We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough jewellery - beautiful scenery tarnished by average service”
Review of Haweswater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haweswater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rough jewellery - beautiful scenery tarnished by average service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The scene is beautiful , on arrival the building and the site has a great first impression but all changes as soon as you enter the hotel for check-in . The service is lower than average and food seriously disappointing to the point that we were prepared to live on fruit and sandwiches we had on us from the day before! Red squirrel amusing and nice :)

With a better management this place can be a fantastic beautiful escape.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    240
    68
    31
    34
See reviews for
44
548
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The views from this hotel are stunning and its a wonderful place to get away from it all. Red squirrels come right up to you and a golden eagle is often seen gliding above the lake. There are some fantastic walks around it too. The hotel was built in the 30s and does need updating, but on the other hand it has genuine oldy-worldy charm. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Note that not all rooms have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just spent the last 2 fantastic day at the haweswater hotel. After reading some reviews on trip advisor we were apprehensive about our stay. From the moment we arrived to the time we had to leave everything was perfect. The staff were very friendly, the hotel has a art deco style but were very relaxed and the food superb at a great price.
The positives far outweighs any negatives if I had to be critical the hotel maybe could do with simple upgrading, but me and my fiancee will definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephenSarah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently after getting a 'deal' offer, and found it to be a bit of luxury!.
I don't think it is worth the normal rates, but for what we paid it was great.
Very Art Deco design, room was fantastic with a super king size bed, loads of room, and jacuzzi bath, with a TV on the wall at the end of the bath. Very quiet & peaceful area, nothing else around for a few miles. Ate in the resteraunt and food was excellent, albeit a bit pricey!. On the second day we travelled about quite a bit and decided to stop at various places/ pubs etc, but as this was the Lake District area they just take the ____with the prices, £12.95 for Fish & chips etc, in a pub?
So we returned back to the hotel and ate there again, once again a super meal.
A couple of points, they do not seem to have a manager on site, just a couple of lads and a girl serving tables & doubling up on the bar. But it wasn't overcrowded so it was not a big issue.
We heard one of the lads refuse a couple that had come on spec to see if they could eat there, because he said they could only serve residents. It wasn't busy that day, so they are missing a trick there!, but maybe without a manager there, they were just trying to make it easier for them selves. Anyway, a lovely old hotel in a beautiful setting overlooking Hawswater lake, if you want a bit of luxury and peace & quiet, then I would recommend it. Just make sure you get a deal price.

Room Tip: The Mardale suite was the one we had, fantastic! Can't comment on other rooms!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We purchased a £99 Kgb voucher back in December 2012 for a two-night stay for two, including breakfast and a bottle of wine if two dine on the first night at the Haweswater hotel and booked our weekend away for the bank holiday weekend at the end of May 2013 immediately.

We arrived on the Sunday in glorious weather and the scenery that greeted us was breathtaking.

The journey up from South Yorkshire was trouble free and we found ourselves a couple of hours early to check in which enabled us to sit outside enjoying a drink in the sun, soaking up the views whist being entertained by a small army of red squirrels and an abundance of birds. I’m assuming it was the same birds who woke us at 4.30am the following morning with the most beautiful dawn chorus I have ever heard.


The hotel boasts 21 rooms over 2 floors, with only 12 having views of the lake ( reservoir). I had done some research before we set off and discovered the hotel was fully booked whilst we were there.

We therefore considered ourselves fortunate to be allocated the “ Mardale Suite” which has not one spectacular view but three .

Mardale is a large room with a kingsize bed , solid wood wardrobe, plenty of drawer space, two easy chairs and a table, desk, wall mounted flat screen TV and ample power points. Hospitality tray with more than ample supplies of tea, coffee, milk and sugar. Two windows one of which gives a (more than) impressive view of the lake and the other a side view of the garden and lake.

The large modern bathroom with rain shower, Jacuzzi bath, TV, luxury complimentary toiletries , heated towel rail , wall mounted hair dryer and another side view of the garden and lake.

The room was bright and clean with plenty of natural light. The one thing that did stand out was there was no mirror in the bedroom and no plug point near enough to the bathroom if you use hair straightness or other styling tools.

The small team of staff appear to multi-task carrying out all the duties needed to ensure the hotel runs smoothly. Don’t be surprised if you see the same person checking you in, serving your breakfast and servicing your room which may seem a little odd but it works.



They also do a wonderful job encouraging guests to relax, unwind and re charge the batteries . There is no mobile phone signal and whilst there is free WiFi it is slow and sporadic.

There is no thing but wonderful scenery for miles, the nearest civilisation is at Bampton over 3 miles away along narrow country lanes.


The hotel has retained many of it’s original Art Deco features from the 1930’s which all add to the tranquil atmosphere, the lobby lounge is a lovely place to sit with it’s lovely view of the lake through original wrought iron latticed windows, original fire place, Art Deco lamps I don’t think Hercule Poirot would look out of place sitting in there whilst his little grey cells do a spot of overtime.

Food served in the restaurant is reasonably priced , locally sourced where possible, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. It’s by no means a huge menu, around 7 starters, 12 mains and 4 desserts, there are however additional items on the specials board so there is bound to be something to tempt even the fussiest of eaters.
Bar prices are reasonable too with a bottle of house ( French) red wine costing £12.95.

Breakfast although service is a tad slow ( remember staff multi-task and encourage a relaxing stay) is efficient. There is a choice of cereals, juice and fruit together with what I felt was an extensive choice ( for a hotel this size) of cooked to order items.

My husband enjoyed the full Cumbrian breakfast whilst I demolished perfectly poached eggs.

This is the perfect place to go to escape the rat race, unwind, relax and recharge the batteries and We can’t wait to go again.

Room Tip: If you are booking through an internet deal, book as soon as you have your voucher it may ensure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank tune57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped off here on a cycle tour, just wanting coffee . The hotel is in a fantastic spot overlooking Haweswater but nothing seemed to be happening . We were the only people there and the receptionist doubled up as the bar tender . No decaffeinated coffee at all which I don't think is acceptable . Lovely red squirrel outside though !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my partner and some friends and very much enjoyed our time. We had a lake (or more accurately a reservoir) view which is beautiful. The room was comfortable with a lovely bathroom, which is obviously fairly new.There were red squirrels running around the lawn and off and on the birdfeeder, together with a variety of birds such as nuthatch and woodpeckers. We did not eat in the evening but the food looked very good and breakfast was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Just one odd thing - there were Christmas carols and songs being played at breakfast!! oh yes - and the room wasn't cleaned or bed made while we were there! Having said that I would definitely love to stay again it's a lovely quirky place.

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 7 and 8 are at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
9.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
10.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
13.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haweswater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haweswater Hotel

Property: Haweswater Hotel
Address: Lakeside Road | nr Penrith, Bampton CA10 2RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Haweswater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy The Lake District - as Nature Intended With stunning views over the Lake and Mountains, the Haweswater Hotel is the only building in the Haweswater nature reserve - a stunning, 100 square mile haven for wildlife and home to England's only Golden Eagle. No boats are allowed on the lake, so peace and quiet is assured. If you are looking for relaxation and contemplation, you will find it here. You will also find the best outdoor gym imaginable - cycle, walk, run, explore...Or just admire the view from our rooms and gardens. Please be our guest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Haweswater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haweswater Hotel Bampton/Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing