We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very basic, shockingly bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liwa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Liwa Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, very basic, shockingly bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location for the dunes if you don't want to camp. Rooms are very basic and the service is truly terrible (but what do you expect).

We hired one of the three bed villas (with private pool etc) for the second night to celebrate my birthday. Again, when we arrived we were pretty shocked with seemly endless broken light bulbs etc and the total surprise when we asked for replacements. Other not-unreasonable requests seem to throw them a bit (e.g. ice, cutlery etc)

Once the repairs were done, we had a great night and you should not overlook it as an option as its quite cheap.

Room Tip: Closer to one of the additional entrances if possible as it can be a trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexs_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with Liwa Hotel during your recent trip to Abu Dhabi and for sharing your experience with us. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you with our top-notch facilities and contemporary amenities. Our hotel is perched on a beautiful hilltop setting that overlooks the stunning Liwa Oasis, making it one of the most preferred hotels in Abu Dhabi.

Our staff makes consistent effort in ensuring a wholesome experience for our esteemed patrons. We perused your feedback relating to the services and regret the inconvenience caused. It was however a rare incident but we still assure you of timely actions wherever necessary. Also, we have sincerely noted the concerns highlighted by you and will work on them to prevent future inconvenience.

We appreciate the time taken out by you to post the review. We would deem it a privilege to serve you once again.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    90
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
81
57
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great place for a short escape from the bustling city. Ideal to relax and enjoy the warm breezes coming from the desert! The hotel location is amazing and the views are also great! The spacious and clean room we stayed in had just been renovated and ours was still smelling of fresh paint, unfortunatelly the second room we booked smelled of cold cigarette smoke! I was very disappointed to see that guests are allowed to smoke in the hotel, specially in the café, where drinks and food are served to other guests and families with children! I hope they change that soon! All together the staff was very friendly, a bit slow in the café and restaurant, but it fitted in to the relaxing scene! The food was excellent, very satisfying and good value for the price. I really hope we can return and stay there for another short vacation and for sure would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFlehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.

It is heartening to receive your appreciation for the interiors of the resort and our services. We have also noted your displeasure with regards to some of the areas where we could not meet your expectations.

I consider your feedback as constructive as it highlights all the opportunities we have to improve to provide a better overall experience. The concerns you have raised have given us an opportunity to analyse and come up with resolutions in the best interest of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us at Liwa Hotel.

Best regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel was a bit tired and worn, but clean and in a wonderful location. The food was amazing, do not miss the dinner buffet. The kids loved the pool and the desert location cannot be beat. Highly recommend, just do not expect anything above 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel with your family. We sincerely appreciate you for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and provided you with all the facilities you wanted during your short stay at Liwa Hotel.

Liwa Hotel is designed in a very distinct Arabian style of architecture and is considered as one of the best hotels in Abu Dhabi with an outstanding location. Our multi-cuisine restaurant is renowned for serving fresh and tasteful delicacies from all over the world, the team are thrilled to receive an acknowledgement of their efforts. We are happy to know that the kids particularly enjoyed the location.

We are grateful for your patronage and delighted you had a nice time staying with us. Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and the welcome endorsement of our property. We look forward to hosting you on all your future visits to Abu Dhabi.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel
Lil bit old, staff very friendly
Clean rooms and quiet atmosphere
The only bad thing is the FOOD!
Breakfast no big variety usually it's old croissant from previous days and cheese, to be fair it's one of the rare hotel that has fresh juice on breakfast!
Buffet for dinner over rated and poor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for opting to stay with us recently and for your acknowledgement.
Our property is located in one of the most spectacular setting on a hill, overlooking the stunning Liwa oasis. It’s great to know that you liked the location and enjoyed the services offered on your stay here. We accommodate our patrons with a choice of rooms, suites and villas and focus on organizing a hassle-free stay for them. Our guests can indulge in spa retreats and rejuvenate themselves.

Although, we intend to provide our guests with the best value possible, we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I personally assure you that we have duly noted the concerns you raised about food. This is one of the rarest incidents we’ve come across and we are looking in to the matter so as to avoid it from ever happening again. It’s nice to know that you liked our range of refreshing juices.

Once again, we thank you for checking-in with us. It’s been a delightful experience to host you and we hope to serve you again.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
177 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Chose the Liwa hotel despite mixed reports due to its central location in Liwa. We weren't expecting too much and had been warned the hotel is basic.

It is very easy to find sitting on top of a ridge overlooking the Liwa crossroads. There was no parking near the entrance and no sign of a valet so we pulled up outside the main entrance to unload our bags. Nobody from the hotel helped which was strange for the UAE but then I suppose this is a 3* hotel.

The receptionist immediately told me to move the car away from the entrance. It was 1.30pm and she made us wait until the official check-in time of 2pm before handing over room keys which was very tedious.....

The lobby is very retro 70s looking but the room was surprisingly well finished. Perhaps recently upgraded? The bathroom was in 70s style but was very clean and well functioning. There was a good sized private terrace but bizarrely all the room/terraces face the car parking areas that surround the hotel and not the pool/garden area in the middle. Very strange...

In the afternoon we went out to Tal Moreeb which is about 25 minutes drive and then had a rest by the pool. The pool area was very spacious and a pleasant area to relax. We had bad service from the pool attendant who we had to hunt down to get towels. He seems very elusive..

Breakfast the next morning was basic but fine. When we'd checked in the receptionist told us that breakfast was included in our room rate. Leaving breakfast the waiter made me sign a bill which I thought strange but decided to take it up with reception on check-out if we were charged. I left the signed bill on the table. We had just got back to our room when the waiter turned up and insisted we paid in cash for breakfast there and then!!! He said that we couldn't charge breakfast to our room tab because reception didn't have credit card details from the time of check-in. They never asked and they had my credit card details to secure the room when I booked.

I took this up with the receptionist on checking out yesterday morning. After speaking fluent English to that point he then claimed not to understand anything I was saying. I asked to see the duty manager but was told he was unavailable. I sensed we were wasting our time so chalked this down to an experience. Shame because physically the hotel is fine for what it is and somewhere I would consider revisiting if only the could do something about the lousy service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Liwa Hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are really disappointed to learn about the unfortunate events you had over our hotel services. We ensure you that this is not the level of service we aim to provide to our guests.

Liwa Hotel is perched on a beautiful hilltop setting. With 58 well furnished rooms that offer a panoramic view of the surrounding Liwa Oasis, we strive to present the ideal getaway destination. Our exotic yet modest interiors are designed to capture the real essence of the Arabian Culture. In addition to this, the Guest Services that are currently effective at the property are extensively trained and dedicated. We assure you that we will definitely get to the bottom of your concerns and address them effectively.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback and apologize for the overall experience you had. We look forward to providing you with exceptional level of services and excellent standard of accommodation on all your future visits to Dubai.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was split between a 3 and 4 rating.

The hotel is not new or flash like many of the hotels in Dubai or Abu Dhabi.

However, the hotel sits at the gateway to the Empty Quarter which consists of giant sand dunes and spectacular scenery.

The rooms are good size, clean. The bathroom is large. The staff were very good and provided us with towels and an extra mattress within a few minutes of requesting.

The breakfast buffet us fairly basic.

The pool is heated and can be enjoyed in the winter. The is also a nice play area for kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NQdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for choosing your stay with Liwa Hotel during your recent trip to Abu Dhabi. We constantly endeavor to offer our guests with comfort through our premium amenities and exquisite facilities for a memorable experience.
Situated on a hill, Liwa Hotel provides a spectacular view of the Liwa Oasis on one side and the barren Rub Al Khali dessert on the other side. All the rooms are offer breathtaking panoramic landscape views from the balcony. Our world class chefs at the La Piazza Coffee Shop strive to satisfy all discerning travelers with an impressive la carte and kid’s menu. We have outdoor temperature controlled swimming pool that can be enjoyed throughout the year and a special playground for children. Special acknowledgment of the efforts of our staff and been duly conveyed to them.
Once again, thank you for posting your review and rewarding us with your pleasant comments. We would be pleased to serve you once again.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel after a gap of three years. We enjoyed our first stay but after finding out that the swimming pool is heated we enjoyed our stay even more this time.
This does not mean that the hotel is perfect. The property is fairly old and can use a renovation now. The lobby area and the common areas including the corridors are showing their ages. The carpets look worn and it is a struggle sometimes to open the sliding doors leading to the balcony.
But on the positive side we found the hotel to be clean including the rooms and bathrooms. Our party had three rooms and all of them were big in size with large balconies. Room furniture was in good condition and the bed was fairly comfortable. The hotel provides tea/coffee facilities which were replenished daily. There was an empty mini fridge which was useful for keeping soft drinks and some other food stuff. Since there are not too many eating options nearby, we had all our food from the hotel restaurant and were happy with the quality and quantity. We found the buffet breakfast to be ok but not great. I also used the gym which was smallish but well equipped.
We were also impressed with the service provided by the hotel staff. All of them were attentive and helpful particularly the staff at the pool bar and reception. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay of two days and until and unless you want to spend a lot of money on the only other option available near Liwa and are looking for a decent hotel with reasonable price then you cannot go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlMarfaLiwa, Team at Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing your stay with us. We are glad to know that this was your second visit to Liwa Hotels and we hope that we succeeded in providing you with a pleasurable experience. It is our highest priority to provide all our guests with best in class services and make sure that they feel satisfied and comfortable throughout their stay.

However, we also perused your concerns over the accidental damages caused to the property. We promise to take effective measure at the soonest possible. We once again would like to thank you for your repeated patronage. We would be honored to serve you once again.

Thanks & Regards,
Team at Hotel Liwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liwa Oasis
0.0 mi away
Mourouj Hotel Apartments
Mourouj Hotel Apartments
#2 of 6 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
38.9 mi away
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liwa Hotel

Property: Liwa Hotel
Address: Western Region, Liwa, Mezaira | Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Liwa Oasis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liwa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis of Tranquility. Our hotel is located at the most spectacular hilltop setting, surrounded by lush green gardens between natural wind-carved sand dunes in an untouched place. The white hotel with its traditional architectural design is truly the enchanted location of tranquility and one of the world’s most spectacular spots for travelers seeking a place to unwind, recharge and just relax.You will experience:• Dramatic nature scenery • Dry climate • Magical sun sets • A setting amongst the largest sand dunes in the World• True Heritage• UAE Culture with historic significance Nature and the Environment. The location of Liwa Hotel is definitely a unique, peaceful spot which plays host to a variety of native wild life species. A lucky visitor taking a walk just outside the hotel premises in the early hours of the morning might get a rare glimpse of a Falcon, desert fox, quail or an extremely elusive desert hare. The crisp, dry, clean air coupled with the songs of various types of bird species that has made the Liwa Hotel ground their home, make just waking up in the morning at any time of the year a truly magical moment. Liwa Hotel is committed to operating its activities in a complete environmentally friendly manner and it is the ultimate objective of the Hotel to expand and make its grounds a haven for all types of native animals and bird species, whether resident or migrant. History: The Liwa Oasis is the birth place of the ruling families of Abu Dhabi and Dubai. In 1793, the ruling family of the Abu Dhabi Emirate, Al Nahyan, moved their residence from Liwa to Abu Dhabi. The 39 villages that surround the oasis still provide a glimpse into the traditional life style of the inhabitants of the region. A historic fort which is located in one corner of the Oasis stands testimony to this bygone era. Whether you are a native, an expatriate living in UAE, or a tourist, surely The Liwa Hotel, the Oasis and the desert beyond will create an everlasting memory like no other. After all, this is the exact same landscape which captivated the famous British Explorer, Sir Wilfred Thesiger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liwa Hotel Emirate Of Abu Dhabi/Liwa Oasis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing