We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Excellent!”
Review of Leaves & Fishes

Leaves & Fishes
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Lovedale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Leaves & Fishes offers a fresh, smart and simple approach to dining in the Hunter Valley. A range of Asian-fusion and Australian meals are complimented by a Hunter-focused wine list. A Lovedale favourite for more than 14 years, Leaves & Fishes is a must-visit on your next trip!
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wonderful food, wonderful wine to match. Our meals could not have been faulted. Service was very friendly, informative and knowlegable about the produce (all sourced locally). The atmosphere was very relaxed but classy! Not over-crowded either which makes for a nice change from crammed in city restaurants. Would thoroughly recommend Leaves and Fishes to anyone and everyone! Can' wait for a return visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAM2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We cannot wait for your return either! We're very happy that you enjoyed the ambience that we strive hard to create at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. In Spring we will review our menu and wine list to showcase more of the local produce and don't forget you can pick up many of the sauces and preserves from the restaurant to take home with you. We look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had lunch at Leaves & Fishes yesterday, Saturday, it was lovely, the staff friendly, the owner had a great personality and made us feel very welcome. We could not fault it in any way, we will be back soon that is for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AinsleyW973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We cannot wait for your return to Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant either! We work hard to ensure that we have good seasonal produce from our local providers that make all the difference in the meals we prepare. Likewise, our wine list only features those wines grown and made here in the Hunter to give you the authentic Hunter Wine Country experience. We look forward to your next visit to Leaves & Fishes as much as the first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

A glowing ambience created by friendly and knowledgable waitstaff as well as kind words and gestures from the owner.

The boathouse style ornamentation and the fishpond create a relaxed setting for a deliciously long lunch. The cuisine can best be described as fresh, with complex flavours that leave you highly satisfied.

It was not our first visit to Leaves and Fishes nor will it be our last!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amy-Hayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Our menu changed around the time of your dining with us and we're excited to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We agree that our menu contains dishes with fresh, complex flavours to enhance your dining experience. Our waitstaff and owners warmly welcome you back to Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant in the coming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had lunch at the Leaves & Fishes last Thursday. It was a rainy day. The restaurant's deck is built over a man made dam. It was so lovely and cosy with heaters hanging from the ceiling to keep off the chill. The scenery was beautiful. There are lots of palms surrounding the water and restaurant. The rain was falling off the roof and palms creating a lovely romantic atmosphere. The inside is beautifully furnished with lovely solid timber furniture completed with beautiful scattered cushions. The food was delicious and the service was great. We met the owner who was lovely and very friendly It is certainly worth the visit. It was my favourite restaurant in the Hunter Valley. I LOVED it!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank-you for your kind review of Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant. We're very happy that we could make your feel comfortable as the weather starts to grow colder. We like to provide tropical scenery in contrast to the surrounding wineries to give a unique experience. We look forward to seeing you for lunch as the weather warms up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is an interesting restaurant with a quirky, busy atmosphere. The restaurant is on a man made water hole and you can get water views if you book early. The restaurant has an open and light feeling. The furniture is from Indonesia and they have embraced the Indonesian character in the decore. The food was great and the staff outstanding. We would return to this restaurant.

Thank CamDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank-you for your comments about our venue. We feel that our over-the-water dining with our strong, timber furnishings complements the character of our Asian-inspired seafood menu. We hope you do return soon to taste our new menu launching next week and changing ever moreso as we head into the cooler months. We'll save you a much-sought-after seat over the water for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Leaves & Fishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing