We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best”

Bundala National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.50*
and up
Private Tour: Bundala National Park Safari
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Hambantota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nugegoda, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was seated at one of those viewing platforms stationed at Bundala park in one evening (1730 hrs) and looking so freely and calmly at the large lagoons and the jungle where I felt that beeing here itself is suffient to help you out to heal you from lots of worries , stresses and other ill feelings we all own from day to day life. No sounds at all ecxept sounds of Beautiful various kind of Birds (indigeneous /migratory) of different size and colours, cooly and lazy moving of Water Buffaloes, distance view of an Elephant bathing and rolling in the lagoon, Cool breeze but bit fast blowing ,The sun is about to set and gives slight reddish colour to the atmospere , two fishermen who are permited to fish in the lagoons walk by the bank so tired looking , an hour or two i spent here with no word to my friend from canada. I am refreshed and happy and sad too about what the Nature can gives to us. I am sad because we started to appreciate the value of theese tresures very late and that I have to leave the Park because its late . i am sure Bundala is not only a Place to see wild life but also to leave your heart. I do believe that there should be more Tourist facilities around this Park where one can stay, perhaps walk around where ever permited,absorb a bit of rustic lifestyle of people living on traditional Dairy farming ,Lagoon fishing and rice cultivation .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maheshpemasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    72
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great place, it would be better when the migratory birds are here”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent the first day at Yala and saw a leopard so that freed up our second day.
we came here. we had a great time and saw loads of birds, it would have been better if there were some of the migratory birds were here but we came at the wrong time.
If you get offered a guide, make sure 1) the speak the language you do 2) they are any good.
We did not get an option he jumped in. our driver did all the spotting.
We refused to tip him as he did nothing to improve our time in this national park

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent wildpark”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We saw so may big and small birds at this park and crocodiles and a bathing elephant. The driver and the ranger (we arranged them from Lagoon inn) were really good at spotting the animals. They also took us to the rough and quiet beach where we went off the jeep. We found this park more rewarding than Yala, which was so crowded with jeeps and there were less animals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tanjaebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“depends on the season”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

being to bundala about 6-7 times - really is a gorgeous place
the scenerey with sand dunes, lakes and forests-
birdlife is prolific but it depends on season- try to go winter months-more likely to see flamingos and hugh flocks of emigrating birds-if the sun is not out, most of the magic goes

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“An intimate safari experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Bundala National Park is just as close and easy to visit from the town of Tissamaharama as Yala National Park. The difference? Well, at Yala there was a gridlock of jeeps to watch the leopard sleep on the rock. At Bundala we did not see half a dozen other jeeps our entire visit. We did the afternoon to sunset safari at Yala and the early morning safari at Bundala and I was very happy with both experiences.
Bundala will thrill birders but you do not have to be a birder to enjoy it. The first thing we did on entering the park was watch a big bull elephant walk across the track, take a drink from the rangers tank, walk back across the track in front of us and then stand in the scrub just beside us blowing dust (elephant sun screen) over his back. Amazing!
I called Bundala a more intimate safari because we were so close up and personal with some of the wildlife. At one point the jeep had to stop for the troop of Langurs sitting in our path. Langurs are elegant, not naughty like Macaques and do not interact with people. I was taking wonderful close up photos of a mother holding her baby until she turned her back on me huffily, as if to say, "Don't you stare, she's MY baby".
We watched thrill-seeking Langurs in the water edge where they were at risk from crocodiles, the lure of the tender shoots was too strong. We saw a dead baby Macaque being eaten by a raptor standing beside the track. It was like being in a wildlife documentary!
The birds were just wonderful.
The safaris are so easy. There are comfortable deluxe jeeps that pick you up from your hotel and drop you back in time for lunch. They are worth the money.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bundala National Park also viewed

Tissamaharama, Southern Province
 
Hambantota, Tangalle
 

Been to Bundala National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing