We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wila Safari Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$172
$165
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lavish Eco Jungle(Hambantota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Beach Hotel(Hambantota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Hotel Bundala Park(Hambantota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villa Hakuruwela(Hambantota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
7
21
11
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
21
11
12
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 64 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a simple room but with a spectacular view of the lake next to the hotel. Attractive swimming pool, pleasant restaurant with good food. Very friendly staff. We used this hotel to explore the Yala National Park. The park was a big disillusion, too many cars who position themselves in front of each other and the wildlife is only to be seen at a far distance. Better visit the Wilpattu N.P., not crowded at all, we saw 2 leopards and a sloth bear there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Location and Access – On the shores of Wirawila lake in a semi rural location. Access is best by car. Nearby the town of Wirawila has basic shops etc. Ample on site car parking

Google Earth - the hotel cannot be seen on street view

Architectural Style – A low rise modern semi colonial style building with some minor construction work underway to create a larger hotel

Reception – Very helpful, polite and welcoming

Public Areas/Decor – All public areas and bedrooms are (currently) on the ground floor. A large restaurant. Everything looks and smells clean including the walkways to the rooms. Outside is a pleasant well kept garden and a swimming pool

Guest Rooms
Mine had a small sitting terrace with direct access to the pool and views of the lake beyond

Space – Very roomy and spacious

Decor/Maintenance/Cleanliness – Everything minimal, reasonably clean with some minor maintenance issues. Tiled floors throughout.

Furnishing/Bed – Furniture was minimal but acceptable. Two large single beds were comfortable and linen fresh and clean

Bathroom – Good shower, toilet and washbasin. Small bars of soap and shampoo provided. Towels acceptable

Amenities including entertainment – Free wifi in public areas– old style tv. Complimentary water.

Lighting – Dim but adequate

Air Conditioning and ceiling fan kept things cool

Food Offering – Due to the location of the hotel it is necessary to use the restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is where the place starts to fall apart. The set dinner menu provided a soup starter with main course choice of only fish or chicken cooked in a variety of ways. Chicken soup had been a powder minutes before being served and was accompanied by triangles of crustless sliced white bread. My nearly meat free chicken bone was char grilled to the point of cremation. My friends seer fish black as coal. Beans and carrots stone cold and partly cooked. Semi cooked french fries complete the ensemble. The food is sent back to the kitchen and returns not much improved apart from the vegetables being warm! For dessert I select the fruit plate - spoilt by being prepared with a knife used previously for onions. My companion has local curd with honey which is yummy and rich. We leave the hotel before 5:00 am for a safari to the Yala National Park. Despite the early hour staff have prepared tea and “coffee” for us and a take away breakfast “packet” containing boiled egg, sausages, fruit, cake and water

Green Credentials – None evident

Security – Reception is staffed 24 hours. Rooms have basic locks and no minisafe

Value for Money – The cost for my double room and for a separate room for a driver was less than £50 for a night. Dinner for 2 with beer £17. The standard of food preparation and quality is far below what would normally be expected in Sri Lanka. This was put down to a “trainee” chef - but it begs the question - who is doing the training?

X Factor – The lakeside location with mountain backdrop is very scenic and the hotel is well placed for “safaris” . I would have awarded an above average rating if it had not been for the disappointing food offering

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The food was good. If someone was very hungry so it is advised. the daily menu a la carte meals are beautifully for to take photos but at the hunger it is not enough, unless you ordered the same portions 2-3.
Standard rooms are very basic and small. \toilet/shower is rather poor. Overall, the price/performance ratio of the structure. Staff is rather 24-hour after a warm-up period friendly. Reception staff unfriendly. This assessment has been made from three different stays and it has changed nothing.

Room Tip: there are lot of options. choose either
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we have stayed here a few times before this recent trip. nice to see that they have completed the swimming pool and other rooms which have been in construction for the last year or so
they have a new manager who was the perfect host- eager to please- he has ) unfortunately i cannot remember his names- years of experience running top class places in galle but came back here for his love of wild sri lanka- extrodinary guy kept us entertained with stories- he even jammed with simon garfunkle !! that aside the rooms spacious and comfortable ( beds are a little hard but hey )- we enjoyed the buffet which was new but then since my last trip a year ago- they are now catering for package tours and yes the hotel was full -
we especially enjoy the surroundings as we are keen bird watchers- loads to see until sunset
with a gorgeous lake everywhere whicch you can literally wade in
it is like a mini safari- we have stayed in tissa hotels - expensive and cheap but between safaris
you either stay in your room or eat-which i i find boring and much prefer this place as i can get out , use my camera, photo birds and beautiful sunsets

recommended

yes i am a little upset that this place is now on the tourist map- because i got so used to having the place to myself!! knowing all the guys who are great

Room Tip: avoid rooms in front of the pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We are a family of three and really enjoyed Wila Safari. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful, and was good company of an evening (the hotel was very quiet when we were there). Our room was large, clean and cool, backing on to the beautiful swimming pool. The staff were friendly to us and also to our little boy, taking the time to play football with him etc. It was a very warm welcome. I would agree that there is not much to do in the local town/village, but Tissa is a cheap tuk tuk drive away, and we enjoyed the peace at night. The hotel organised a safari to Bundala for us, and the guide/driver was superb. Likewise the wake up call at 4.45 and the carefully packed lunch. The food wasn't amazing, but we would say the same about many places in Sri Lanka, so this was never an issue. For us, the location on the lake, away from the hubbub of Tissa, was perfect.

Room Tip: The room we had by the pool was fantastic.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews