We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enthusiast's paradise”

Borth Station Museum
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Borth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enthusiast's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautifully displayed exhibition with all the old coins, tickets, model railway, dvd of the history of Borth and the legend of the sunken forest. The old station ticket office and waiting rooms have been lovingly restored by a friendly group of local enthusiasts. You can continue your quest by hopping on the train to other railway networks. Well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank aimeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“its free and worth seeing if you are there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Borth isn't the nicest place to be honest, but we were waiting for a return train and there was a little museum in the railway, and really well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank josiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Railway memorabilia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

A cold Easter Monday afternoon looking for some thing to do not far from our home,
I came across this little museum on Tripadvisor,
Entering the museum the owner's/volunteer's made us very welcome, explaning how they set up the museum from a derelict shell of an abandonded Great Western Village Station,
All the artifacts had been collected from various sources, and are indeed a fine collection,
I can not stress enought how helpful and informed the staff are,
Enthusiasm about their project of collecting Railway artifacts and the continuation of the museum is the first priority,
There is a large screen TV showing a DVD of local history also very interesting, again all explained very well,
There are souvenirs to be had to remind you of your visit to this fascinating museum, and
of course a donations box to help keep it running,
If you like railways you will enjoy this facility.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank flyboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dont miss this place if you are passing through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited the museum last October expecting to spend 10 minutes within, we spent nearly two hours in there !!.

It is an absolute treasure trove of memories for anyone at all interested in anything related to railways. The volunteer staff have very lovingly collected and restored railway memorabilia and are on hand to tell you all about the museum. There are also model railway displays to play with for grown ups and small grown ups alike. It is very much a labour of love by the members of the society and well desrves any support you can give them.

They are planning a big open day in the summer of 2013 and we are planning to make sure we are in the area to support them. Cannot recommend it enough.

Parking nearby and lovely views across the Dovey valley from the railway station itself ( which hasnt changed much for Donkeys years !!)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank McCreery-Morbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Station-master”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

A small museum on the Borth station platform run by very knowledgeable volunteers. Warm, cosy and snug atmosphere evoking the 'romance' of by-gone days of travelling by train. Certainly worth a visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vironment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borth Station Museum also viewed

 

Been to Borth Station Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing