We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, charming staff and relaxing outlook over the lake.”
Review of Leaves & Fishes

Leaves & Fishes
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Leaves & Fishes offers a fresh, smart and simple approach to dining in the Hunter Valley. A range of Asian-fusion and Australian meals are complimented by a Hunter-focused wine list. A Lovedale favourite for more than 14 years, Leaves & Fishes is a must-visit on your next trip!
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was a surprise lunch for me, a treat from my partner, and it was a wonderful surprise, the setting is beautiful, the decor lovely and relaxing, but best of all the food was simply wonderful. I started taking photos of our food but it was so delicious and so beautiful we got stuck in and forgot to photograph half of the food, but I'm sure you can see by the few photos that the food is very well presented and is just a hint of what you can expect on the palate. The staff were fantastic and we simply couldn't find a negative with the entire experience. The food is quite expensive but not for what you get, it is good value for this very find cuisine. Whilst its definately artistic the servings are generous. I would highly recommend this gem of a restaurant. We arrived early and were given the pick of seating, and spent some time feeding the fish, its a place you could easily spend an entire afternoon with such a lovely and peaceful atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

How wonderful to have a partner like yours that can treat you to these great experiences! We are delighted to receive your review and great photos of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. Thank-you for taking the time to provide your feedback: the staff will certainly be glad to receive it tomorrow when we re-open for another busy weekend.

We do offer larger portion sizes to allow guests to share their meals so that everyone can enjoy the tastes on the menu. Maybe it's from knowing that our fish in the water beneath you are always hungry that we've come to be this generous. Thank-you for giving them a bite to eat during your stay.

We have several great events coming this winter as well as changes to our standard menu. We hope to see you and your partner again soon to make the most of these exciting events at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful restaurant is a perfect place for any occasion. The location is idyllic, the staff are wonderful, and the food is to die for. The attention to detail in the restaurant decor is very impressive. This seems like a beautifully run family business and they are doing a truly amazing job. We can only highly recommend this stunning place on any visit to The Hunter Valley. We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank-you for your very kind review. We are a small team at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale and the team will be delighted to read your review this morning. It will be a great way to start another busy weekend.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We work hard to maintain the ambience, food and level of service and can only hope that your next visit will be as wonderful as the last. We look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

There are a few mixed reviews, and the slow service seems a common theme. Yes, things took a little time to come out from the ktichen. But relaxxxx you are in the Hunter Valley, in a rustic, ambient restaurant that is a cosy space where you should take your time to enjoy the flavours that are presented to you. The menu is asian fusion, and my partner and I enjoyed both our courses with seafood being a heavy influence on our choices with the pork and prawn egg nest followed by ocean trout for main making a wonderful meal.

In addition the staff are lovely, and can not do enough to make your experience pleasant. There was a mix up with our booking (not of our fault) but L&F staff quickly recitfied this, and it did not hamper our experience one bit.

We would come back, but next time for lunch to enjoy the surrounds and take in the afternoon with chardonnay in hand.

Just make sure you bring someone/people who you enjoy spending time with, as that is the key to really enjoy your laid back dining experience here. I did, and I will again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tannas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thanks for a great review. You're right: like any review site, the reviews here are skewed in their representation of the business. We know from our own feedback that most of our customers enjoy a leisurely lunch (up to four hours!) at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale while on holiday in the Hunter Wine Region. It isn't that we necessitate their stay to be this long - they just enjoy the surroundings and the company they are with. When you return for your lunch on our front deck overlooking the water, we're sure you'll see what we mean and we can't wait to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Past experience of leaves and fishes left us with great memories and we couldn't wait to return. Alas, memories are all we have as the menu was disappointing to say the least, the very long wait was irritating and the fact that the food wasn't not even worth half of what we paid was more than annoying. Let me explain.

It was a 2 course menu for $68. My entree was an Eggnet with about 4 small pieces of pulled pork and 3 tiny prawns (I know the exact amount cos I pulled it out to feed my toddler and it wasn't even enough for him). My main was a tiny piece of beef fillet (cooked nicely though) with A snake bean but into fours pieces and some herbs, I thought I must have ordered another entree.

My friend ordered Vietnamese spring rolls, it was a shock to see there was nothing Vietnamese about them, I would know I married a Vietnamese man. Then his confit duck was just a tiny drumstick but he was lucky, he got rice. I don't mind paying money for good food that is worth the value. But this was ridiculous.

Don't get me started on how they failed to mention when we made a booking that there was nothing to give our toddlers, unless they themselves wanted to order a two course meal.

And I won't even mention the prices of the alcohol. You would of thought we were in Antarctica and it was scarce.

Safe to say I would not visit again.

2  Thank mcvoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

We notice that this is your first contribution to this site. Is there any reason that you didn't share your "great memories" with the community before? The community might have received a more balanced view of the venue had you made that small commitment to do so.

We have a two course _minimum_ at $68. There are a range of starters, salads and desserts available as well. But you chose to have two courses. Did you expect that you would feed yourself and a toddler with two courses designed for one adult? Is that why the meals seemed small?

There was no delay in the timing of your meals. Did your toddler become restless during this time and that is what caused you to become impatient?

Based on the age of the toddlers present, we would assume that they were absent from your previous visits to Leaves & Fishes. Did you expect to enjoy the same dining experiences now with children?

Leaves & Fishes accepts children but makes no special arrangements for them. Contrary to this, we made available meals for the children for that evening as a courtesy. We would not apply a two course minimum on a toddler - that is simply ridiculous for you to suggest.

Leaves & Fishes and several restaurants in the area are at the same price point of $64 - 75pp for two courses. The market believes we all offer good value for money based on the reviews on this website. Did you find this pricing unaffordable? In light of this pricing. we would ask that you reflect on whether the Hunter Wine Region, an area renowned for producing alcohol, in the middle of winter, is an appropriate destination for a young family with toddlers in your circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A lovely setting to enjoy delious food with terrific staff.
I have been to this restaurant on several occasions, my husband was a leaves and fishes virgin, but after last Sunday 25th May,he cannot believe he had never been. It is a special place and special people work there, the food is always scrumptious and even the coffee is good! This was well worth the drive from Sydney for lunch. I knew it would be!
Highly recommend especially if you love good food with an Asian twist, that is a feast for your eyes as well as your stomach.
Susan and Shay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susanlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank-you for your kind review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant and for bringing your husband along to enjoy Lovedale Restaurant for the first time. We are glad to hear that the drive from Sydney was worthwhile especially as this trip has greatly improved with the opening of the Hunter Expressway which leads right to our door step. Coffee is very important to several of our staff members so changes routinely to ensure the best experience. Our kitchen staff and floor staff will be delighted to receive your praise equally. Thank-you for visiting us on this occasion and several before and we look forward to your next visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Leaves & Fishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing