We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bluebush Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluebush Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a very friendly and helpful welcome by Linda and Debbie (?). They helped us select a great place to have dinner and booked our wine school for the next day.

Our room was very comfortable and clean. The whole place was very inviting and the surrounds were so peaceful.

Our stay was too short (we stayed for 1 night, midweek) and we hope to visit longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoPeasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Can't fault the service, the cleanliness, the welcome, the convenience and the setting. Although a little bit tired, the facilities were fine for the price we paid [mid-week living social deal, 2 nights $157.00 with a bottle and breakfast ]. Will revisit.

Room Tip: ask for one looking over the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Celebrated our 40th Wedding anniversary at Bluebush Estate. Stayed for 5 days and we had a wonderful time. Lovely setting and rooms beautifully decorated. The owners and staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. Definitely want to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitaemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We tried booking accommodation in the Hunter only a few days before the long Easter long weekend and only wanted to stay one night so our options were mainly pubs in Cessnock or motels in Singleton and Maitland (30 - 40 minutes from Pokolbin) - then Bluebush Estate popped up with great reviews, a central location and almost to good to be true.

The room was a decent size and the place was spotlessly clean. There was no keys for us to lose and entrance is via. a code which the owner SMSed us. There was a thorough welcome book which included everything from the number of a 24/7 dentist to a taxi if you wanted a boozey dinner. The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to cover all bases and it shows. The house is well decorated and there is a dining room, lounge room, outdoor dining area and pool to relax. We didn't spend too much time in the room so it wasn't an issue. We didn't see the staff until we let but Debbie was very helpful and friendly.

Pros: Spotlessly clean, central location, incredible view and great value.
Cons: Limited phone reception and patchy wifi. A great chance to unplug and relax, but I missed wifi. Walls were also a bit thin and I felt like I was having conversations with next door.

Tip: The code for your room is different from the house code. Wifi works best in the corner of the room close to the hallway and if you want reception walk at least 2 rows out into the winery (I am with optus). Visit Sabor dessert bar which is a few minutes down the road just before the bridge.

Overall: Good value and close to the wineries, would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here mid-week and were impressed with the room, service and location. The continental breakfast was good. Bluebush is located in a quiet area of the Hunter Valley, however it is still very close to the all the wineries and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasegreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful property with magnificent views and a lovely ambience. Just a short drive down the road to the wineries and the restaurants. Facilities were beautifully maintained and oh so clean. Sitting out the back with cheese and biccies and a nice glass of wine watching the kangaroos in the paddock as the sun was setting............oh tell me again......why do we have to leave???

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrswizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Tranquil, relaxing, spacious, total comfort and thoroughly enjoyable. What a wonderful way to spend two days in the Hunter Valley. Having breakfast on the Sunday morning, and we were visited by maybe 20 kangaroos, two of them coming up onto the tennis court. Can't think of a more pleasant way to spend the morning. Bluebush Estate is on our "must do again" list.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluebush, Owner at Bluebush Estate, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Sharon wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Bluebush - the Hunter Valley is definitely the ideal location to catch up with friends and Lovedale area has so much to offer including kangaroos! Must be the green grass which is definitely lush due to the rain the Valley has been receiving. Look forward to welcoming you again to Bluebush, don't leave it too long :)
Appreciate you taking the time to write your review Sharon - regards Linda, Steve, Debbie and team @ Bluebush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.5 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebush Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebush Estate

Property: Bluebush Estate
Address: 196 Wilderness Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bluebush Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebush Estate is located in the renowned Lovedale region of Australia's Hunter Valley Wine Country, just 2 hours from Sydney and only 10 minutes from the beautiful Tempus Two winery & Hope Estate. At Bluebush Estate you will enjoy luxury accommodation amid our sweeping lawns, classic gardens, majestic trees and picturesque vineyards. Bluebush Estate is the tonic you need to unwind, relax and invigorate the mind and body. On our peaceful property, you can enjoy a getaway from the pressures of the city, or make us your base for your wine tour weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluebush Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebush Estate Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing