We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went twice”

Bundala National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Tour: Bundala National Park Safari
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Hambantota
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very few humans made great bird watching but suggests the park is underrated.
We saw a large number of birds and other wildlife in great conditions. Our guide (Dimuthu Prasanga from Riverside Cabana Tissamaharama) and the Bundala NP volunteer guide knew their way around and certainly knew the animals, and plants really well.
We returned 2 days later to the viewing platform, again no other people around, and spent the afternoon in nice shade watching over the lake.
The park guides are very good and all volunteers, so when you do go remember to tip them if they did well.
It is primarily birdlife but crocodiles, monkeys and other life is bountiful as well. Take binoculars and a long camera lens for the best results.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    75
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bird life”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a marvellous day observing and photographing rare birds like crakes, ospreys etc. The trackers was knowledgeable and furnished ample comments about the birds we saw

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wetland paradise”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Well set out. excellent, knowledgable local guide. The vehicle was effectively a mobile hide and we saw several rare birds and many different species.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alternomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elephants, crocs and abundance of birds”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic wetland and salt marsh national park. We visited the park as it was reputed to be the best park to see many species of bird life and were not disappointed. What a wonderful surprise to see other wildlife too, including a family of elephants, crocodiles, wild boar and monkeys. Our guide was excellent as was the jeep driver. Well worth the entrance fee and the 4.30 a.m. start to get there at sunrise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bird paradise”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very knowledgeable guide. Evidence that tourists' fees are being reinvested in facilities and conservation. And of course stunning birds.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry and Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bundala National Park also viewed

Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 

Been to Bundala National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing