We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a large group”
Review of Ironstone Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ironstone Estate
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect for a large group”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place was perfect for our group of six couples. Every room is almost the same and everyone has their own ensuite - so no squabbles over who gets what room. Plus the lounge room, dining and outdoor furniture are all sized to fit 12.

Location is great - close to wineries but peaceful setting. And the fireplace tops it off.

We had a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jellybeanjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneHindmarsh, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our 6 bedroom, 6 bathroom Lodge. This house is very well suited to 6 couples with everyone having their own ensuites.
Glen and I hope to see you again for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have stayed at Ironstone Lodge on two occasions, once in the summer and once in the winter. Both times we have loved it. Perfectly equipped to accommodate 6 couples with everything you need. It's a great location, close to all the amazing wineries and restaurants. Private and beautifully furnished with all the comforts of home!! We will definitely be staying again and highly recommend to anyone looking for the perfect Hunter Valley getaway.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WilmaFalcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Glen and I are so pleased that you enjoy staying at Ironstone Lodge. We love having fabulous guests like yourself and your friends return for repeat visits. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

i held my 40th birthday here with 9 other friends and it was absolutely perfect!

It's a gorgeous, enormous house that easily sleeps 10 people with 5 double bedrooms. Everything you could possibly need with a fully fitted out farmhouse style kitchen, great bbq area, nice big indoor and outdoor tables to have dinners, pool, 3 bathrooms. Very handy for the vineyards - there are 2 great ones literally down the road. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Located in private grounds so no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timetraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. When I read your review it made me want to stay there ( but I already live at Ironstone Estate). Hopefully we will see you for a return visit.
Kind regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This home was a home away from home. The facilities were amazing, the hospitality was never ending and the owners were very generous. The layout of the house was perfect and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Glen and I look forward to your wonderful group staying again. Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

To celebrate my 60th Birthday seven of us (I wish all 12 invited could have made it) family and friends stayed in the Homestead for the weekend. We had a fabulous weekend of eating, drinking and lots of laughing. The Homestead was so accommodating, there was so much room inside and out, and everything we needed for an enjoyable weekend. It wasn't far to wonderful restaurants and wineries. I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Jan thank you for your wonderful review. You were fabulous guests and I hope you will plan another stay in the near future. Regards Leanne and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We keep returning to Ironstone as it is the perfect spot to go with friends for some relaxation and fun. Highly recommended as a private and scenic destination in the Hunter that is still close enough to all the activities the Hunter is famous for.

Room Tip: Lovely scenic spot and lots of privacy. Great place to go with a group of friends, and beats a hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaB574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Donna, Thank you for your great review and thank you for your repeat visits. Hopefully we will see your wonderful group for another concert weekend.
Regards Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A beautiful property that had everything we needed. Very glad we chose Ironstone Estate and we will definitely be back. The two bottles of wine given to us at check in were a lovely gesture. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Belinda, Thank you so much for your wonderful review . Glen and I are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend away in the Homestead at Ironstone Estate. We hope to see you again. Regards Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.7 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lovedale Cottages
Lovedale Cottages
#3 of 15 in Lovedale
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ironstone Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironstone Estate

Property: Ironstone Estate
Address: 97 Olsen Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales NSW 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ironstone Estate is luxurious Hunter Valley house accommodation for groups. Our two, fully, self-contained houses, the Lodge and the Homestead, are fitted with quality furnishings and are privately located. The houses are on a 45 acre vineyard estate in beautiful Lovedale Hunter Valley. See our last minute special hot deals for the Lodge and the Homestead Just 2 hours from Sydney, our accommodation is nearby to the hustle of Pokolbin and close to some delicious Lovedale restaurants and wineries. Our Hunter Valley accommodation has FIRES in winter and a POOL in summer (only the Homestead has access to the swimming pool). THE LODGE: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •All 6 bedrooms have ensuites •One bedroom and bathroom has disabled facilities • •Not suitable for young children •Outdoor entertaining •Wood fire in winter •Sorry but NO PETS •Laundry. THE HOMESTEAD: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •5 queensized bedrooms •Sofa bed in the second lounge room. 3 Bathrooms •Wood fire in Winter •Swimming pool (for the exclusive use of the Homestead guests as it is attached to the Homestead) and outdoor entertaining •Suitable for children •Sorry but NO PETS •Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ironstone Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ironstone Estate Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing