We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Creel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We had dinner, bed and breakfast in this hotel, for one evening, which was supposed to be the best hotel in Creel.

It is very centally located and only a couple of minutes walk from the railway station.

From the outside it is quite an attactive wooden building with wooden chalets for the accomodation. The rooms were spacious and the bed was comfortable. However the room was not clean and the shower was the worst I've ever seen - just a dribble.

The food was average and the service not very good in the restaurant. On the plus side the bar was nice and the barman who was working that evening gave good service

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 302 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

My wife and I and our three young children stayed here in early November for one night out of four during our Copper Canyon trip. The hotel is clean and modern, and the staff were friendly. Ing. Baca Beck, the Manager was very helpful at all times. My wife needed a doctor and Ing. Baca walked me half a block to show me the nearest doctor's office. The rooms are roomy, warm and cozy, with a gas heater. We ate at La Cascada about a block down the street and it was great. We also ate breakfast at the Best Western but found it a bit expensive. The guide we had was good and we did tours #1 and #2 which gave us a good feel for the area south of Creel. The hotel had despensas (like food bank bags) made up for purchase to give away to the Tarahumara families. We did that and appreciated that the hotel staff have a social conscience and provided that opportunity to their guests. The Tarahumaran people we met seemed to appreciate it. It made our visit much more memorable. There were other foreign guests at the hotel during our stay, from France and Germany. We are a Mexican-Canadian family, coming from Mexico City. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberta177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Since we had a package with Tres amigos I don’t know how much we paid for any of our hotels. This was one of the best we had. It had a heater, a large TV and a phone and, it was a large room with a cabin lodge theme. Not much to do in Creel itself. Food in the hotel was ok but not great. They had Internet but was expensive, there is a place for 1/3 of the price a couple of stores down. We had a very nice tour of the gorgeous area. We ate at Veronicas and it was ok. Our Tres Amigos tour guide was very courteous with my mother. I just hate it when they start making excuses as of why Mexico is so corrupt, it is the Spaniard inheritance (even though you don’t find this in Spain and they are long gone) is the Catholic Church fault (yes, they were pretty bad) , is the United States fault (They should have taken the entire continent)! It is never their fault! Everyone thinks they might as well be corrupt because if they don’t steal someone else will anyway. People don’t pay taxes and then complain there is no infrastructure! This same people consider themselves “honest”. Will it ever get better?

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

the highlight was a porch swing and the rooms were attached cabins with gas heater stoves. really cute room, comfortable, and tv with limited cable with english programs. only drawback was loud fan in bathroom and weird clangy noise from adjoining room. this is the first place i've seen in mexico that's actively recycling everything including batteries. what a great thing to see. hotel restaurant had yummy oatmeal and attached cafe had good sandwiches and was a nice place to hang out having a cup of coffee. did not have a decent meal in any of the restaurants (except breakfast at hotel). in town there's limited shopping or things to do except hike up to the Christ statue. 3 Amigos has lots to offer like renting bikes, scooters etc. but we didn't time it right so missed out. very relaxing at the hotel and weather was nice and cool, just what we wanted, an escape from heat and humidity of mazatlan.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teabaglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

After a very long road trip from Durango we finally arrived in Creel; full of apprehension - what kind of surprise are we getting tonight (you know, it's Mexico)...
The Best Western in Creel was very nice - clean clean clean! And it does look and feel like a lodge. I strongly recommend this hotel, it made our stay in beautiful Copper Canyon very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant and bar. You have to pay for internet access, but it's not very expensive ($3 for half hour, $5 for an hour)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJEBishop_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Best Western when we were exploring Copper Canyon. We enjoyed our stay. The people at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and found it to be tasty. The rooms were finished in a cabin type style. They were nicely furnished and clean. The gas stove for heating gave a nice ambiance and kept the room warm even though nights were cold. The lodge and bar were very nice. There is a coffeee house attached to the front of the lodge that offered guitar music on a couple of nights. The hotel was pretty much filled with tourists so for a more local feel you need to go out and see thw town. Availability depends upon the tour groups. Some nights the hotel was full and other nights it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BradMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel
20.6 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#1 of 20 in Copper Canyon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Temazcal
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
0.2 mi away
Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa

Address: Ave. Lopez Mateos # 61, Creel 33200, Mexico (Formerly Best Western The Lodge at Creel)
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Creel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Creel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Creel
Price Range: $99 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street of the magic wood town of Creel, your gateway to the Copper Canyon, the one and only hotel & spa affiliated with an international hotel chain, BEST WESTERN THE LODGE AT CREEL 37 wood cabins with fireplace, free internet service, Restaurant with International cuisine, Fire wood oven Pizzas Cafeteria, Room service, Sport Bar, Meeting room and GYM, Jacuzzi & Sauna. 11 different tours around Creel, transfer to & from Chihuahua Airport, stopping in Menonite Community, cheese factory and Apple Ranch. Ask for our fishing and gastronomic tours. Every morning tour to Copper Canyon by train and private van, hot springs and waterfalls, including Spanish Missions and Tarahumara Valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Creel
Best Western Hotel Creel
Creel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing