We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing when it comes to Coffee!”
Review of Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe - CLOSED

Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This quirky little venue is famous for home-style Mediterranean food.Whether it's making their own pasta, or collecting their own cockles, this food is fresh with a committed following particularly on Sundays. Committed to local producers miss.peapod's uses organic and local produce where possible.Sited at Jubilee Wharf's Eco development with beautiful river views, powered by the wind and sun you will be forgiven for feeling a little bit worthy eating here, however this can soon be remedied by reaching for the wine list and ordering one of their indulgent puddings!
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointing when it comes to Coffee!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Today i went to Peapods with friends for a quick Coffee, as i have done over the last 5 years, being a local person who likes to support local businesses. I also appreciate the surroundings / ambiance of the venue.
Sadly, the coffee really doesn't come up to standard. Small, undersized cups with warm, not hot coffee (Not the first time sadly). This was raised with a member of staff - it was then reheated to the point where it was boiling - this made the texture like custard, with lumps in it. Shocking to see! The issue was then embarrassingly raised again & the staff member was extremely defensive - putting the blame onto us because we wanted hot coffee! (Obviously not that hot!). All that was required was a hot coffee that was drinkable! But this seemed too much trouble & although i was getting quite annoyed about this, the staff should have simply resolved the problem - instead we ended up getting stressed out over the space of half an hour, during which the staff member lectured us on being a trained barrista & the correct way to make a coffee. The member of staff 's attitude seemed arrogant & overly defensive - the problem was unresolved, no refund offered & overall an embarrassing situation. I like the venue but am very hesitant about going back after that awful experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizzer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misspeapod, Owner at Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Oh no the dreaded soya latte! It’s fiendishly difficult, We remember your visit. I hope you will accept our apologies. We take pride and care in crafting our coffee. Your coffee was made with soya milk as requested, which is why it split when overheated – unfortunately this is a common difficulty when steaming soya milk and can result in an unpleasant consistency. We are looking at different brands to see if this might make a difference.
When you accepted the new drinks, we thought we had resolved your complaint. We are sorry that wasn’t the case.
As with most independent cafes we prefer not to follow in the footsteps of the larger coffee shop chains that have ‘supersized’ their offerings in the last few years. Prioritising quality over quantity, we serve our coffee in 7oz cups or 11oz mugs, so our customers still have the choice of a larger size if they wish.
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, we will be taking the requisite steps to ensure that they are acted upon and will not be repeated. We hope to have the opportunity to change your opinion soon.
Best wishes,
miss.peapod
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky but good”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect as had different reivews from friends. Quriky venue, good music, lovely food not a massive choice for the evening but the tapas that was on offer was tasty and served very quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was nice but funny portion sizes”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food was tasty but the portion sizes were strange. Some £5 dishes looked though they should only have been £2.50 and other £5 looked like main dishes to be about £8...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tapas style Friday night”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of each tapas on the menu last night with some friends. Prawns were buttery, garlicy and moreish. Bean stew warm and comforting on an early summer evening. nachos with salsa and guacamole and sour cream & Tortilla tasty as you would expect.

Beers, coffee and hot chocolates out on the deck of this eco neutral building. A unique experience, reggae music and worth a trip for the value for money and sharing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Lazy Brunch”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Such a lovely, informal cafe. The imaginative menu is a good mix of wholefood and typical fare. A great place for a lazy brunch. Friendly staff and a lovely view of the river.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linshimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Peapod's Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 
Penryn, Falmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing