We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Sovereign Hill Country Lodge Rothbury, located in the Hunter Valley.
The rooms were very well appointed, with air-con, lcd tv, comfy chairs for watching tv, and the best shower one could wish for. Breakfast was included in the rate and makings were provided, and consisted of Eggs, yoghurt, orange juice, bread, butter, jam, cereal milk and of course, tea and coffee making items. There was also a covered patio outside each of the six guest rooms, with a small outdoor table and chairs which overlooked the vineyard on the hillside below. A large covered bbq area with tables and chairs for guests use was at the back of the lodge.
There was a common room, complete with separate kitchen, again, very well appointed with a family size fridge, stove, dishwasher and most kitchen appliances, and plenty of pots, pans etc. It was a real home away from home. So tranquil and away from the hustle and bustle.
Next to the lodge building there was a full size tennis court, with tennis racquets and balls left in the common room for anyone who wished to get a bit of exercise. A swimming pool with cabana was also located in the grounds. The owners were very helpful, providing us with local information and maps.
I would consider this to be the best value stay in the Hunter Valley, and will be very happy to stay there again on any future visits to the Hunter region.

Room Tip: All six guest rooms overlook the vineyard and have great views of the surrounding country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 14 week old baby and I stayed here for a weekend.
The accommodation was lovely and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The view from the room was amazing!
The shower was fantastic too, it had great pressure!
There is a pool and tennis court as well as BBQ. There is also a shared kitchen and dining room.
Overall a lovely place

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacinta-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hunter Valley
1
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Awesome views over hunter wine region yet secluded from busy roads. Room was cosy but tidy and had more than you could ask for as a make-your-own breakfast included in the price. Walls were a bit thin and could hear neighbour's muffled voices. Would definitely stay again regardless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wanting to see a bit of the Hunter Valley, but not wanting the exhorbitant prices of many hotels there, I found this little gem perched on a hill in the countryside of Rothbury. This is owned by a lovely couple and there are only 3 rooms which are basic but very comfortable, clean, and with the 'conveniences' most of us want when staying in hotels/other i.e. television, aircondtioning, small fridge...
.... [ this was hidden in a cupboard, so if owner hadn't told me I had a fridge, I would not have known where to look for it. However, I am certainly not complaining, as if you are fairly easy to please, then you will find it, along with working out how to use the egg boiling machine. I have NO IDEA why people leave a negative review when these simple things can be worked out] ....
... kettle, toaster, egg boiling appliance .
If you are wanting the razzle dazzle of a flash and large hotel,with modern decor, and all the bells and whistles, then this is not for you. But if you're wanting a lovely place to stay with STUNNING and BREATHTAKING views of the vineyards and countryside, along with kookaburras laughing in the morning, and tranquility, then this IS THE ONE FOR YOU.
$99 for a night is a bargain in this expensive area, and breakfast was included. Breakfast was provided in my room,WHICH YOU DO HAVE TO PREPARE YOURSELF [ so you're not sitting in a dining room and being waited on here], but that was totally fine with me. They supplied yoghurt, eggs, toast, vegemite, jams, tea, juice, cereal,milk, which was more than enough for me on my own [ was I supposed to share this?].
The owner is friendly, so very helpful [ she supplied me with a map to keep, which wasn't expected and so appreciated] and was a pleasure to meet. I would definitely stay there again.
It was about 25 minutes drive to get into the heart of the HUNTER VALLEY, but once again, I am not complaining, as I LOVED the setting, LOVED the scenery, LOVED saving enough on one nights accomodation to buy some amazing local wines, and I was very comfortable in my room.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms here, and they all face the most stunning scenery, so it really wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixie9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Sovereign Hill is in a beautiful spot and we had chosen it as we really wanted a complete get-away for some tranquility. Initially we had some reservations after the owners accepted our booking and then informed us they would be away - so when we arrived there was no-one there and the whole place was deserted. It was a bit disconcerting on a cold winter's afternoon but after some phoning to the agent (who I thank for her help), a friend of the owners arrived to help us, went away and got us some firewood, lit a fire - and we also thank him for the bottle of wine he gave us! What is commendable at Sovereign Hill is that there is a central dining/sitting area with a kitchen (and a fire) between the 6 letting rooms. The room itself was comfortable, bathroom excellent - and the daily breakfast provided of juice, yoghurt, eggs and bread more than adequate. What is also commendable is that the owner arranged for our room to be serviced daily, fridge restocked and towels refreshed - and that is worth a lot of merit. This is therefore, in our books, a true B & B, providing this service. Though on a four night stay, I would like to have had the sheets changed half-way through.
It cannot be denied that Sovereign Hill offers excellent value for money; a uniquely tranquil get-away, with wonderful views and the opportunity to sit by a roaring fire in the evening enjoying the whole atmosphere of the place. It offers easy access to all that the Hunter Valley has to offer with lovely little individual patios outside the rooms complete with table and chairs plus a back barbeque area. It is all most recommendable.
The owners did return the evening before we left and did not come to meet us - leaving early the day we vacated the property we went away with fond memories of the place - glorious in the winter and surely superb in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marigoldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved our stay here!
Our room was clean, comfortable, and truly felt like a country lodge. The back door opened up to a small patio, beyond which was the vineyard. We could watch the sun rise over the vineyards each morning from inside the room.

We were welcomed with a platter of cheese, crackers, and dried apricots upon our arrival. We were also provided with eggs, bread, and cereal for making a simple breakfast every day. There is a shared kitchen and common area that also faces the valley.

This lodge is a bit away from the more popular wineries in Hunter Valley. Very peaceful, a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank eIaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
2.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
5.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Country Lodge

Address: 370 Talga Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range: $96 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovereign Hill Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge overlooking the picturesque Brokenback Ranges, Sovereign Hill Country Lodge offers a home away from home in the Hunter Valley. Your beautiful Lovedale accommodation boasts superb views of Hunter Valley Wine Country, with each room overlooking a valley of vineyards framed by the majestic backdrop of Brokenback Mountains.Sovereign Hill offers comfortable motel style accommodation, with a choice of queen rooms, king or two single beds. Each room features private patios looking out to mountain or vineyard views and in room breakfast. Take time to relax around the outdoor swimming pool or tennis court or why not wind down at the end of the day with a private wine tasting from our own vineyard. In winter, enjoy sitting by the fire in the comfort of the communal lounge/dining/kitchen or in summer, relax with a glass of crisp Hunter wine while cooking your own barbecue in the private Sovereign Hill courtyard. Enjoy the comfort of the communal living room. Perfect for preparing your own meals, sharing time with other friends or family or just relaxing by the fire. Sovereign Hill offers guests the opportunity to cool off at the end of a hot summer's day in the sparkling private pool. NEW Pool Pavilion at Sovereign Hill for your relaxation!!! Everyone loves a game of tennis and here at Sovereign Hill, everyone can join in. The shady courtyard with outdoor tables and barbecue facilities means that family and friends can relax together at the end of the day to share a great meal. A great option for those wishing to stay home and try the gourmet delights and Hunter Valley wine purchased during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sovereign Hill Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Country Lodge Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing