We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit recommended”

Wandin Valley Estate
Ranked #9 of 18 things to do in Lovedale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wandin Valley Estate is situated in the Lovedale area of the lower Hunter Valley, produces wines of premium quality and is a unique tourist destination for visitors. The Estate has a Cellar Door, and offers luxurious accommodation for wedding guests in self-contained Tuscan style villas, swimming pool, tennis court and a country cricket ground overlooked by the gracious Cricketers Pavilion. The Cricketers Pavilion is a purpose built function centre which hosts wedding receptions all year round and overlooks stunning Malbec vines and natural bushland. There are multiple ceremony locations dotted around the estate including the Eucalypt Grove, Pontoon and The Barn.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visit recommended”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had heard a bit about this winery and thought - why not. This turned out to be a highly pleasant experience. The cellar is atmospheric, the staff humorus and knowlegdable and the wines of a high standard. The setting of the winery is also pleasant and the views are worty the visit. The visit was so pleasant that we also booked into the restaurant for a visit the following evening.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank de57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    1
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were a group of eight and although there were two staff working behind the tasting counter I felt we were largely ignored. They both concentrated on one couple and after I tasted one wine I gave up and left. Compared to other wineries we visited, the service was very poor.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Wine, Good Food, Good Country”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The cellar door sales staff are personable and entertaining. The wine is wonderful.

The restaurant produces share plates with a great variety of dishes.

The long driveway passes a cricket pitch, pavilion and function room. There a views of the valley, vines, and kangaroos from all points.

Recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank billthoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideal for weddings”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to wedding here and had a blast. The staff were so helpful and the food was delicious. A really lovely atmosphere for a wedding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werrington NSW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend at a unique venue”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved the cricket pavilion, the location/countryside and the food. We attended a wedding then brunch the next day. Everything was lovely - couldn't have asked for more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wandin Valley Estate also viewed

Lovedale, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Wandin Valley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing