We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love staying at Emma's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emma's Cottage Vineyard
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We always get together with a close group of friends for the weekend just before Christmas and it was our turn to arrange the destination. Having stayed at Emma's for a Hunter Valley Concert a few months ago in one of the two bedroom cabins - we booked this again and also the three bedroom house for our friends.
We were greeted by the owner Megan who is very friendly and is the resident artist, that displays her very colourful paintings in the cellar door. Once again the cabins where very clean, well decorated and have everything you need.
The vineyard property is located close to all the attractions like the Hunter Valley Gardens and the desert places (which we visited again!), is very well maintained, has beautiful roses everywhere, having the pool for this time of year is a bonus and the wine also very good to drink.
We dined at the restaurant on the property (different owners) the first night and the food was good and cooked our own dinner on the second night in the three bedroom house kitchen which was well equipped. It was great having the three bedroom house this time as it is separated a bit from the other cabins allowing us to stay up a bit later without feeling guilty of disturbing others.
Our friends loved our choice and we would not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntervalleyaccomm, Owner at Emma's Cottage Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thanks Rebecca, this is what makes running Emmas Cottage such a great place to be, we really appreciate your comments.
Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I think it's important to state that the vineyard itself and the surroundings are beautiful. The pool is also quite nice although it is quite small and is next to the cellar door so don't expect much privacy.

The rest of the accommodation looked nice but the 3 bedroom cabin was a bit of a let down to be honest. It is quite old. One of the windows doesn't open, handles are missing off cupboards, the beds slide, the remote control is broken so you need to hold the battery at the bottom every time you want to work the tv, etc. But perhaps the worst part is the putrid smell that comes from the septic tank right next to the bedroom. On the first night we were outside and were forced to go inside because the smell became unbearable. We then had to sleep with the window closed all night to avoid the smell. We let the lady know the next day (who is lovely) and the problem was fixed however it still came and went during our stay. To be fair we were compensated with some wine from the vineyard for the smell (lovely wines too) but these are not the kinds of things you expect to run into when you are paying a decent amount of money.

I think the other accommodation may be nice but I would not stay in the 3 bedroom cottage again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank jetseta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntervalleyaccomm, Owner at Emma's Cottage Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thanks for pointing out these items, we are always open to constructive criticism which helps us provide a better experience for the next guest. We also thank the reviewer for their appreciative comments. We continually strive to provide our guests a great experience. This kind of review is very unusual, but it does make us try harder. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Emma's over the weekend for a music festival and had a great stay. We were greeted by Megan and were able to check in early.

The accommodation is super clean, modern and welcoming. The cottages are spread out and very private. Our two bedroom cottage overlooked the beautiful vines. There is a kitchen (with the all important dishwasher!), lounge area with tv, dvd player and ipod dock. There is also a BBQ outside.

There is a restaurant and cellar door onsite, and the cottages are a short drive in to the main wineries.

We stayed at Emma's last year as well and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Emma's just before Christmas to stock up on wine from Hunter for the holiday season. We had a 2 bed cottage and it was perfect for our needs. It was nice to have a communal living area rather than staying in a hotel, everything was clean and the owner was very nice and helpful. The only negative thing I do have to say is about the restaurant. We had to wait about 45 minutes just for our starters and there were not many other customers in there. However, I do want to point out that the restaurant is not owned by Emma's and leased to a seperate person. The food was good but it was just a shame we had to wait so long.

The cottages are easy to find, a reasonable price and in the heart of the Hunter Valley. I would definitely stay there again, plus you have the added bonus of cooling off in the pool after a hard day of wine tasting :-) Happy times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my sister took my dad away here for the weekend for his 60th Bday last weekend and we absolutely loved this place! The vineyard and cottages were picturesque... sitting on the veranda overlooking the vineyards was just amazing. The cottage itself was clean, cosy and equipped with everything you need on a weekend away. The hosts were all very lovely and helpful and the resident dog Dynamite won us over too! The cellar door was great with a lovely range of wines to try and buy at a great price. Overall this place gets a 10/10 from us, couldn't think of anything to fault it.

The restaurant on the premises was also spectacular.. the host was so charming and helpful. Being vegetarian I struggled to find a meal so I asked him to make me a big breakfast without the meat and it came out looking more delicious then the other meals we ordered! So much thought put into everything and the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyJulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just came back from a weekend with friends. We are lucky enough to find Emma's Cottage and booked the 4 bedroom house. The house was fantastic - had absolutely everything we could need: all queen beds, two bathrooms, great lounge set-up, fire, BBQ and huge kitchen (with a dishwasher).

We loved the set-up and would definitely recommend this house to those travelling in a group. The location was perfect - right in the Hunter on a vineyard and close to those bigger/popular cellar doors.

Hopefully we'll be back! We all loved the weekend away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJL-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My daughters and I just enjoyed our third stay at Emma's Cottage. The atmosphere is very calm and peaceful, and the accommodation is excellent. The cottage is warm in the winter, and the beds are extremely comfortable so that we all slept very well. We love being so close to the other wineries and eating places while still feeling a sense of quiet and relaxation. The artwork is bold and vibrant, and the wines are clean and fresh. The owners are welcoming and eager to ensure that the standards are kept very high.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenjoeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovedale
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.6 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
1.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
2.3 mi away
Lovedale Cottages
Lovedale Cottages
#3 of 16 in Lovedale
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma's Cottage Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma's Cottage Vineyard

Address: 438 Wilderness Rd | Hunter Valley, Lovedale, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Lovedale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Lovedale
Price Range: $191 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emma's Cottage Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Hunter Valley getaway at Emma's Cottage Vineyard. Stay in one of our two bedroom cottages, three bedroom cottage or four bedroom cottage all set overlooking our boutique vineyard in Lovedale. Sit and watch the sunrise or sunset over the vines. Wander in the peaceful garden where the only things to disturb the tranquillity are the morning calls of birds, with the occasional sounds and excited voices from a hot air balloon as it floats over. There is lots of wildlife: kangaroos, water birds, parrots, and many others. Come chat to us whilst we tend our vines - learn more about our varieties and growing grapes in the Hunter. Join us in the cellar door for a tasting of our hand-picked premium award winning wines. Come and share the peace that this special place brings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Emma's Cottage Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma's Cottage Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Lovedale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing