We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ah, the serenity!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ah, the serenity!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this property for 2 nights and loved every minute of it....from the peaceful surroundings to the lovely pool and close proximity to a multitude of wineries. As we were staying for 2 nights, we were given a lovely cheese & wine platter which was great as we had driven quite a distance that day and were starving. A swim in the pool was a great way to unwind and wash away the stress of a long day. Breakfast provisions were provided for the following morning so we didn't have to go looking for somewhere to eat first thing. We were right in the middle of wine country and it was easy to get to Cessnock or Branxton. The amenities were clean and the staff more than helpful in finding places to dine and had a good knowledge of the local area. We enjoyed eating our breakfast in the common room which was next door and watching the balloons hovering on the horizon.
We will definitely return for a longer time and have no hesitation in recommending this establishment

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as there are only 6 of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynCanberraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Sovereign hills country lodge is in a superb setting. From the rooms it has great views over the hunter valley. The rooms are spacious and clean, with good bathroom facilities. breakfast is provided in the rooms - cereal, eggs, juice and bread. There is a kitchen and lounge facility as par t of the complex where you can cook, otherwise they provide a toaster, egg broiler and kettle in your room.
I am a caeliac, and apart from the eggs and juice, they were unable to cater for my gluten free needs, so if you have any dietary requirements, you will need to sort this for yourself.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful and weren't the sort that got in your way or anything. there is a tennis court if that is what you like, and a swimming pool. Sovereign hills make there own wine and sparkling, but we were not there when the tasting room was open.

The location is a little out of the way as far as the rest of the vineyards are concerned, but there are some wineries on the same road as well has some restaurants and cafe's.

The only negative, and this is being picky, is that the walls are thin, and as we were in the room next to the lounge, one morning we did have to put up with another couple/family having a loud breakfast and could hear every word they said, so perhaps when you book, you may prefer to try and get one of the rooms away from the lounge which is between rooms 3 and 4.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzawebbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sovereign Hill in mid May 2013. We really enjoyed the accommodation, and as we were the only ones there, had the whole place to ourselves. They supply a breakfast in the room which is adequate and have a communal kitchen and lounge area. There is a fireplace in the lounge area ready to light if required.The rooms are spacious and have everything you require. Even heated towel racks. The communal kitchen is great because you can go into town and buy supplies and do your own catering, which is what we did.

The views were great, especially in the afternoon when the sun was going down and the kangaroos come out. We went on a wine tour and the tour leader stated that he thought Sovereign Hill had one of the best views in the Hunter Valley. Sovereign Hill is in a quiet area, but that gives it it's character.

What I liked about this place is that the people that run it are not in your face, and if you require assistance you can give them a call. They leave you to your own devices which is what we like. It is a great place, and we already have friends who will be staying here on our advice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were a booking of four couples and this was our second visit after a nine year period.
The accommodation is more Motel type, it is well sited atop a steep hill, has six rooms, a common room, all with glorious views over the valley and the.vineyards.

The Rooms are simply furnished but are clean and spacious and include breakfast provisions along with: toasters, egg cookers, crockery, cutlery and tea/coffee making facilities.

Our group also appreciated the ability to prepare and share meals in the well equipped communal kitchen and attractive dining area. The BBQ was used extensively for cooking breakfast, however the BBQ is getting a bit old and needs up-dating. If you want a full breakfast, while eggs are provided, you will need to stock up with bacon, tomatoes etc., yourself.

Overall, Sovereign Hill Country Lodge provides good value for money, particularly on weekday stays.

The location at Lovedale is quiet and just far enough away from the tourist masses but close enough to be able to get to and enjoy the vineyards and restaurants at Pokolin and other sites around the Hunter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

When booking I was impressed by the good reviews and reasonable mid-week rates for this accommodation. I booked for a group of 4 and on arrival we were all impressed by the glorious views over the valley and the.vineyards. Rooms are simply furnished but are clean and spacious with all the expected hotel amenities. Breakfast provisions are generous and rooms contain toasters, egg cookers, crockery, cutlery and tea/coffee making facilities. Our group also appreciated the ability to prepare and share meals in the well equipped communal kitchen and attractive dining area. A BBQ, tennis court and pool are also available for the use of guests. The location is good, the Cessnock shopping area, the Hunter Valley Gardens, various restaurants and wineries are within a 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This accommodation must have the best views in the Hunter Valley. We woke up early to watch the hot air ballons float over the valley - it was magical.
Unfortunatley we did not feel that we got value for money as we stayed over a weekend and the prices are inflated then (which we were not aware of as we just planned an itinerary which meant we were in the Hunter Valley area over a weekend). I would only go again and recommend for a mid week stay unless money is no option to you. Our room was tired looking and needed some freshening up. The pool area had overgrown with weeds and didn't appear to be looked after.
The breakfast that was left in the room was OK and there is a communal room with a kitchen that you can use too.

Room Tip: All rooms have the marvellous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This country style Motel has only six rooms but has lots of charm and things going for it. Great Views as it is high on a hill in a quiet country road. It has a pool , common room , air and all normal needs. we saw kangaroos in the orchard acros the road and on the way to and from the inn. The only minus was a very squeaky bed..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertandCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Country Lodge

Property: Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
Address: 370 Talga Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovereign Hill Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge overlooking the picturesque Brokenback Ranges, Sovereign Hill Country Lodge offers a home away from home in the Hunter Valley. Your beautiful Lovedale accommodation boasts superb views of Hunter Valley Wine Country, with each room overlooking a valley of vineyards framed by the majestic backdrop of Brokenback Mountains.Sovereign Hill offers comfortable motel style accommodation, with a choice of queen rooms, king or two single beds. Each room features private patios looking out to mountain or vineyard views and in room breakfast. Take time to relax around the outdoor swimming pool or tennis court or why not wind down at the end of the day with a private wine tasting from our own vineyard. In winter, enjoy sitting by the fire in the comfort of the communal lounge/dining/kitchen or in summer, relax with a glass of crisp Hunter wine while cooking your own barbecue in the private Sovereign Hill courtyard. Enjoy the comfort of the communal living room. Perfect for preparing your own meals, sharing time with other friends or family or just relaxing by the fire. Sovereign Hill offers guests the opportunity to cool off at the end of a hot summer's day in the sparkling private pool. NEW Pool Pavilion at Sovereign Hill for your relaxation!!! Everyone loves a game of tennis and here at Sovereign Hill, everyone can join in. The shady courtyard with outdoor tables and barbecue facilities means that family and friends can relax together at the end of the day to share a great meal. A great option for those wishing to stay home and try the gourmet delights and Hunter Valley wine purchased during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sovereign Hill Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing