Windows were broken as mentioned previously. The cooking utensils were dirty and in the dishwasher when when we arrived. The BBQ required a good clean before we were able to use it.
For $200 per couple you can stay in modern clean accommodation elsewhere that is just as spacious, and conveniently located. We would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

All of our family, seven adults and 2 children stayed here from 10/2/12 to 12/2/12 for the Rod Stewart concert. We were in the barn accommodation and it was just fantastic, it was like staying at an old relatives place, very country. Only thing I would recommend is that they get some fly screens. The position of this cabin was fantastic, right next to the tennis court and pool and the outside table was a great size. Your dog Aussie was beautiful and the kids just loved him. I will definately be back with friends later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Excellent for large groups and good value with friendly staff, this is located conveniently close to wineries. The rooms are jan picked with character, you feel like your visiting a country relatives house.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

After reading the "way over priced" review after paying our deposit we were a bit scared of what we would find BUT were all very pleased to find our 2 bedroom cabin was very Clean and Tidy, yes some of the furniture was old, but that added to the character. The hamper provided gave us enough food with the limited stuff we brought to enable all four of us breakfast for three days so could not complain about that. The two bottles of local wine were a nice surprise too. This place is in a good location to allow exploration of all areas in the Hunter and we all would stay here again and would also recommend to anyone attending a concert at one of the wineries, as bus service provided from the end of the lane was excellent.

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 5 which was a great outlook from the back balcony and nice to sit and chill with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The cabin we stayed in for 2 nights smelt, we almost broke our backs on the flimsy lounge sitting down...the hamper was eggs and bacon that was it...and jucie poppers!
dining room chairs should be an OH&S issue. the dog "ZEN" was not friendly....windows were broken could not open them at all....a huge disapointment all round..dont let the pictures trick you...never will we stay their again ....cabin was $300 a night for weekend thankgod we went on a week day and only payed $150

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank twinkles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Recently had a three night stay in the 3 bedroom cottage for a girls weekend. Cottage very well equiped and spacious. Would recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My fiance and I were so happy with our cottage! What a lovely place and a perfect location in the hunter valley! It is quite a walk to the wineries, but there is a bike service that will drop bikes off at your doorstep. We spent three days biking from winery to winery and it was so wonderful to be in our cozy little cottage!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank misssseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
5.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovedale Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovedale Cottages

Address: 77 Brickmans Lane | Hunter Valley, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range: $149 - $2,811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lovedale Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunter valley accommodation in a private 1 bedroom cabin , 2 b/r cottage or 3 b/r country homestead with your own log fire , large spa & bbq. Free WiFi, tennis, mini golf, cable TV, movies, 9 hole par 29 bush golf course, indoor heated pool for year round swimming & a huge brecky hamper upon arrival. Linen & towels are provided. Unique country style cottages on acerage bordering the Werekata National Park. From your own cottage you can explore the many wineries & attractions nearby including horse riding, hot air ballooning, wine tours, galleries & restaurants. Each cottage is self contained with a well equipped kitchen & bbq. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lovedale Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovedale Cottages Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing