We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have been great if it cost $50 less.”
Review of Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liwa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Liwa Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Would have been great if it cost $50 less.”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This place was a bit worn at the edges inside the rooms, but would have been perfectly acceptable if it wasn't quite so expensive. The staff was friendly and helpful, so no complaints there. The hotel grounds were extensive and had plenty to keep kids busy and happy. The restaurant was not outrageously priced, but the food was not outrageously good, either.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us on your trip to Liwa last year. We are delighted to receive your review on this public forum. Your concern about the living space and dining has been noted and take this opportunity to inform you that the property has been refurbished. We are delighted to learn that your kids enjoyed their time with us.
The pricing issue can perhaps be best explained by the par excellence service that we offer. We once again thank you for your custom and look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    92
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
83
60
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stayed here when working in the region. Great location surrounded by sand dunes and the oasis. Desperately in need of updating although the pool is good. When we were there the hotel had just lost its alcohol licence but the fruit juice was very good. Restaurant food was very bland and there is nowhere elsr to eat especially if you are a woman. Suggest you look at the new hotel in Liwa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyglebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

The entire team at Liwa Hotel joins me in thanking you for your feedback. We are happy to learn that you found our location noteworthy. It is our constant endeavor to deliver excellent services and it is feedback like yours that helps us to spot areas of enhancement. We also take this opportunity that the property now offers a range of beverages including both alcoholic and non-alcoholic ones in our dining avenues. The living spaces now don a new look after the latest renovation along with ample avenues of recreation and leisure.
We once again thank you for choosing our deluxe accommodation in Liwa for your stay and look forward to offering you a perfect reside on your next trip to the city.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We i.e. a group of 5 families checked into this Hotel. The premises is good and scenic, the food is good, the house-keeping responsive. The reception service is horrible to say the least and unfortunately all other departments are dependent on the front office team to approve requests.

The highlight of the hotel is the pool which is in the centre of the premises. The scenic view around is breathtaking, a small exit at the back to the sunsent point is the best scene with scope for taking a liesure walk over the sand dunes in the pleasant evening.

Taxis can be arranged to take a trip to the Moreeb Dunes, dune bashing tours are also arranged on request. apart from trips to areas where you can do quad biking on the dunes or take liesurely camel rides.

There was no bar in the restaurant, the food was good. In all the hotel is decent but does not deserve the high rates quoted, the rates are at least 3 times what you would pay for a similar 3 star property but given the lack of decent options in this area you are left with very little choice. Inspite of the high rates, the hotel still charges for certain facilities, hence, it is recommended that all the details are well recorded in the booking confirmation.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumarnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiwaHotel, General Manager at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced by you and other families during your stay at our hotel. Your highlighting of the discrepancies is much appreciated and it has certainly thrown light on the areas to be desired. We have taken this issue seriously and reviewing the details with an investigation underway.

While we are glad to have secured high scores in areas such as Rooms, Cleanliness, Sleep Quality and Location, we assure you of improving the areas that have been rated with fewer points by you. We thank you for your review which will be a vital contribution for the development of our quality of service . We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Having stayed at this hotel before, about 12 months ago, I was appalled at how much it has gone downhill. The reception staff at check-in and check-out really didn't have a clue and just couldn't get their acts together to carry out the simplest of tasks.

BE AWARE THAT THIS HOTEL, THROUGH INCOMPETENCE, HAVE LOST THEIR LICENCE TO SELL ALCOHOL. This may change in the future.

The atmosphere throughout the hotel is thoroughly depressing. My wife and I drove to the Tilal Liwa hotel about 25 minutes away to try and enjoy the evening.

Their old 4 star rating is well gone and today I would say they would be lucky to get 2 stars (the wi-fi throughout the hotel and rooms might elevate them up to 3).

While waiting at check-in I overheard someone asking for a room that evening and was being quoted 1200 AED(£200) as the rack rate without breakfast. What a cheek, I can get into the Emirates Palace on a deal for that with breakfast .
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiwaHotel, General Manager at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
We regret the inconvenience you and your wife experienced during your stay at our hotel.

We are obliged to clarify the misinformation that we have lost the liquor license due to incompetence. The ownership of Liwa Hotel has changed recently. After applying for a new one, the new management is waiting for the liquor license from the authorities. It is expected to be issued anytime now.

Thank you for your review and we will work toward improving the areas that have displeased you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Liwa Hotel is a gorgeous weekend escape in the middle of the desert! The hotel has an unique architecture with a fantastic outside pool were you can order fresh orange juice directly at the pool bar! Liwa Hotel is set high on a hill and so you can have great views to the small town and the desert. We liked the breakfast and the restaurant has a very good offer for buffet dinner. The room is very confortable and spacious, same to the bathroom. You will have your own big balcony eather with view to the town or the desert. But you have to note and be informed that you will not get alcoolic drinks over there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiser80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your visit to Liwa and we cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience with the community of travelers on Trip Advisor.

Your positive observations regarding our property’s architecture, food and recreational avenues is truly inspirational for all of us. I have conveyed your compliments to the entire team that works round the clock to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We also take this opportunity you that we offer beverages of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic kind complimented by fares from around the world in the luxury restaurants of our hotel.
We once again thank you for your custom and look forward to offering you yet another perfect getaway when a return trip beckons.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We drove down to the Liwa Hotel in Liwa from Dubai and it took us about 4 hours. It was a really pleasant drive and everything was well sign posted. We arrived at the Hotel and were immediately given an orange juice when we checked in. The hotel used to be a Sheikh's residence. We were escorted to our room which was huge with very high ceilings and a balcony on one side. The staff were very friendly. The Hotel has a lovely pool area and there are also tennis courts and a children's play area. It was very empty when we were there and I imagine it is busy during holiday periods. It is situated in the middle of Liwa town a quaint town in the middle of the desert. We drove all around the desert area with a guide and it was breath taking. We sat in the dunes and watched the sunrise over the sea of sand and were thrilled at the constant colour change of the sand as the day broke. We also went 'dune bashing' with a guide and had a thrilling time in the sand.
The Hotel was great to come back to after a full day and their bar and restaurant service is terrific. The food was wonderful and cheap too, the staff was extremely friendly. We really enjoyed our stay there and can highly recommend a few days in the desert experiencing the solitue and beauty.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your experience at Liwa Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is our privilege to have served you to your satisfaction and a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your time with us.
We also thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation about our recreational avenues, services and amenities. The team was overwhelmed to read such a delightful recommendation from you and we cannot thank you enough for your gracious comments. Every guest is very special to us and it is our continuous endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience.
I thank you once again for your custom and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We live in Abu Dhabi and wanted to take a visitor to see Liwa - it's awe inspiring and personally we prefer to camp under the shooting stars in the silent, black desert at night, an incredible experience.
However, visitor doesn't camp so it was either Liwa Rest House or Liwa Hotel, so we decided to go for the 'luxury' choice of Liwa Hotel.
First sign of less than first rate staff is that the signpost on E11 stating 'Liwa Hotel 90km' was erected 125 km from the hotel.
The hotel was in fact originally built as servants’ quarters for the nearby Sheik's palace but it was deemed too far for the servants to travel so was turned into a hotel. This may account for the rooms, which are larger than most hotel rooms, and the decor which is tired.
On arrival, at 636 AED (£117.43 as of 20 April 2009) for a basic room we didn't expect to be charged an additional 150 AED for a child cot, but we were.
Previous reviews have mentioned the gym, there is one, but it's very basic and was unmanned and unused. There's a table football game also, which was broken.
Service around the pool was abysmal, ordered chocolate milkshake by the pool - 3 requests and 45 minutes later it still hadn't arrived so went in to discuss with Indian manager, and 5 minutes later the melted milkshake arrived - it had been sitting around all that time. Manager seemed bemused that we wanted another, fresh milkshake, but as we insisted, he provided it. He still charged for it, but offered me another, cheaper drink as compensation.
Sitting around the pool next day we were treated to an impromptu shower as the lawn sprinklers came on and soaked us, our cameras, clothes, books, mobiles etc. We made an initial attempt to discuss the incident but decided, given the manager’s previous reaction to poor service, not to bother.
Waitress service for lunch and breakfast (both buffets) was reasonable, although the food was decidedly ordinary. Dinner buffet was 105 AED plus drinks, which for bland canteen food I consider to be expensive.
As a general note, over the last 12 months the UAE dirham has increased in value against the British pound by 40%, but no revision of hotel, shop or food prices has taken place to reflect the increased buying power of the UAE dirham. Consequently the UAE is now way over-priced for foreign tourists, and they don't seem to be interested in discounting hotel rates to achieve a better take-up, the practice appears to be to have empty rooms at high rates.
Conclusion, this hotel would in no way be awarded 4 stars by any worthwhile organisation and I'm not sure who gave the Liwa Hotel their 4 stars. For me, the only reason for visiting Liwa is the desert and if I wanted a roof over my head then I’d use the Liwa Rest House but my advice is to experience the desert in all it's glory and camp under the stars!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0dders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Liwa Hotel for your stay. We regret that your stay at the hotel was less than perfect. The team in the kitchen is pleased to learn that you enjoyed dining at the property. We have noted your concerns during your stay and take this opportunity to inform you that the property has been reinvented with a refurbished look. We also offer a range of activities including camel rides on the premises, quad bike rental, Ayurvedic and other natural therapies. We also have Boule and newly made walking trails 2, 5 and 10 Km around the dessert and date palm groves.

We regret the inconvenience caused and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liwa Hotel

Property: Liwa Hotel
Address: Western Region, Liwa, Mezaira | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Liwa Oasis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liwa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis of Tranquility. Our hotel is located at the most spectacular hilltop setting, surrounded by lush green gardens between natural wind-carved sand dunes in an untouched place. The white hotel with its traditional architectural design is truly the enchanted location of tranquility and one of the world’s most spectacular spots for travelers seeking a place to unwind, recharge and just relax.You will experience:• Dramatic nature scenery • Dry climate • Magical sun sets • A setting amongst the largest sand dunes in the World• True Heritage• UAE Culture with historic significance Nature and the Environment. The location of Liwa Hotel is definitely a unique, peaceful spot which plays host to a variety of native wild life species. A lucky visitor taking a walk just outside the hotel premises in the early hours of the morning might get a rare glimpse of a Falcon, desert fox, quail or an extremely elusive desert hare. The crisp, dry, clean air coupled with the songs of various types of bird species that has made the Liwa Hotel ground their home, make just waking up in the morning at any time of the year a truly magical moment. Liwa Hotel is committed to operating its activities in a complete environmentally friendly manner and it is the ultimate objective of the Hotel to expand and make its grounds a haven for all types of native animals and bird species, whether resident or migrant. History: The Liwa Oasis is the birth place of the ruling families of Abu Dhabi and Dubai. In 1793, the ruling family of the Abu Dhabi Emirate, Al Nahyan, moved their residence from Liwa to Abu Dhabi. The 39 villages that surround the oasis still provide a glimpse into the traditional life style of the inhabitants of the region. A historic fort which is located in one corner of the Oasis stands testimony to this bygone era. Whether you are a native, an expatriate living in UAE, or a tourist, surely The Liwa Hotel, the Oasis and the desert beyond will create an everlasting memory like no other. After all, this is the exact same landscape which captivated the famous British Explorer, Sir Wilfred Thesiger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liwa Hotel Emirate Of Abu Dhabi/Liwa Oasis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing