We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service but too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagoon Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Hambantota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice owner, keen to organise anything for you. Very convenient location to visit Bundala national park and even Yala national park. Very good food. Direct view on Bundala park from the terrasse. Room s are ok and relatively clean. However the main road with heavy traffic is so close that the location gets really noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a couple of nights in this little Inn whilst travelling in January.It was wonderful.There are only a handful of rooms and we had one that overlooked Bundala Park and wetlands.The bird life seen from our large balcony was fantastic..every thing from peacocks to painted storks,sunbirds to golden oriole....etc.The inn is run by a delightful couple,Kamal and his lovely wife,Sunathtra.They cannot do enough to make you feel at home and will organise jeeps to both Yala and Bundala National Parks. We opted to go to Bundala as it was a bit quieter and had an interesting morning driving around the park ,seeing birds and animals,with only a handful of other jeeps. The rooms are a good size,as are the bathrooms and the place was spotlessly clean.A very comfortable bed with attractive bedding and a good mosquito net ensured we slept very well.
Kamal was worried that there was not much to do in the area and he took us out for an afternoon in his TukTuk.We saw the biggest crocodile I have ever seen and toured around Tissa Wewa Kamal is very knowledgeable abou the local area and it was a fabulous afternoon...one of the high spots of our Sri Lanka trip.Sunathtra is a very good cook and we had some delicious home cooked meals.We felt quite sad to say goodbye to them,but would go back at the drop of a hat!!

Room Tip: Try for a room upstairs that overlooks the wetlands/lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Lagoon Inn for just one night but it was lovely! We had an upper room, with the porch overlooking the marshes and we really enjoyed the peacefulness of the spot. It is also just about as close as you can get to Bundala National Park, and just by mentioning our interest to the guesthouse owner, we had a jeep ready for our own tour in the morning, and a nice breakfast when we returned!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Lagoon Inn is a basic, but very clean and friendly guesthouse very close to Bundala NP. The guesthouse is an excellent choice if you want to visit Bundala, but to go to Yala we would recommend staying closer to Yala NP.

The rooms are clean with mosquito nets and the little frogs in the bathroom did not bother us. Food was good. Very nice is the balcony upstairs with views over the wetland.

For the price an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs with direct access to the terrasse with views over the wetland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalmoralShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 3 days. There are no familyrooms but we had both upstair-rooms wich meant a great roof terrasse to ourself with great views to watch birds and monkeys.
The athmosphere is great and very warm. The food is very delicious and we were called upon at meals, instead of having to sit and wait.
The owner arranges Your safari and it was the most patient, knowing safari guide we had. Bundala is a very nice park with few visitors, a calm athmosphere and lots of birds, reptiles, elephants and monkeys. So different from the hectic Yala.
In all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to book the upstair rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Birgitte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Lagoon Inn is a very basic guesthouse whose five minute proximity to Bundala National Park is a great asset. We had upper floor rooms which provide a great view of the wetlands. It is fine place to while away an afternoon of relaxing, reading and watching the wildlife.
We found the dinner to be very spartan and would not have enjoyed an extended routine of the fare. No array of curries here, just a single bowl of fried rice or noodles with a bare sprinkling of chicken or vegetables. But, then again, it was very cheap,
The manager is a rather dour sort, unlike most of the cheerful Sri Lankans who ran the other places we stayed. He asked us to vacate our rooms before the already early check-out time of ten.
All in all, we are glad we stayed here. But we were glad to move on to a different place to eat.

Room Tip: Upstairs has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

rooms here are really inexpensive (approx 2000 SLR per night), so I was a little bit concerned. But I was pleasantly surprised. the rooms were very clean, each with its own bathroom, new soap, clean sheets, working ceiling fan. The rooms upstairs have a nicer view into the park and the waterways, but the downstairs rooms are a little cooler because they are not exposed to the sun. Rice and curry cooked by the lady of the house was very authentic, you could get nice chilled beer too. Kamal, the owner, was very knowledgeable and helpful in organizing our safaris in Bundala. we did both afternoon and morning safaris. We stayed for 2 nights, and it was the perfect location for Bundala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hambantota
0.0 mi away
Jade Green Hambantota
Jade Green Hambantota
#2 of 5 in Hambantota
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peacock Beach Hotel
Peacock Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hambantota
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sanjis The Seaside Cabanas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Inn & Restaurant

Address: Bundala Junction | Weligatta, Hambantota, Tangalle 82000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle > Hambantota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hambantota
Price Range: $14 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lagoon Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing