We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What fun.....”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lovedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wandin Hunter Valley
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
331 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“What fun.....”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love going here to see our dear friend, Kathryn! However the experience is made even more special with such a beautiful location. The restaurant is a must. Great imaginative sharing plates. Try the salmon rolls...
Don't forget Wandin is a winery! The new wine maker is showing great prowess... Great range and the Viognier is very special. Enjoy.....

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Arrived tonight half an hour late to a booking made on the day due to poor location and lack of directions nevertheless only us to blame for this. Given no choice suggestively wanting a table inside to watch the NRL Grand final, the 9 of us were seated away from the crowd and of course away from any sight of the TV only to hear chants of footy fans. Fair enough no complaints other from my uncle - big NRL fan. The table was situated towards the back of the diner enclosed by plastic blinds hoping to keep the unwanted pests out of reach with diners. However luckily for us the table was surrounded by 3 ceiling lights which had in fact attracted the unwanted pests being moths, mosquitoes, Beatles the size of a 10 cents piece and even pests you wouldn't know the name of. Being attracted to the lights, bugs would continuously drop from the ceiling. And you can imagine while trying to down a $26 Szechuan king prawn dish which consists of roughly 7 prawns and was suggested to order 2 and a half servings costing us $65 for 17 prawns feeding the 9 of us. Working at a Chinese restaurant which charges $15.80 for 13 king prawns being the same dish you can see why I've raised this up. To me if you're charging this money you'd better hope the food or service is good if not both. Okay fair enough over charge customers for dishes not my problem to deal with. Got to the second course and by this time we've counted individually about 12 pests which have invaded dishes and beverages luckily water(a bit easier to inspect). Uncle having the sense of humor telling the table don't worry extra protein. Then when the 10 cents sized beattle flew on to my plate of pasta that's when i approached the manager. Manager being understanding as it wasn't his fault neway finds us a table inside and offers a taste of wine as a compensation. Really? A glass of wine at Hunter valley and a bill totalling at $400 with everything listed that we ordered. I'd have more fun and receive better customer service spending less than $100 at a local MacDonalds. After he poured the wine that was the last i had heard from him, we were simply just left to be for the rest of the night. Mind you we had to even go to the counter to order our desserts, and of course this is whilst only 4 tables were in the restaurant. Other than that rest of the night passed on smoothly with some quality dishes. Would definitely never recommend this diner personally and have forwarded this review to other food guides and reviews. I am not a competitor or am out to get this business but simply speaking from this dining experience. Not what you're expecting from the price you pay is what i'd rate Wandin Hunter Valley. 2 stars for trying. Good luck.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a wedding, the villas were large and spacious, with 4 ensuit bedrooms in some. The grounds perfect for taking wedding photos with the vines in the background, and the occasional kangaroo or 13 at one point. Our only drawback was no washing machine or dishwasher, other villas had these and after holding a BBQ for 45 people (villas big enough) would have appreciated the dishwasher. This place is a winery so tasting on offer and restaurant on site. Had a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We wanted everything to be perfect for our daughter's wedding and it was. The Wandin Valley Estate experience was very special. The stunning location, beautiful and varied choices for the ceremony site, a gorgeous cricket pavilion for the reception and plentiful on-site accommodation made this an ideal venue for a weekend wedding. The staff were so wonderful to work with. They were helpful, cheerful and aimed to please, from the first visit to when we packed up from a splendid weekend away. We enjoyed good food and excellent Wandin Estate wine throughout the weekend at the restaurant and at the wedding reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalamata13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We eat regularly at the Hunter Valley and this restaurant goes straight to the top of the list perfect upmarket tapas style food great service and exceptionally great value surroundings just stunning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sheenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Four of us went for a brief lunch and the only comment we had was excellent service and excellent food. The most difficult decision was to select which tapas-style dishes to have in the short time we had available to us. There are so many restaurants who could learn from the experience we had there. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch again today at Wandin Valley. Brought additional visitors with us - we were 8 in all.

Absolutely fantastic pre-lunch service from Catherine, and the actual lunch of Divvy Dishes was enjoyed by all.

Amazing duck, salmon, wagu beef, gnocchi, and other plates were enjoyed by all. Washed down with the house moscato, everyone enjoyed it immensely and we loved the bill - amazingly affordable.

We cannot more highly recommend this site for any visitor to the Hunter Valledy

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lovedale hotels
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
2.2 mi away
Lovedale Cottages
Lovedale Cottages
#2 of 15 in Lovedale
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bluebush Estate
Bluebush Estate
#1 of 15 in Lovedale
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adina Vineyard & Olive Grove
1.4 mi away
Cottages on Lovedale
Cottages on Lovedale
#11 of 15 in Lovedale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wandin Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wandin Hunter Valley

Property: Wandin Hunter Valley
Address: 12 Wilderness Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Wandin Valley Estate)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wandin Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wandin Hunter Valley has 5 separate cottages available for accommodation. Each accommodation is entirely self contained, and set in the tranquility of bush and vineyard surrounds.All guests are invited to make full use of the properties facilities including the swimming pool, tennis court, and licensed cafe. Additionally everyone is treated to a dedicated wine tasting in the cellar door to learn the ins and outs of our celebrated 5-star wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wandin Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing