We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a meal, the whole experience of sharing a meal”
Review of Leaves & Fishes

Leaves & Fishes
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Leaves & Fishes offers a fresh, smart and simple approach to dining in the Hunter Valley. A range of Asian-fusion and Australian meals are complimented by a Hunter-focused wine list. A Lovedale favourite for more than 14 years, Leaves & Fishes is a must-visit on your next trip!
Reviewed August 15, 2014

It is not just the food that makes a meal memorable. A lunch with two good freind becomes an outing to remember when the elemnts come together, so add great food, complimented by good wine, friendly and knowledable staff in a relaxed and welcoming environment and you have that I'll be back experience and that is what we had. Unable to make individual choices from a scrumptious menu selection we opted to share and we were not disappointed.

What I hate most when I go out to share a meal with friends is that fast food; order, deliver, eat, and leave feeling. I am there for more than a meal, I want time to savour and enjoy the company, meal and wine; and that is precisley what Leaves and Fishes deliver.

We had a fabulous long lunch, meal were modern and fresh accompanied by excellent Ballabourneen wines, and an unexpected wine tasting experience.

Staff were both friendly and entertaining with the decore very relaxing and comfortable inviting you to stay longer.

Will we be back - hell yes, sooner rather than later!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BudgieHunterValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank-you for your wonderful review. All of our staff with their various talents appreciate your kind words about all the details that go together to make your dining experience at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale. We work hard to deliver on enjoyable food, atmosphere and service. Many guests feel comfortable at our venue and enjoy a relaxed lunch over the water with fine food and excellent Hunter wine. Our complimentary tastings of Ballabourneen Wine Co. is just one part we try to share the great wines the Hunter has to provide with our guests. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We walked into the restaurant a bit early so we had a taste of the house champagne. The staff took us through some other wines that were featured that month. We ordered the local verdelho with the Asian food. The oysters and beef were great and the papaya salad was a surprise for someone that normally doesn't eat salad. We got lots of tips for our day tomorrow and the restaurant is a keen supporter of local wine. The staff, food and atmosphere were all great and we hope to stay here next time we're in the hunter. Can't wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Warwick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank-you for your kind review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our guests have told us en masse that you have invested time and money to visit the Hunter Wine Region and therefore want to drink local wine. Our complimentary tastings of local wineries, our Hunter-focused wine list and our regular recommendations to local wineries to suit your taste are part of meeting this need while also supporting our local wineries. It's a win-win situation for everyone and really enhances your dining experience with us. We hope that you enjoyed your wine-tasting experience and look forward to seeing you in the Hunter Wine Region again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We dined here for a relaxing Sunday lunch. We've dined here many times in the past. One of my favourite things is the bread with olive oil and dukkah to start. The restaurant has great ambience and the seating is comfortable - you could sit here all day! We greatly enjoyed our Barramundi and Cobia dishes along with the Pineapple Salad. The Pineapple Salad was served in a hollowed pineapple husk which was very creative. We finished the meal with the honey-tapioca dessert which was large enough to share. Our waitress was attentive during the entire visit and the lolly-box after paying our bill was a nice touch. We loved our most recent visit as usual and can't wait to return, maybe for dinner next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EliseM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank-you for your review and your ongoing custom of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. Our service and atmosphere is casual and relaxed - just like your weekend should be! We understand that our guests have escaped their busy lives to relax in one of Australia's oldest wine regions which is why we don't double-book tables. That means you get to enjoy your time off at your own pace whilst eating delicious food over the water. We hope to see you again soon for that dinner reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Headed out to this restaurant with brothers and sisters for a catchup. The spot over the water was a great find. The beers and spirits had new things to try and the wine list is heavily focused on the local wineries. There was enough of us to try every dish on the menu and no one was disappointed. Service and atmosphere was great. The whole day was made easy by choosing Leaves & Fishes. We'll definitely return and recommend friends to this great find.

Thank Jarrod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank-you for your review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We try to make family gatherings like this as easy as possible and our menu is designed to allow sharing so that each guest can try a myriad of things from our menu. We are also glad that our beverage list had something for everyone despite being focused on Hunter wine. We hope that you will return soon to try our new menu and look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I love Leaves & Fishes. It's always beautiful. My adult children and I like to head here for a special treat. The specials menu and changing menu always means there's something new to try. My favourite dish is definitely the soft-shelled crab. The coffee is also very good. We will definitely visit again soon and I would love to stay in the accommodation one day.

Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank-you for choosing Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our specials menu is there to be enjoyed by our frequent diners such as yourself so that life doesn't get boring. You can package lunch or dinner at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant with your accommodation on-site so please do consider this when you come to stay next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Leaves & Fishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing