We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A less than welcoming hotel - dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Creel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having stayed in this hotel in February 2012 & writtten a review, which was on this site for some six months - suddenly it dissappeared - so in this short version of the same, I won't mention anything outside the gates. Room & beds were OK - heated by mock wood fire stove powered by gas. Shower over bath - no plug.

However the welcome was non-existing, fortunately we found a nice fire in the bar area to have a pizza from the front of the house pizzeria for dinner. Fuller report of same on my forum. But breakfast & lunch were miserable - the waitress dissappeared to fetch her daughter from school during lunch & we sat for some 40 mins without a word from any other member of staff.

Would I stay here again - I would look carefully at the alternatives / opposition

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments, every time we receive a comment help us to improuve our service. We appreciate your time. Ones again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

The maintenance is impecable, look as new. Very original with extensive use of deer corns. Beautiful cabañas heated, well maintained bathrooms, spectacular restaurant area. Internet suppose to be available on all rooms, however in some was not available. Nice flat screens, super located in this Pueblo Magico.
Spa good but can use some improvement. Jacuzzi was not working, the massage area and sauna need some improvement.

Room Tip: All different and all spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo y darnos su opinion, nos invita a seguir adelante ! lo esperamos en su proxima visita. Saludos cordiales !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is a nice hotel, but they don't fulfill the standards of a good hotel they promised Internet in all the rooms an I was only able to conect in the lobby, they lack of service only one waitress to attend all the guest

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Victor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We are sorry Internet service at our hotel douring your stay was not as fast as it should or was not working at its 100%, we already pass your complain to TELMEX, we appreciate your time to leting us know your expirience obout TELMEX service in this part of The Sierra Madre Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our room was right by the car park so therefore VERY noisy. A least 3 big busses with tourists arrived late evening and unloaded the guests outside our room. The room itself was quite comfortable but I do object to having a pricelist that tells me what i have to pay if I break any item at all in the room. The breakfast was dull but fortunately the staff was friendly. We liked Creel and thought it was a real cowboy town.

Room Tip: If you do have to stay at this hotel make sure you don't stay in room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobweblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Public Relations Manager at Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for you comments, we appreciate your time letting us know you found your room close to the parking lot quite confortable, we only have 8 rooms in front of the parking lot, wish is the 20% of our hotel rooms or our Lodge, the other 32 room are quite and peacefull. Please, next time you visit our hotel, ask our friendly staff to give you one in front of our private litte forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed three nights in a quaint setting that reminded us of summer camp. There was a little porch swing by the french doors that opened into our room, which had a small breakfast nook and a coffee maker. Nice touches. Autumn was in full color, with golden leaves falling everywhere. Trees outside our room were filled with ripe apples. We picked a few, and they were crisp and delicious. One night we enjoyed a terrific singer in the little bar lounge;wow! He sang everything from Malaguena Salerosa to I've Been Working On the Railroad. (There was also a different singer another night who was enthusiastic but utterly lacking in talent.) Wood-fire pizzas at the hotel were pretty good, but we really enjoyed the food and service at two little cafes across the street, El Sillon Rojo (GREAT salads) and Veronica's.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanandJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Motel itself was nice and good value. Staying in creel is a bit of a waste though - there is a lodge called sierra lodge out of town which we wished we had stayed at however the best western is good on all fronts in itself. We were driven in from chihuahua and wished we had gone just a few miles out to feel like we were in the canyon. Getting into the canyon is the objective and this is a gateway motel which does the trick.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrienneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPPERCANYON4U, Owner at Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos enormemente su tiempo para expresar su experiencia en nuestro Lodge, nuestro personal esta muy contento de escuchar su satisfaccion y las buenas recomendaciones. GRACIAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Recommended by 3 Amigos. Typical Best Western. Room cross between log cabin and Swedish sauna. Our room right by car park so a bit noisy, but clean and ok value. Bit disappointed with Creel which is an ideal location for trips, but not one thing or another. A lot of small shops selling tourist souveniers and cafes/restaurants/bars (food not very inspiring). Great fun in evening to watch locals driving up and down the main street (cars and horses), but not a lot to see (not close enough to canyon to walk - need a bike or transport. We took tour with 3 Amigos which was excellent). Restaurant in BW almost empty, but food mediocre and service poor considering lack of business. Bar OK apart from huge TVs which dominated the room and the missing barman. Didn't try the Pizza restaurant. Daphnes in town a lot better for food.

Room Tip: There must be better locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Del Cobre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Mexicana at Creel
20.6 mi away
Posada Barrancas Mirador
Posada Barrancas Mirador
#1 of 20 in Copper Canyon
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Margarita's Plaza Mexicana
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Claro de Luna
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Temazcal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa

Address: Ave. Lopez Mateos # 61, Creel 33200, Mexico (Formerly Best Western The Lodge at Creel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Copper Canyon > Creel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Creel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Creel
Price Range: $109 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main street of the magic wood town of Creel, your gateway to the Copper Canyon, the one and only hotel & spa affiliated with an international hotel chain, BEST WESTERN THE LODGE AT CREEL 37 wood cabins with fireplace, free internet service, Restaurant with International cuisine, Fire wood oven Pizzas Cafeteria, Room service, Sport Bar, Meeting room and GYM, Jacuzzi & Sauna. 11 different tours around Creel, transfer to & from Chihuahua Airport, stopping in Menonite Community, cheese factory and Apple Ranch. Ask for our fishing and gastronomic tours. Every morning tour to Copper Canyon by train and private van, hot springs and waterfalls, including Spanish Missions and Tarahumara Valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Lodge At Creel Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Creel
Best Western Hotel Creel
Creel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing