We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

The Deck Cafe Lovedale
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Lovedale
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Australian, Danish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Deck Cafe, located at Gartelmann Wines in Lovedale, The Hunter Valley, is a stylish restaurant-style cafe, open for breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. The cafe provides a diverse and delightful menu complimented by Gartelmann wines and a generous range of beverages and Piazza Doro coffee.
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a lovely lunch on the deck overlooking the dam, great food all freshly prepared and service was excellent, enjoyed it so much we went back for breakfast the following morning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hubblybubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy N, Owner at The Deck Cafe Lovedale, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Magpie Café, we love return customers. We go out of our way to personalise service and remember faces and information customers share with us. Glad your visit in Lovedale went well and we look forward to greeting you again next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    124
    47
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Nice food, great OJ and good value”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very basic breakfast, but very friendly service. Nothing to write home about otherwise.

(there is not anything else to say to make up at least 50 characters of review)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wolf-ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy N, Owner at The Deck Cafe Lovedale, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you, our oranges are sourced fresh from the markets and squeezed by hand the old fashioned way. A toasted sandwich is a basic breakfast, but we do offer a variety of other options. Eggs, fried, poached or scrambled, corn fritters with smoked salmon or bacon. Our coffees and loose leaf teas are also very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pre-wedding Dinner”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

From our first meeting with Joy at Magpie Cafe to discuss the possibility of having a small private function here for our pre-wedding dinner with guests already in town we were made feel at ease and very welcome with Joy.
Joy was very helpful with making suggestions to accommodate what we were looking for with regards to the food buffet. By the time we got home, emails were awaiting us with food suggestions and options and replies to our questions were very prompt.
On the night of our dinner, this excellent service was extended to the beautiful food we were about to eat. The food was exceptionally tasty, plentiful and nicely served on the buffet.
The setting on the deck overlooking the dam and the winery and the lovely noises of the frogs and the great outdoors was beautiful. Many of our guests commented on the freshness and taste of the food and we have no hesitations recommending Magpie Cafe as a great place for a small function, thanks Joy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelenaWhitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy N, Owner at The Deck Cafe Lovedale, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We really enjoy catering for groups and are pleased you enjoyed the experience. We find the more effort put into personalising the menu, the more enjoyable it is for all. I really love cooking different things other than the menu staples of the café, and often have blackboard specials that allow me to cook some favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great cafe for service, food and setting”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Cafe set on the dam at Gartlemann Winery. Friendly, great food... The pumpkin salad and the German sausages is sooo good and it's a fantastic way to have lunch , sip a glass of wine and just relax. Joy and Mike look after you so well and the coffee is good too. Gluten free friendly the chocolate log is excellent

Helpful?
Thank Aussierob43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy N, Owner at The Deck Cafe Lovedale, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We change the salads regularly to provide variety. A number of our dishes are gluten free and we also try to cater for vegetarians.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great ill cafe”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quality coffee, nice vineyard and wine selection, run by an older couple who love the hunter and appreciatethierwines..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Cafe Lovedale also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Deck Cafe Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing