We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Azucar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Azucar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Located between Veracruz city andPoza rica this boutique hotel has 21 bungalows where you can relax, the rooms are minimalist, don't expect luxuries but a relaxing place instead, there is a TV that I never used, outside the room there's a hammock, but very room is different.

Restaurant is slow food, not good if you are in a hurry, but the taste is excellent.

There is a library where you can borrow a book from, and read either there or anywhere.

WiFi is only available at the lobby and is not great, even cellphone signal is weak at best, so be prepared to disconnect from the rest of the world and relax.

The personnel is friendly and helpful.

Bring cash with you, even tough they accept credit card if it rains or you are out of luck the terminal won't work and the closest ATM is 5 kilometers away.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
52
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Azucar with a "Lucky Hour" discount (http://www.grupohabita.mx/). So for the amount we paid ($1500MXN/night-- about $120 USD at the time), we thought the value was great. The staff is super nice and accommodating, the food is incredible (make sure to get the esponjadas for breakfast-- which are basically delicious fried little clouds with a side of beans-- and las empipianadas), and the design & decor are simple, welcoming and elegant. We had terrible weather (first week of January), grey & cold, but we enjoyed exploring the area-- the beautiful archeological site Tajin and the town of Papantla-- and the manager was kind enough to set up the fireplace in the reading room just for us at night. It seems like the beach would be lovely in better weather.

Our only complaints: there's basically no internet. Definitely not in the rooms, and in the lobby the signal is extremely weak and unreliable-- goes in and out. So while I appreciate being disconnected, it became a big chore to send a simple email I had to send. I'd suggest they invest in a better internet provider. (We learned that the Italian Coffe Company has free Wi-Fi, about a 5 min drive away-- not the most relaxing/romantic way to spend a vacation.)

Also, it would have been helpful to have a heads-up that the drive is really tricky getting there, if you get caught on a foggy day. We literally couldn't see the car in front of us in a really windy road w/drop-offs for quite a while-- a few hours, on and off. But on the way back, we had no fog and we got to see the beautiful views we missed on the way in. I'd recommend you take a car to be able to explore the area, local restaurants, towns, etc.

All in all, despite the bad weather, this is a beautiful hotel with great people and very thoughtful design.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No-fuss-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
357 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Azucar is a place to both relax at the hotel (no children are allowed, my kids are 20 and 18). The place is beautiful, nestled amongst luxurious vegetation, the rooms are perfect, specially 14 with a king size bed and 15 with two queens and the best view in the hotel.
Service was as good as it gets and the food to die for, we got great sleep and I was able to read Ken Follet's new book The Fall of Giants in one go.
If you do not want to relax as much, nearby you can visit Papantla, original home of the vanilla, and the wonderful ruins of Tajin. If you want more adventure you can also go rafting on the Philobobos river (wonderful experience and also great food, in Tlapacoyan at the Descanso Restaurant).
Overall it was a great 5 days (we actually extended our stay once there, it was well worth it!!!!!!).

Room Tip: 14 if you want a King Size and 15 with the best vs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

What I expect in a boutique hotel, being a worldwide traveler : cool, technology, atmosphere, bar, cocktail, great amenity. technology, music, pool, etc....and I am happy to pay the right price for this
What I got :
* Very dark rooms (due to the design concept)
* Cheap features in the room (4 ugly plastic hangers, dirty plastic shower curtain, no safe, etc...)
* Cheap soap and shampoo not branded, refilled during the day directly to the container
* No sound system in the room (basically, there is nothing in the room - except an ugly TV LCD screen, not fitting at all into the design)
* The worst and cheapest mattress ever (you can buy it in a super market)
* No internet in the room

About the hotel :
* The pool is very small and there is not enough chairs or seats for all guests
* No or very limited music around the hotel / bar
* The bar closes at 10 pm on Friday !
* Food on very limited menu is not available (as an example, there are 3 juices mentioned on the menu for bfst, but the only one available is orange juice)
* No cocktail menu (and you call yourself a boutique / trendy hotel ?)
* Wine list : 3 red, 3 whites, nothing more.

The staff is nice, but has certainly no lifestyle attitude or experience, and no quality guidelines at all. I have been told that they want to create a cool and relax place.
I will be totally fine with the service and what I got if I was paying a price accordingly. However, paying 180 USD per night for room only is a total rip off, and does not provide any type of worth value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juv1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monte Gordo hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

If you want tranquility and luxury in a somewhat rustic setting, this place is for you. The food at Azucar was phenomenal! The scenery is hard to beat and the ambiance is amazingly peaceful. You can spend the day napping in a hammock or by the pool. The place is small and intimate so you're not bombarded with tourists and the beach is relatively pristine so it's easy to escape crowds and just relax with a tasty margarita in your hand. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Just returned from a week at Azucar. Architecturally, the place is absolutely charming and interesting. All of the rooms have private thatched porches. The pool is small but beautiful. The food is the best in the area -- very tasty. The staff is terrific too - pleasant, helpful, on top of things. They have a library, which is charming too.

Also, it is just an hour away from El Tajin - a wonderful precolumbian ruin site. Huge pyramids, ball courts, dwellings, etc. Plus the added attraction of the Voladores -- pole dancers and musicians, who sail around a tall pole on ropes.

Only criticisms: no drawers to put clothes in the rooms, and inadequate lighting over one of our beds (but they gave us a lamp).

We will come again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

I planned my 35th Birthday Celebration with 11 of my closest friends, and arranged for a 4 day get away, with all meals, music, and a even a pinata ceremony... and it was UNFORGETTABLE!
Hotel Azucar is a magical place. It's a little piece of paradise in the middle of nowhere. The rooms are clean, the food was the best, and the service was like none other. All the staff are so nice and accommodating to your every need at all times. All of us had the greatest boding experience because of all these elements combined and I will definitely be back to pamper myself again.
Rosando, head of staff, was the sweetest man who made sure everything was perfect and went beyond the call of duty please the guests for special request like: cds and special Tequila, etc...
There are plenty of activities to keep you happy and although the spa is no Caesar's Palace, it was clean and the massages were fantastic. During January, it rains a bit, but its never cold and I'm glad that we had the experience of rain and sun...it was just beautiful no matter what.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Gordo
0.7 mi away
Taboga: Eco Boutique Hotel
Taboga: Eco Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monte Gordo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Luisa Finca-Resort
85.7 mi away
Cabo Alto Hotel & Spa
Cabo Alto Hotel & Spa
#3 of 3 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Istirincha
Hotel Istirincha
#1 of 2 in Nautla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bon Jesus Hotel
Bon Jesus Hotel
#12 of 29 in Tecolutla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Don Nacho
Hotel Don Nacho
#2 of 29 in Tecolutla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucar

Property: Hotel Azucar
Address: Carr. Fed. Nautla-Poza Rica Km 83.5, Monte Gordo 93588, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azucar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 20 bungalows, each with a private terrace and a hammock. An outdoor library, swimming pool, play room, table football, beach hats, a chapel, a meditation area, spa, miles of beach and a restaurante specialized in seafood and filled local fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azucar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucar Hotel Veracruz
Hotel Azucar Veracruz, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing