We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find!”
Review of Crown & Mitre Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown & Mitre Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great little find!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was a second visit for me and I went with my elderly mother as part of an annual break we share together and we did some touring in the lake district. The C&M represents great value - the rooms are large, clean and comfortable; the food is very good and the staff are friendly and helpful. It has a nice location down miles of winding single track roads and is in a quiet little hamlet yet it is only a short drive from many of Cumbria's attractions. And of course for walkers it is also ideally situated.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the first floor so there is a flight of stairs which my mother managed with my help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHENShona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    55
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A fabulous pub with the best steak I ate on our entire trip. The shallots are simply divine. My biggest regret is that I did not try their sun-dried tomato and olive starter. I later sampled someone else's starter and realized what a heavenly treat I had passed by. The rooms are cozy and the view of the village is lovely. The pub has a great selection of books on local history. Full Review: http://30waysofwalking.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/patterdale-to-bampton-grange/

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLiotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at the Crown & Mitre Inn when walking the C2C recently. What a great little pub. Our room was comfortable and clean and the food and beer were just what the doctor ordered after a day on the track. Would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are looking for somewhere quite with good food and great service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here first on my own for a bit of walking, and again a fortnight later with my partner and our dog. No difference between the two really, both great stays. Accommodation in two different rooms was found to be clean and comfortable, with amazing power showers.
Food was fantastic with a really good menu to choose from. The management couldn't have been more friendly either, particularly falling for our Yorkshire Terrier who was spoiled to bits.
Definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveglitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A repeat visit to Room 2, which is magic and makes the place. Quirky church bells definitely not chiming Westminster but definitely chiming (pleasantly) every quarter of an hour through the night. Wide range of breakfast options including home made granola. Food enjoyable and good quality. Would stay again for overall experience

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hants
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Having finished our Coast to Coast walk here last year it was the obvious place to start this year's walk and was just as good as last time. One appreciates helpful staff and the chief was willing to discuss his menu and sources of produce. Good beer too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed every moment. The landlady Jane is a keen walker herself and the perfect hostess after a long day on the beautiful Mardale fells. Andy the chef serves up lovely breakfasts and evening meals at reasonable prices. All the bar staff are friendly and helpful with a special mention for Wendy who displayed a surprising singing talent during a memorably lively evening. The beers are amongst the finest available to humanity and the local characters make the bar a great place to be. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The Crown and Mitre is enjoyed as a stopover by many Coast to Coast walkers, but one night just wouldn't be enough. Many thanks to Jane and all the staff. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
21.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
973 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
386 reviews
9.6 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
219 reviews
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Haweswater Hotel
Haweswater Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bampton
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Mitre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Inn

Property: Crown & Mitre Inn
Address: Bampton, Bampton CA10 2QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown & Mitre Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crown & Mitre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown & Mitre Inn Bampton/Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing