We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lunch @ Leaves & Fishes”

Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Australian, Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant offers fresh, smart and simple dining to its guests within its inviting boathouse atmosphere perched over the water with views of the Brokenback ranges. A range of Asian-fusion and Australian meals are complimented by a Hunter-focused wine list to reward guests with a great Hunter dining experience. With more than 10 years experience, Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant is a favourite with locals and tourists alike - a must-see!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch @ Leaves & Fishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Today we had a lovely lunch for my Mother inlaw's Birthday... wow what a fantastic location & the food was beautiful & large servings, the staff were very friendly.

Would definitely come back again.

Thanks

Mark & Mel Steele

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko7363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We were delighted to share this special occasion with you and are glad that the weather was superb for your mother-in-law's birthday. Thank-you for you kind words regarding our food, service and ambience. We continue to work hard to ensure that we can continue to provide an exceptional experience for our local customers in the future. We also hope that our customers will take advantage of our free corkage and support our local wine partners' cellar doors. Special occasion or otherwise, we hope you may join us as the weather improves and we release our new menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    47
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place, great service, wasn't stoked with the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place has a great atmosphere, the decor is beautiful & the service is wonderful. The menu is pricey- minimum set pricing of $65 for two courses- but standard for The Valley.

I was a little disappointed by the food. Asian influenced menu & mainly seafood (from memory I don't think there is an entree that's non seafood & duck was the only non seafood main-might be wrong though).

The dishes were presented beautifully, I ordered the calamari & the trout. The calamari was too heavily battered for my liking & was a little chewy. The dipping sauce was so sweet, I found I couldn't even balance the sweetness with the lime & pepper it was just a little sickly. The trout was beautifully cooked, but again the sauce was just too sweet.

I'd definitely give this place a second chance as the potential is there but a tough choice to go back when not wowed as just so many places to choose from here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozenges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. We're delighted that our hard work has paid off and you enjoyed our decor and service. We're concerned about your comments regarding our food but having reviewed your favourite restaurants on your TripAdvisor profile, we feel that our menu simply wasn't to your taste. We are further discouraged you didn't raise this view with us during our staff's routine checks as we would happily delivered another meal.

Our menu does include other non-seafood items including beef, duck, pork, etc. but we are primarily a seafood restaurant as our name suggests. We warmly recommend our second restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, with its menu focused on more game dishes which enjoys warm reviews just as Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant does. We look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently spent a 3 day weekend in the Hunter Valley and enjoyed staying in the Lovedale area. We chose to eat at Leaves and Fishes for lunch, meeting up with 2 other friends for a long overdue get together.

We hadn't eaten there before, however our friends had, and they were ambivalent about going there again. It turned out that their previous impressions were right: the atmosphere and decor is good, but the food was pretty average and definitely over-priced. None of us mind paying well for a meal if it is prepared with sophistication and real understanding of what goes well together, but none of the meals we chose seemed to have great flavour. They are served beautifully and look great, but the actual taste and quality is very ordinary.

Service was good, wine list overpriced (disagree with comments below about average prices) . This could be a terrific restaurant with the lovely setting and atmosphere - once you get there past the black plastic fence all along the front?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balloballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are delighted that your friends were able to introduce you to Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. Thank-you for your kind words on our décor and service which we work tirelessly to improve to offer our customers a casual dining experience.

We remind all our customers that your final price includes your food, the décor, the ambience and the service and therefore we still believe that we offer exceptional value for all our customers. We understand if you and your guests were surprised at the new pricing schedule especially if your friends had dined at previous pricing. We believe that you may have made poor decisions from our menu or the menu wasn't to your taste because on balance of the reviews listed here and our feedback, the great majority of customers enjoy the food at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant immensely.

We also strongly reject that our wine list is over-priced and any brief investigation will demonstrate that we have superior quality wines compared to other restaurants in the area. Also, as we waive corkage on cellardoor purchases from our wine partners, many customers enjoy their favourite wine with their meal at no additional charge from Leaves & Fishes.

With this in mind, we strongly encourage you to dine at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, our second restaurant which offers a different cuisine at a lower price point that you may find more affordable. Otherwise, we look forward to seeing you again at Leaves & Fishes after our menu is renewed this Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bizarre but fun...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

At first, this seems like a strange restaurant venue, but the overwater shed has been decorated with a nice balance of casual and comfortable. Open sided walls bring the outdoors in for a unique setting. Excellent food, well priced and with a reasonable wine selection. The staff are a bit homestyle and could be slightly more professional. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. We're delighted with your positive comments about the setting of the restaurant which we work hard to maintain and develop throughout the year. As a family business, we try to develop a casual dining experience for our new and regular customers. We understand that you may have been surprised by this as our service is unique within the Hunter Wine Region. We look forward to your next relaxed dining experience at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant and also welcome you to our second restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm on your next visit to the Hunter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Intimate restaurant (adults only) set in a timber bungalo on a lake in Lovedale. The service was attentive and the food was fresh, tasty and original. Although we had to wait for our main meal the owner made sure we were happy. The meal was pricey at $65 per person but what you would expect for the Hunter Valley. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants good food, wine and atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank-you for your kind review of Leaves & Fishes. We apologise for the slight delay in your meals but are happy to hear that we were able to keep you comfortable in the meantime. We hope to be on our best game next time you visit.

You are correct that our prices are standard for the vineyard area as we are a tourist operation in a rural area with high overheads. We're glad we were able to deliver a worthwhile experience for the cost and we are constantly looking to make improvements in our services to create real value for money for our customers. We hope that every customers next visit to Leaves & Fishes will be an improvement on their last. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing