We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me gusta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Creel
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Me gusta”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent spot. Stayed at the other Margarita's in Creel 10 years ago, and enjoyed it. Stayed here this time with a few friends in a few rooms. Experienced and reported: clean, small, rooms around a colorful courtyard. Gas heaters in every room, bathrooms clean, hot water (usually). You're served a "comida corrida" style breakfast- and dinner-of-the-day included. Beer and sodas available during dinner. Friendly front desk, good location.
Please note: this is a completely different part of Chihuahua (Mexico's largest state) than north, including Ciudad Juarez/El Paso. So get to Creel via the Copper Canyon Railway from El Fuerte. The train ride is incredible, the canyon is awesome, and the natural area just outside of tiny Creel (still populated) is beautiful and interesting. (Easy) day trip to Divisadero and go zip-lining and bridging into the canyon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 525DB525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
35
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice place with fairly reasonable prices, stayed three nights and enjoyed the breakfast and dinner meals. Close to the plaza area and easy to walk around town from the hotel. Pleasant staff and nice and clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a disappointing experience in El Fuerte, we were not sure what to expect in Creel but were pleasantly surprised By Plaza Mexicana. It is clean, charming, comfortable, and well-located. The meals are decent. It was the best night of our four-night trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trottermex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here only 1 night in the end because therer aren't many tourists in Creel right now and as I'm traveling on my own I struggled to get on a tour of the canyon. The hotel guys were pretty lax about helping me find a suitable tour once they had my payment for my room. Also I relate to others comments about the price and availability of rooms there. There only about 4 other guests but they swore bling the dorm room was full and wouldnt negotiate on the private room price. I seriously understand that things are tight there right now and I'm not into haggling over $5 but I don't like being lied to either. It's just bad business all round. But having said that my room was warm and comfortable.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place in central Creel offers good rooms, evening meal and breakfast at reasonable price. The evening meal is simple, local cuisine - recommended.
Just one word of warning if you book a tour thru' this place, then make sure you define completely what is included. We took an exppensive trip to Batopilas at 4000MEXP for 2 but the little trip from there to Satevo Mission was apparently an extra - also be aware that their hacienda in Batopilas has no food facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Pleasant hotel. Staff drove van to train station and handled all luggage plus transported us to hotel. They were able to accommodate 5 couples. Breakfast and Dinner were included with price of hotel room. Food was fair. The staff was very pleasant and attentive to our needs. Good location since we were able to walk to all the shops in Creel and restaurants for lunch. Staff contracted, for us, van and driver so our group was able to view Tarahumara Indian Village and Waterfall.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcbaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We first looked at Casa Margarita but were recommended to go to the Margarita Plaza. It turned out that if you stayed at Casa Margarita you still had to walk to the Plaza for meals. We stayed here during our wonderful visit to the magnificent Copper Canyon. We negotiated the same rate as the hostel and it included breakfast and dinner. The food was not very good but the room was nice, with tv, wifi and had a wonderful heater and very hot shower which was crucial as it was snowing outside! It's easy to walk from the train station and we got a free ride back to the station when we left. Check out the biggest supermarket which has a wood burning fire and great red wine which I recommend you take to dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
0.2 mi away
Casa Margarita's
Casa Margarita's
#7 of 12 in Creel
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#1 of 20 in Copper Canyon
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita's Plaza Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita's Plaza Mexicana

Property: Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
Address: Calle Elfido Batista s/n, Creel 33200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Creel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Creel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Margarita's Plaza Mexicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1979, Margarita´s has been synonymy of quality and style, keeping it's high standards through the years and competition, so if you're looking for a place to rest but also to feel surrounded by the colorfully and warmness of our country in your own room we´re the best choice. Also in terms of rates we've the best in town and of course our tradition: dinner & breakfast included. Hopefully seeing you soon Margarita's... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Margarita's Plaza Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita`s Plaza Mexicana Hotel Creel
Margaritas Plaza Mexicana Creel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing