We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true getaway experience”
Review of Bluebush Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluebush Estate
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A reunion of friends was organised with the plan to visit local wineries and maybe attend the Lovedale Long Lunch (LLL). Discussions with the friendly staff suggested a LLL option would be well served and the Country House was booked for our 5 couples. Fully self contained, we ate in every meal with cooking duties shared. The kitchen is fully catered for in terms of utensils and appliances with the guests needing only to bring along the planned components for the meals and then cook. The dining areas lend themselves to casual or more formal eating arrangements along with the outside BBQ and furniture. This is all set in abeautiful Hunter Valley backdrop with vineyards and setting sun.

Room Tip: If you travel as a B & B couple and don't book out the full Country House, ask for room 2
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluebush, Owner at Bluebush Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Hi "StewartRobbo from Coffs Harbour" firstly appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bluebush Estate and also the Lovedale Long Lunch - what a great atmosphere with absolutely perfect weather. Look forward to welcoming you back in 2014, your booking has been secured. Cheers Linda & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Bluebush Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a beautiful, well maintained and very clean place. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast served is a bonus: it's basic but fresh and a good start for the day. We booked without knowing anything about this place other than the trip advisor reviews and we were very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivonne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I travelled to the Hunter Valley in early March and stayed at the Bluebush Estate. We found the house to be in an idyllic, peaceful and relaxing position surrounded in vines, rolling green hills and even kangaroos at dusk! We love staying in B&B's and have stayed in many around the world, and this was definitely one of our favourites! Everything was great - friendly staff, comfy bed and room, adequate breakfast and beautiful location! I really enjoyed being able to make a cuppa and have a biscuit whenever I wanted as well - oh and of course the bottle of wine and cheese went down a treat in the outdoor area with a gorgeous sunset as our backdrop! We were made feel very welcome and I highly recommend this lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in early March, mid-week (we being myself, wife and baby) as part of our trip to Australia. We had the Cottage to ourselves, which was superb given our baby. Linda, the owner, could not have done more to make us feel so welcome. She even carried our boy up to the Cottage whilst we took the car around to the front of the Cottage! Where else do you get service like that, and people so genuinely nice? Linda and the team have only been running the place for about 6 months from memory, and if they keep on going they way they are, then I can see Bluebush going from strength to strength. We are really looking forward to staying with them again if we return to the Hunter, and have already recommended this excellent, well-priced accommodation to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We had the Cottage to ourselves, mid-week, which was absolutely fantastic.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Clarks_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well we were on holiday driving down from Cairns to Sydney with friends booking one night at a time and what a find this was. Saw Bluebush on a website, called the night before we arrived and Linda was so helpful. We arrived early evening and it was perfect for us, a real homely place, beatifully kept and so welcoming and relaxing. We stayed in the main house. Linda organised a trip to a restaurant including transport, we had a great evening and next morning a good breakfast, sat and chatted, a few photographs, lots of hints on where to go in the Hunter region etc etc. Just a great place and as I say shame not longer, a few days would have been fantastic. I would reccommend this to anybody looking for a stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havetogo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed two nights at Bluebush Estate. Linda was so helpful! Arrived hungry after missing lunch and she helped us select the perfect restaurant and arranged transportation, which was provided at no cost! Our driver was a character, telling takes of the KangaWallaFox. Nice brekkie, lovely covered patio. Enjoyed the sitting room and visiting with other guests.
We'd looked at a couple of soulless, overpriced lodgings earlier in the day. Bluebush Estate was perfect. Value exceeded the cost and it was a personable, friendly and charming g spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had the most pleasant experience at Bluebush Estate, just wish our stay was longer!
The rooms were immaculately clean, and the decor was very warm and reminded me of the French countryside.
Breakfast was included with our stay, there was fruits, toast, a selection of cereal, muffins and a few other things, very similar to what I normally have for breakfast at home, so it was substantial for me. We had breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the vineyards and it was just so relaxing and beautiful.
The location wasn't hard to find, we arrived late at night and had no troubles finding it. It was also quite close to the wineries I wanted to visit so that was a happy coincidence. :)
Our hosts were absolutely lovely, will definitely stay there again on our next Hunter Valley Trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.5 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
733 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebush Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebush Estate

Address: 196 Wilderness Rd, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range: $101 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bluebush Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluebush Estate is located in the renowned Lovedale region of Australia's Hunter Valley Wine Country, just 2 hours from Sydney and only 10 minutes from the beautiful Tempus Two winery & Hope Estate. At Bluebush Estate you will enjoy luxury accommodation amid our sweeping lawns, classic gardens, majestic trees and picturesque vineyards. Bluebush Estate is the tonic you need to unwind, relax and invigorate the mind and body. On our peaceful property, you can enjoy a getaway from the pressures of the city, or make us your base for your wine tour weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluebush Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebush Estate Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing