We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Ironstone Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ironstone Estate
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A beautiful property that had everything we needed. Very glad we chose Ironstone Estate and we will definitely be back. The two bottles of wine given to us at check in were a lovely gesture. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Belinda, Thank you so much for your wonderful review . Glen and I are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend away in the Homestead at Ironstone Estate. We hope to see you again. Regards Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Superb accommodation for our group of 6 'senior' couples. We all had our own ensuite, comfortable sleeping arrangements and wonderful loungeroom, kitchen and barbeque areas. A chair for everyone to sit together, either in the lovely lounges, TV area, dining area or BBQ area outside. Such a lot of thought and considerable has gone into this property. We attended a concert at the vines, but we look forward to our next stay where we can explore the wineries at our doorstep. Thank you to our hosts Leanne and Glen for considering all our needs.

Room Tip: All rooms are similiar size with their own ensuite. There is a larger room for disabled access and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sightseerers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you Rosemary for your wonderful review. Glen and I are so pleased that your lovely group enjoyed their stay at Ironstone Lodge. Having your own private bus to and from Jazz in the Vines worked out really well for you. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Lodge was a fantastic place for a weekend getaway for our family. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. Sitting on the verandah and having a wine at 4 was beautiful. The Lodge was great for extended families or just a group of friends as every couple had their own ensuite. It was easy to find and only 2 hours from Sydney. We were within 15 to 20 minutes of wineries that we chose to visit. Great place, highly recommended by all of us.

Room Tip: We chose bedroom close to main living - not as far a walk up the hallway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Wendy thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Lodge. The 6 bedroom, 6 bathroom Lodge works extremely well with couples with each couple having their own bathroom and then the large kitchen/dining/entertaining area to enjoy as a group. We hope that you plan another visit to Ironstone Estate and maybe try the wonderful cellar doors in Lovedale. From my conversation with you the cellar doors that you visited were at Mount View and Hermitage Road, which like the rest of the Hunter have some amazing cellar doors. Next time please try our closest cellar doors which are Capercallie and Allandale Winery which are only a two minute drive from Ironstone. Further along Lovedale Road you will find some wonderful cellar doors and restaurants. Driving for a few minutes in the opposite direction you will find the Crowne Plaza and also the Champagne House which is a great place for breakfast. Kind regards Leanne & Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Ironstone Estate (the Lodge) was an amazing stay. The home was well stocked for a group of 12 and in a serene, peaceful location. Leanne gave us a warm welcome on arrival and once we unloaded the car the relaxing begun....highly recommended for larger groups.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Hello Ivan and thank you for your wonderful review. Glen and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge for your birthday weekend. It was a great idea to have an in house dinner party with a chef and wait staff. A great way to celebrate !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation. The sleeping arrangements are great for a larger group. location is fantastic only minutes to the big wineries. Highly recommend Ironstone Estate for anyone's stay in Lovedale.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richo278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Glen & I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found Ironstone Estate to be so well positioned for visiting the nearby wineries. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Leanne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Perfect..Right from the warm welcome when we arrived, Ironstone estate was what we envisaged. Our first time stay, but will now be a tradition. It was private,relaxing and comfortable for all. A memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Wow ! Thank you Jason for such an amazing review. Glen and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge. See you next visit. Kind regards Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have a large group of friends and we travel to the Hunter Valley every 2 years to the wineries. We have stayed at the Ironstone Estate twice now and all of us are extremely happy with the accommodation that Leanne and her husband provide. The house is always in immaculate condition, the rooms are clean with a modern bathroom and a beautiful outlook of the vineyards. We can highly recommend to stay at Ironstone Estate and look forward to returning for our next Hunter Valley trip.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are set up the same and all have a comfortable bed, with linen and towels provided too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H, Owner at Ironstone Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for putting a smile of my face. It is so great to read such a wonderful review of the weekends that you have stayed in our 6 bedroom, 6 bathroom Lodge. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to include in your review how immaculately clean our Lodge is as Glen & I and our wonderful cleaner take pride in what we present to our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovedale hotels
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
2.4 mi away
Cottages on Lovedale
Cottages on Lovedale
#11 of 16 in Lovedale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bluebush Estate
Bluebush Estate
#2 of 16 in Lovedale
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lovedale Cottages
Lovedale Cottages
#3 of 16 in Lovedale
81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adina Vineyard & Olive Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ironstone Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironstone Estate

Address: 97 Olsen Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales NSW 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range: $859 - $971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ironstone Estate is luxurious Hunter Valley house accommodation for groups. Our two, fully, self-contained houses, the Lodge and the Homestead, are fitted with quality furnishings and are privately located. The houses are on a 45 acre vineyard estate in beautiful Lovedale Hunter Valley. See our last minute special hot deals for the Lodge and the Homestead Just 2 hours from Sydney, our accommodation is nearby to the hustle of Pokolbin and close to some delicious Lovedale restaurants and wineries. Our Hunter Valley accommodation has FIRES in winter and a POOL in summer (only the Homestead has access to the swimming pool). THE LODGE: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •All 6 bedrooms have ensuites •One bedroom and bathroom has disabled facilities • •Not suitable for young children •Outdoor entertaining •Wood fire in winter •Sorry but NO PETS •Laundry. THE HOMESTEAD: •Accommodates up to 12 guests •5 queensized bedrooms •Sofa bed in the second lounge room. 3 Bathrooms •Wood fire in Winter •Swimming pool (for the exclusive use of the Homestead guests as it is attached to the Homestead) and outdoor entertaining •Suitable for children •Sorry but NO PETS •Laundry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ironstone Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ironstone Estate Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing