We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird but wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Doi Inthanon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inthanon Highland Resort
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This place is quite the shock. Wooden chalets around a lake (great for bird watching!), staff speaking no english at all, miles from anywhere - if you're wanting to go up to Doi Inthanon, you will have to take a taxi. You'll need to walk to the main road, turn right, go over a big bridge and then turn right up to the temple (it's very obvious) - this is where there's a huge taxi rank. We figured this out after a good while unsuccessfully flagging taxis down. The hotel staff really couldn't help.
We loved staying here, the food was amazing - possibly the best we had in Thailand - very very reasonably priced too.
The rooms/chalets need a little love to get back up to former glory.
Overall, do stay here if you're prepared! Would be happy to answer any questions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed there one night while visiting the Doi Inthanon. It’s a very nice place with a well kept garden and a romantic restaurant close to a small lake. The location is much appreciated by bird watchers. Even tough we had made our reservation for a wrong date, the staff was very helpful and managed to provide us with a small bungalow, without requiring additional payment for this modified date. The staff is very friendly but communication is quite difficult as their knowledge of English is quite basic. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We had a nice stay in this resort and we would recommend it to nature lovers but not to people used to luxurious accommodations.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pol1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

If you like pink curtains and marble floor bathroom, this is your hotel. For us, this place is dated and has strange decor in the room, which make us feel uncomfortable. The room is positioned next to a small lake and has unplesant smell, like dead fish.

Breakfast is cold and limited. The egg yolks in our fried eggs are hard and crispy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLBangkok-Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

The Inthanon Highland Resort is the nearest good accommodation to Doi Inthanon National Park being only a few hundred metres from the park entrance. This is an excellent position to access the park at dawn for early morning birdwatching and to allow access to the summit in less than an hour.

Accommodation is in very attractive houses each positioned on the lakeside with all of the attendant wildlife at your feet. The interiors are spacious with a certain quirky element to the layout that added even more character and made them a delight to stay in. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms great with a nice hot shower at the end of a sticky day being most welcome.

The food is bespoke with whatever you want being served, within reason, so long as you order it in the morning. It was all excellent, including a great breakfast to start off the day. Beer is nice and cold and cheap, the two factors that make for great beer. It is also served with a smile, which is an enduring characteristic of the resort.

It was quiet whilst we were there but this was in the lead up to a national holiday when the friendly staff may struggle to cope. However, we experienced nothing but excellent service from the minute we arrived until when we left.

You are in the countryside in a wildlife area and if you are unprepared for or inexperienced with this then everything might nor be to your immediate liking. This isn't 4* international comfort and, frankly, it's even better for that.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexanderP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D_Weltenbummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Inthanon National Park
14.2 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#127 of 394 in Chiang Mai
80 reviews
24.2 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
0.1 mi away
Touch Star Resort
Touch Star Resort
#169 of 394 in Chiang Mai
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bansuan Inthanon Resort
Bansuan Inthanon Resort
#7 of 13 in Chom Thong
15 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fuang Fah Camping
Fuang Fah Camping
#3 of 6 in Mae Chaem
5 reviews
23.3 mi away
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
Suan Bua Hotel & Resort
#136 of 394 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthanon Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthanon Highland Resort

Address: 297 Moo 20 Chomthong - Doi Inthanon Rd., Doi Inthanon National Park, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Inthanon National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Doi Inthanon National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthanon Highland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Inthanon Highland Hotel Doi Inthanon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing