We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Creel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I (three kids below 12) spent four nights from 07-12 to 07-16. We are convinced we made the best choice by staying here during our mountain vacation. Everyone, starting with the driver who picked us up at the train station, followed by the girls at the front desk, tour guides, maid, waiter, and the facility manager Mr. Vega who actually drove us himself into downtown when we checked out, everyone, was really committed to make things easy for us. Only exception maybe came from the only man at the front desk, who actually looked the more professional, and his service was also good but not as warm as the rest of them.
The place itself, an array of actual wood cabins, but each as well equipped as any hotel room in México, is enough for a pleasant stay. The kids enjoyed playing in the open field playground, and the game room. The restaurant is good, fairly priced, and it is only a little slow when ordering from the menu.
Tour guides show great knowledge of their surroundings, and are flexible enough to, say, take you for some last minute shopping or a cash withdrawal at the one local ATM before actually head for the place you are visiting.
If I could recommend improvements, in my opinion they should be more proactive informing of what they have to offer at check-in. Something they should warn everyone is they do not have the regular boiler to provide hot water to the entire facility. It makes sense since a lot of heat would be wasted at the pipelines. But you need to know they have a personal, household-like boiler for each cabin, about 10-12 gallon capacity. This way you would not try to take a bath at the tube. The first day we ran out of hot water, then we learned about the individual boilers, and it was not a problem anymore. After all, you do not go on vacation to spend time at the shower. This is why I recommend being a little more proactive in favor of the guest.
Bottom line, whenever we return to Chihuahua's mountain and the copper canyon, we will return to Villa Mexicana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managervm, Manager at Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thanks for you coments on this page

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at Villa Mexicana Mountain Lodge in Creel last December, 2012 and I have to say IT WAS AMAZING!!! I have traveled all over the world and I have stayed in all types of hotels & resorts.. but this hotel in particular surprised me in the good way, the reason is because they feature cozy cabins made from wood, in one hand you have the rustic and Mexican atmosphere and on the other hand you have all comfort and benefits that a full service hotel provides, it is a perfect combination.

I walked myself late at night and I found the hotel grounds well maintained and lighted. My favorite place without a doubt was the fireplace in the dining room, when you are at 5 ºF you appreciate a nice a warm fireplace, besides I found the hotel convenient as I have in my own cabin Wi-Fi. The Staff is extremely friendly since the young lady that check you in up to the General Manager who walks around and greet you, everybody is willing to make you feel like home. On breakfast I love the hot “café de olla” it is a typical Mexican coffee you have to try it.

I found the town very secure and the surrenders are incredible, if you stay in Creel a visit to the Cooper Canyon is a MUST!! There are many ways to explore Copper Canyon such as hiking, biking, driving or horseback riding, I tried them all!!
This trip was for a long time in my “To Do List” and by far…. it exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMCMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managervm, Gerente at Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable huesped:
Comentarios como el suyo nos hacen sentir que lo que realmente hacemos lo hacemos con amor, siempre ha sido nuestra intencion hacer sentir a los que nos hacen el favor de visitarnos como si estuvieran en casa.
a pesar de que estamos en un lugar serrano ha llegado a nosotros la tecnologia, cosa contrastante a lo que ofertamos, instalaciones aparentemente rusticas, pero con toda las comodidades y la tecnologia, aqui no se pierde la conexion con el resto del mundo y eso es lo que queremos, que sigan comunicados con los suyos.
Tambien es menester y ya lo comprobo, que los inviernos aqui son algo crudos, pero dentro de las cabañas y en nuestra casa-club, haga de cuenta que por la calidez, ni parece que es invierno y nos preocupamos porque su sueño sea reparador y con la tranquilidad que usted merece.
Nuevamente, muchas gracias por su visita y su comentario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early April 2013. I was really looking forward to staying in a log cabin, but the reality didn't match our expectations.

On the positive side, the area that the cabins are located in is lovely, it's about a 10 minute walk from the main town square and is very chilled out. The restaurant is nice enough (we only had breakfast there once though), and the decor of the reception area is charming.

However, for us there were more negatives to the hotel than positives. Maybe we just caught the staff on a bad couple of days, and I'm sure other people have had an amazing time, but this was our experience...

Firstly, most of the staff we encountered were abrupt, dismissive and unhelpful, and one was downright rude. They made us feel like we were getting in the way just by being at the hotel. I wouldn't have minded this service if we had paid bargain basement prices, as this is very much what the customer service standard was like. I've stayed in plenty of hostels in Mexico that have had better service. When we checked in no one told us anything about timings for breakfast, where the games room was, about the free transport into town or even where our cabin was. This was representative of the customer service during our stay, in that there was none. If i'm paying hotel prices I do expect a bit more than what we got.

We needed to get an early bus out of Creel on our last day and had checked with the receptionist the night before that we could get the transport that the hotel puts on into the centre of Creel at the time we needed. We were told that this was fine, but the next morning another staff member told us that we had to wait another hour for a lift, and was rather unpleasant when I said that we'd been told transport would be ok the night before. We ended up having to walk with our backpacks into town.

The area that the cabins are in is lovely, but for the smaller accommodations, one log cabin is divided down the middle by a rather thin piece of wood. We had noisy people on the other side of our cabin, so were kept up late listening to yelling and a blaring TV. The hotel's reception closes at about 9pm, so we couldn't do much about this until the next day.

This place is fine if you can get it for a bargain price, or you go with low expectations - value for money is very poor. Breakfast isn't included and you can get a much better breakfast for much less at Veronica's on the main street near to the square.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managervm, Manager at Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciable Huesped:
Lamento de todo corazon la mala experiencia de su estadia con nosotros los ultimos dias de marzo pasado.
Uno de nuestros principales objetivos es de que todos nuestros clientes sean atendidos cabalmente en todos y cada uno de los servicios que nosotros con todo gusto les proporcionamos.
me he preocupado mucho de sus comentarios y he convocado al personal involucrado y al parecer hubo una confusion respecto de su solicitud de servicio de traslado del hotel a la linea de camiones.
Le ruego acepte mis disculpas y creanme que en lo futuro trataremos de subsanar cada una de las criticas que nos menciona y principalmente atender a todos los huespedes con una mejor calidad.
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios que no son mas que una muy buena herramienta para corregir nuestros errores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location, nice cabañas all with heating, and nice flat screens. However internet do not reach all cabañas, mine was out of reach. Ask for the ones closer to the reception area. Bathrooms very little, poor amenities or none, and hot water finish fast. There are some showers in the reception area which look better equipped. Built as a RV camp, now operates as an hotel.

Room Tip: Close to the reception if you need internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A very nice option when visiting Creel, This cabins are very nice and clean, excelent restaurant service. Will return soon.

Regards

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I spent a great time with my family, my children enjoyed the adventure so much and we got more close as a family, very affordable for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maga266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We arrived to find what looked like an abandoned World War II concentration camp: wooden cabins in a field that was probably a park for camper vans with electrical hookups, but no longer used for this purpose. In fact the wooden cabins, sleeping two, were quite comfortable, and all mod cons available. Meals in a nearby club house. Creel itself was the nearest to how I imagine a frontier town in the US might have looked before the arrival of vehicles and tarmac. Interesting. Useful jumping off point for exploring the Indian settlements nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donjohnNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
20.1 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#1 of 20 in Copper Canyon
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Margarita's
Casa Margarita's
#7 of 12 in Creel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel

Address: Adolfo Lopez Mateos S/N | Zona Centro, Creel 33200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Creel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Creel
Price Range: $98 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mexicana Creel Mountain Lodge is a vibrant example of Mexican architecture and a reflection of the local Tarahumara culture's love of color. Built on nine acres with complete perimeter fencing and a security gate, the campground comes alive with rich hues of bright blue, orange, purple and yellow that vie for attention with the myriad of wildflowers that liberally dot the nearby fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing