We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent delights”

Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SABOR DESSERT BAR Pokolbin - 2342 Broke Road, Pokolbin Thursday 10am-4:30pm Friday 10am-4:30pm Saturday 10am-9:30pm Sunday 10am-4:30pm Monday 10am-4:30pm Offering the Hunter's largest range of desserts from classical to colourful and inventive, paired with local wines and dessert wines. Indulge in our multi-award winning Portuguese Chocolate Mousse, Handmade Chocolates, Macarons and individual desserts such as the Red Velvet & Berry Cheesecake or Double Chocolate and Caramel Wave, in what will be a culinary experience you will not soon forget. Our dessert bar also offers a large range of gluten free alternatives, scones, croissants and cheese plate as well as barista made coffee to enjoy in our informal restaurant or to takeaway.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Indulgent delights”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have just visited Sabor for the second time in three months, and both visits have been delightful.

The venue is small, with a display, retail and ordering space, and tables placed around the verandah. The location is nestled in the Lovedale district of the Hunter Valley vineyards, so it is well placed for those who fancy a chocolate or dessert treat between tastings, or perhaps after a main meal at one of the many fine restaurants in the area.

The menu is extensive, so making your choice takes time - sharing is highly recommended, but beware, most of the selections are very rich!

The staff are friendly and accommodating, and do everything they can to make your visit comfortable and enjoyable.

Well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    102
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is the best chocolatier in the Hunter.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

They have an amazing salted caramel cake, and then everything else. If your heart has a dream that can only be realised with delicious treats, then this is the place you need to be.

They also have a great range of teas - black, green, peppermint, just everything!

I have not had savoury items here, but friends have seemed happy with what is offered.

And they have a really friendly dog who just wants to play ball with you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

little hidden gem in hunter valley. nice selection of dessert. a must try when visiting hunter valley

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Chocolate lovers heaven”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Took my kids (13 and 10) here for a birthday treat. Was blown away by the variety and number of options available for desserts of all kinds. My daughter made a list on her phone so that she could narrow down her selection plus have a list ready for her next visit. The desserts were divine. It was nice to have a chocolate dessert that tasted of chocolate and not just look like a chocolate dessert. The staff were really friendly and the service was quick. There are savoury options available too. I liked the fact that the kids were welcome. There are many restaurants in the valley that make kids feel a tad unwelcome. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A huge range of quality desserts if you fancy something sweet any time of the day. They also have cheese platters which I would love to have been able to try. I had a chocolate and pear tart which was beautiful and a cup of tea (Tea Drops). I loved the tea they used so much I went looking for it in the village to bring back home.

Definately worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TajAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing