We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Borth and the house are unique”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Borth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Borth and the house are unique”
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The house is lovingly decorated as if 1920s or older
Comfortable and well equipped, but electric heating
I loved and hated that there was no wifi
Local Indian good
Use Cletwr cafe and shop! Towards Machynlleth

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2018
Thank you for your review. We will pass your thoughts and comments on to the owner and hope we can welcome you back to Wales in the future.
kind regards The Coast & Country Holidays team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arw63uk
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definately quirky”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Neptune is a one off, you either love it or hate it and we love it. It's like stepping back in time when you stay at Neptune and we don't mind the blankets and bedspreads but this isn't for everyone. The house was clean and tidy when we arrived. Clean bed linen laid out already for our stay and well stocked with resources like toilet paper, washing up liquid and tea towels which wasn't expected after all this property is let as a self catering break. The house has lots of interesting pieces in it, furniture, ornaments and pictures.

Borth has a lovely beach and the house is located right on the beach with plenty of outdoor seating to relax and watch the waves break and the sun set on the horizon. It is ideally located to visit other parts of mid Wales while there are plenty of different activities to try or places to visit close by (Paddle boarding, horse riding, canoeing etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Closeness to the beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Neptune House is indeed a very quirky property and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks very much for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laure S
paris
1 review
“this is the house to stay in borth !”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fantastic time in Borth. Wonderful house !!!! We will be back for sure ! The decoration is so astonishing, very good spirit and at the feet of the seashore. beautiful skies. Thank you so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver D
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beatiful no one could want anything else”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beatiful house me and my family loved it beatiful location having sea as your back garden just blows you away, also weather was very nice loverly sunny days on beach with family then nice couple of pints down local in evening who could ask for more. Only one problem we diddent want to leave to come back to the midlands march can not come quick enough we are counting down the weeks till we will be back many thanks the dyer family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatererLi...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sadly lacking”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have been to Borth nearly every year of my life all 55 years, we usually have a house about 3 doors up, it is a special place for me and a chance to meet up with Welsh family and friends. This year my eldest daughter got married in Bristol and wanted to take photos on the beach
so to fit it with her wedding theme we were thrilled to find this house. It was an interesting place and I loved a lot of the things there but it was grubby, big cobwebs hung in the sitting room, it was dusty. There was no loo roll, washing up liquid, no waste paper bins but the main thing was only 5 chairs at the table when the house slept 7 adults and 4 children, we were 6 and had to hunt another chair. there were only 5 wine glasses and the bedding was cheap and ill fitting,the cooker was very cheap and it would have been impossible to cook a roast for the two families the house would take, not everyone eats out every day on holiday however the location is fab and we enjoyed our time in our family special place with all its memories. We shall return to our usual house next year and pay £350 less to at least all have a chair to sit on for dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norma p
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having just spent a week at Neptune i have to say how very dissapointed we are , having booked for 7 people, when there are only 5 chairs around the table, the kitchen was very basic ,and i could not belive a wire was so close to the oven,hob we were very worried when we did any cooking ,there is nothing to put tea,coffie ect in, no storages at all ,i had to buy a poato pealer ,plastic box for cheese, bis ect,and all the kitchen knives were blunt. I understand there is a look they are going for but its a real mish mash of stuff that is not needed, yet basic stuff ie; nice beeding is not there. on the up side we did have great weather which was just as well as we could be out of the house most of the time, and just to round it off next door decided to have all night party on our last night ,very loud and doors banging all night so no sleep had by any of us,and yes we did call the police , we having been visting borth for 35 years but this is 1 house we will not be going back to .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the whole house and bedding
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
So sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Neptune House. It is a quirky property and quite basic but has a very good following and most people love it there. Obviously it does not suit everyone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelvis78
Crookham Village, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty museum”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Love Borth ! Hate this house.
Dirty and cluttered. Very poorly equipped, had to go out to buy basics such as veg peeler and scrubbing brushes. Too many random objects that would be better in a museum taking up space.
To add insult to injury neighbours had a very loud party on our last night which kept us up all night. Not sure if they were locals or visitors but either way was a complete nightmare ! Spoilt the last night if our holiday.
Family stayed in Windsor House a few doors up which was a little dearer but really worth the extra money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing