We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe - CLOSED

Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This quirky little venue is famous for home-style Mediterranean food.Whether it's making their own pasta, or collecting their own cockles, this food is fresh with a committed following particularly on Sundays. Committed to local producers miss.peapod's uses organic and local produce where possible.Sited at Jubilee Wharf's Eco development with beautiful river views, powered by the wind and sun you will be forgiven for feeling a little bit worthy eating here, however this can soon be remedied by reaching for the wine list and ordering one of their indulgent puddings!
Wootton bassett
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having had a long car journey to Penryn and very hungry, found this appealing place. Was very disappointed to be told that they didn't serve hot food at that time. I asked what time they closed, and was told 4 o'clock. It was 3.15!!!! No sandwiches either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misspeapod, Owner at Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed not to get to food. Our kitchen is open 10-3pm. So you only just missed out! You obviously were starving after all that travelling and leaving lunch so late, and i bet people were still eating when you arrived too just to make things doubly worse. What a shame. Please try us again, as you can see from our other reviews, most people who eat here really enjoy it. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“miss peapods penryn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent value, location, atmosphere and great food. The best place for breakfast or brunch. You must try the home made baked beans and the hot chocolate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misspeapod, Owner at Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. We have made it All Day because it was so popular. Thanks for the review, we always appreciate a pat on the back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,059 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Splendid view from the exterior seating area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having completed our search for the best Traditional English BF by awarding Trevaskis farm at Connor downs 5*, we are now after the best alternative BF.
Checked their feed back and down loaded the menu which looked pretty interesting today was our first ABF.
The place is ideal for families and I would imagine on a fine evening having a meal seated out side would be as good as it gets.
Interior is fairly small,seating cheap and does not feel right with the green ethic,eg,melamine/chipboard tables.{Unless made from recycled waste}
We choose two off the BF menu,Chorizo,potato hash & fried egg @£6.95....Cinnamon sugared French toast with banana,smoked bacon & maple syrup,I had added two in house hash browns which brought the price to£8.50.
SHR loved the Chorizo hash and would certainl have that again,I felt that my choice was barely ok and cost wise way over priced.
If you visit for breakfast go for the two main options,they seemed far better value.

Staff were pleasant and food was on the table in around five min's.

Will we go again,perhaps not for the same BF but the Tappas option looks interesting. Try for your selves,nice complex with great view,perhaps go have a coffee first. .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast or brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a hearty breakfast here last week. Nice place on the water and friendly staff. Both poached and scrambled eggs cooked perfectly and the full breakfast was just as good. Would happily recommend this place for breakfast or brunch can't comment on dinner as we only came for breakfast. It was very convenient as we were staying just across the road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelseagirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small, chilled cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Located by the water, nice food, nice coffee, veggie options. Relaxed atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit for a pit stop or meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rugrat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 
Penryn, Falmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing