We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lovedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This turned out to be a highlight of our time away. We thought that this place looked good from the website but it turned out to be even better than expected. The hosts were very welcoming on our arrival, but left us a a discreet distance during our stay, so that we felt completely private. Plenty of information was available in our cottage and we really appreciated the insider's tips about which restaurants and cellar doors to try during our stay (we loved Leaves and Fishes just down the road).

As others have said the viewsover the valley were amazing and we were lucky enough to experience a beautiful sunset from our deck. We would most definitely recommend this place to anyone - and hope that one day we will have time to go back ourselves. And nearly forgot the kangaroos which were absolutely delightful and provided endless entertainment -all from our own cottage!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amron18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was just the place we had been looking for to enjoy the best of the Hunter wine region in Australia. We stayed here as part of a trip up the East Coast and it was so refreshing to enjoy in somewhere so special after a number of the usual hotels. We really felt we were part of the whole wine experience with the vineyard just below our cottage and it was such a pleasure to wake up and see the mist over the vines and the valley from our bedroom window.

The cottage is of a very high standard and we were amazed when we walked in as it is decorated so beautifully. Everything you needed had been thought about, and the owners were also very helpful with recommendations for where to go etc. We felt like we didn't want to go anywhere because the place itself was so great to stay in!

Would really recommend this place- such a refreshing change!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiens90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We consider ourselves very lucky to have found Blackwattle. My fiancé and I arrived to Sydney a few days earlier, from San Francisco, to visit some of his family. We drove to the Hunter for a few days of relaxation mid-week. Blackwattle far exceeded our expectations. The cottages were gorgeous, the provisions, delicious, and the whole view and surroundings, breathtaking. We considered canceling our other reservations on the coast to stay another night, in hindsight, that is exactly what we should have done. Beyond its beauty, we have other reasons for considering this place a true blessing. It was from the deck of Number One, as the sun was setting, that Mark proposed marriage to me. I emphatically said, "Yes!" We will be back, without question. Thank you, Blackwattle.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

What can I say about Blackwattle except that everything went way beyond our expectations. We found this place after extensive research on the web as it seemed to offer just what we were looking for. It was even better than we hoped – a beautiful setting amongst the grape vines, views of the mountains, huge lounge and living area (much bigger than it looks on the website) and a great deck where we spent many happy hours catching up with our Australian friends who stayed with us (and the Hunter Valley wine!)

There are only two cottages which are both new and we stayed in the two bedroom. It is very private – especially the deck – and you are in your own little world while still being close to all the good wineries and restaurant. The bedrooms were huge with big windows to look out at the view and each bedroom had its own ensuite. The hosts were lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcome and looked after, while leaving us in complete privacy to do our own thing. Our Australian friends have already rebooked to come again – they said it was the best place they have ever stayed in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

My husband & I stayed at Blackwattle Luxury Retreats for 2 nights. The location was great and the views from the retreat were just amazing. I never imagined kangaroos would be bouncing past my bedroom window.

The breakfast hamper was very generous and of excellent quality as was their niche, white, Verdelho wine, straight from their own vineyard that wish I was drinking now! We did however buy an additional 2 bottles but unfortunately only 1 made it back to the UK!

If you do get the opportunity to stay in The Hunter Valley I can highly recommend Blackwattle for quality accommodation and first class service.

During our stay we took advantage of the Tyrells Vineyard Tour which for $5.00 was amazing value and extremely informative.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HerRubyship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
6.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
10.8 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
153 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwattle Luxury Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwattle Luxury Retreats

Property: Blackwattle Luxury Retreats
Address: 169 Talga Rd | Hunter Valley, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SET ON 28 ACRES AND A BOUTIQUE VINEYARD IN THE HEART OF HUNTER VALLEY WINE COUNTRY NSW AUSTRALIA, BLACKWATTLE OFFERS TWO EXCLUSIVE DESIGNER RETREATS. THE SUNSET RETREAT: The perfect place for a romantic escape for 2! Nestled in it's own private garden, the one bedroom Sunset Retreat is fully self contained and has a separate king size bedroom, deep soak bath and combustion wood fire. The large deck is the perfect place to sit and take in the sunsets and stunning views of the Brokenback Mountain Range. THE VINEYARD RETREAT: Beautifully designed to accommodate one or two couples, the two bedroom open plan Vineyard Retreat overlooks the Blackwattle vineyard and park like grounds. There is plenty of room on the large deck to chill out and watch the kangaroos or sip on a wine and take in the fabulous mountain views. Both Retreats are beautifully appointed and have king size beds with crisp quality linen. The kitchens have full cooking facilities, complimentary specialty teas, plunger coffee and condiments. Eco friendly bathroom products, handmade soaps and a bottle of Hunter Valley premium wine are all included. Blackwattle is an adults only venue and is located only 5 to 10 minutes from restaurants, cellar doors and all concert venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwattle Luxury Retreats Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing