We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing dessert selection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED - MOVED

Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: SABOR DESSERT BAR Pokolbin - 2342 Broke Road, Pokolbin Thursday 10am-4:30pm Friday 10am-9:30pm Saturday 10am-9:30pm Sunday 10am-4:30pm Monday 10am-4:30pm Offering the Hunter's largest range of desserts from classical to colourful and inventive, paired with local wines and dessert wines. Indulge in our multi-award winning Portuguese Chocolate Mousse, Handmade Chocolates, Macarons and individual desserts such as the Red Velvet & Berry Cheesecake or Double Chocolate and Caramel Wave, in what will be a culinary experience you will not soon forget. Our dessert bar also offers a large range of gluten free alternatives, scones, croissants and cheese plate as well as barista made coffee to enjoy in our informal restaurant or to takeaway.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing dessert selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The desserts in this place are to die for! They serve light lunches too (but way waste valuable tummy space), but it's the selection of desserts that will have you drooling. There are so many different options- and if you can't decide there are a number of different tasting plates. The chocolate mousse is incredible!
The only down side is I have moved to a house ten minutes from this place and it is fast becoming my favourite place to eat in the area- I can feel the kilos creeping in just thinking about it!
The property itself is very scenic with views onto a little lake/dam. Well worth the drive into Lovedale for!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    102
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
884 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Great treats for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Come here with an empty stomach! There is way too much to tempt your taste buds with.

Service was great and freindly although a little slow. Its in a nice little location with ample parking.

As for the food, well we actually came in for a bit of lunch. Quiche were great. But the heroes were the dessert platters, waffle and milkshakes! All were good.

*We came here with kids, and it was hard to keep them amused for a while. It would be nice if there was a little play park or something. But thats just a suggestion

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Light lunch elsewhere to save room for dessert here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived later in the day and couldn't have asked for better treatment by the staff, we were still very kindly welcomed. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and we had early advice in case our selections were unavailable. The presentation was no less than impressive. It was great to chat with the owners about the local history in the area, and good to hear so much support for the local wineries. Wines were well-matched to the desserts, but also the option to choose your own selection. It came highly recommended to visit, and we would do the same. Currently open Friday to Monday

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gluten free eat your heart out!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This dessert bar is friendly towards gluten free . Party time!!! Poppyseed and chocolate cake,tarts,mousse to name a few. The menu states what is G/F and the staff are very helpful in guiding you towards good choices. Also the peanutbutter cookie biscuits are a must!! Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Aussierob43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sabor - a Hunter delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fernando and Renata are delightful hosts at their exquisite dessert bar. What a treat! With a choice of over 50 unique desserts, accompanied by a glass of wine or a great coffee, in a delightful country setting, you can't ask for much more. It is getting very busy so it may be wise to book. You can also get a light lunch - we love the antipasto plate. A delight for the eyes and the taste buds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor in the Hunter Dessert Bar - MOVED also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing