We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rollicking risotto”
Review of Crown & Mitre Inn

Crown & Mitre Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Bampton
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Crown & Mitre, our 4 star Inn based near Haweswater in Cumbria. Situated in the beautiful hamlet of Bampton Grange, we are an historic free house nestled on the edge of the North Eastern Fells.We serve a range of fine wines and ales and the highest quality food made from fresh, local ingredients.In our Lake District accommodation we have 8 en-suite bedrooms, and a self-catering apartment tastefully furnished and with views of the beautiful surrounding countryside.There are several walks directly from the Inn that can be as leisurely, or as challenging as you wish. We have amazing wildlife nearby. Watch out for the red squirrels in the church yard opposite, and England's only Golden Eagle in nearby Riggindale. We also regularly see red deer on the local fells nearby.Whilst situated in a quiet corner of the Lake District National Park, you are never more than a few minutes from the rest of Lakeland, giving you the benefit of easy access to attractions with a quiet haven to come home to.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I'd been craving risotto and so the artichoke and tomato one they had on the menu was just the ticket. It was so hearty I didn't have room for dessert, which was a shame!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay perfect for fell walking. Friendly staff good service fresh daily vegetables. Well recommended.

Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Walking distance from our rented cottage this pub served tasty food at reasonable prices, everyone was very chatty and friendly. We both had chicken liver parfait and the pie with vegetables.

Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited this pub in early June 2014. We were told when we arrived at apporx 7.15pm they were very busy and we may have to wait a while to eat.
The bar experience was very pleasant being offerred tastes of different ales, good start.
After 8 pm we asked if we might possibly order our food and we were given a menu.
Finally at approx 8.50pm our food arrived.
It was ghastly. Two of us ordered steak and ale pie. I found it totally inedible, dried up and tough with the most wierd gravy containing an unbelieveble amount of ROSEMARY in it. Beef with rosemary, ||I don't think so.

Another of our party had salmon. The new potatoes served with it were like bullets and completely inedible. Some main courses were served with the accompanying vegetables arriving some 15 minutes later.

We complained at the time and when presented with the bill asked for a reduction for the poor quality of the food after the length of time it had taken to serve it. Our complaint was badly received and reinforcements were called from the kitchen to refute our criticism. Eventually they agreed to reduce the £74 bill by £4 because I had not eaten my pie. This reduction was given so grudgingly the staff would do well to remember 'the customer is always right', all they kept saying " was all we can do is apologize" but they couldn't say SORRY or accept any criticism. In answer to the length of time we had to wait we were advised residents take priority in service.
If one had been a first time visitor to Cumbria and this being the first place they had dined they would have had a very poor view of Cumbrian hospitality. It is a good job one of our party was born and raised in Cumberland and he knew this was certainly a very poor specimen.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank frizzb0mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at Crown & Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

You are quite right with your comments, we were not on top form here, so I apologise for that. I have discussed your review with the staff on that evening, and asked them to take note. We were very busy, with our new part time chef covering for our Head Chef, and as you have pointed out things didn't go smoothly. I think I am right in saying that you didn't book a table, and with the level of bookings we had that night the staff should have advised you that we were fully booked.

At the end of the day we should have done better, so again apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were staying at a wonderful holiday cottage nearby and this place was the 'local'. Lovely walk by the side of the river. It was a gorgeous spring day so we initially sat outside with our dog, but moved inside when it became a little chilly. We left our muddy boots by the door and enjoyed the sofas, even the dog was welcome. Although we did not eat, the menu looked really good - would definitely return the next time we visit and try the food next time. No phone reception but they do have wi-fi, just ask the bar staff for the code.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Shona_L12503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Mitre Inn also viewed

Askham, Eden District
 
Crosby Ravensworth, Eden District
Shap, Eden District
 

Been to Crown & Mitre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing